We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor show” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Terrace at St Georges

The Terrace at St Georges
The Promenade | St. George's Hotel, Llandudno LL30 2LG, Wales
01492 877544
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 155 restaurants in Llandudno
Price range: $20 - $58
Cuisines: British, Tea Room
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Poor show”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed over Xmas period we were dissapointed it was like butlins cueing up for food not our cup of tea the food was not great Christmas dinner was not special in any way we expected better other.days when u had. Sandwiches they were dry with hardly any butter on them we won't be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at The Terrace at St Georges, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay over the Christmas period. And more so that we believe your review leaves the reader under a misconception of the service provided. We take the queuing for food is referring to our Breakfast service as the only other occasion was for the Christmas Evening Gala Buffet, as all the other services were a full table service through this festive period. Breakfast is a buffet service when the hotel is full, as it was in our very popular Christmas Break. There is an extensive Cold Buffet and an assisted Hot Buffet Service, this is only done to facilitate good service, we regret you felt this wasn't and you were disappointed.
We have an excellent reputation for our Christmas and New Year breaks, all which fill year on year, please refer to the recent reviews. Such a public review site is for you to place your opinion which you have, I would only hope there may come an opportunity to contact me directly, so I may assist in making arrangements which show you a warm welcome and the best of St George's and could well be opinion changing.
Best wishes
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    48
    17
    12
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Went in today. Looked very busy. Asked for a table and a rude waiter said we should find somewhere ourselves. This is not what you expect from an establishment of this type. He gave the impression he was doing us a favour to serve us. Second time we have been in and won't try again. Disappointing to say the least.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at The Terrace at St Georges, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Have tried to look into this and asked you for assistance in identifying the waiter, sadly you haven't replied to my question so can only regret ,this impression has been left. If it was busy or not the waiter should still have made you feel welcome.
Our team are regularly acknowledged as being a very friendly and welcoming team I hope you will decide to return and if so please contact me directly so I may ensure there is a lovely sea view table, with a warm welcome included and the best of St George's.
Kind regards
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Sandwiches have generous fillings and the chips are the best ever!
Great view over the sea. Very friendly service.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at The Terrace at St Georges, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
A lovely review to start the New Year and it says it all.
Thank you for posting and so much appreciated.
Best wishes for 2014
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“cold unrecognisable food.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I was expecting something really special at our works xmas meal here. I was very dissapointed. Starter was a deep fried something that just tasted greasy. Main was meant to be a turkey dinner, but everyone on the table commented that it looked more like pork it was grey and in sections. The veg was awful what there was of it. Lady on our table sent her meal back twice for being cold. I opted for cheese and crackers at the end thinking you cant do that wrong.... they were both stale, both obviously left out on the side. Needless to say that was left too. The lady with the cold meal was offered a glass of wine, which we all thought was an insult till we saw the bar prices. £3.50 for a coke! Will not be going back anytime soon.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at The Terrace at St Georges, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Unable to recognize your party from your comments I am unable to provide a proper response to your issues, sadly this does not reflect the very successful Christmas at St George's with so many compliments and repeat bookings. We will always deal with comments professionally when made to us, but am unable to through such a public site, if you wish to contact me directly, than I shall deal with the matter more appropriately.
What I can say, is that our food is of high quality and has achieved awards for being so, and served by friendly efficient staff in a lovely setting.
As always with guests as yourself if you did consider a return to St George's please contact me directly so I may ensure you will receive the best of St George's.
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Really poor Xmas party”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Went to this 4 star Hotel for a works Xmas party. I have been to the St George's many times in the past and always found it very good. On this occasion however, apart from my starter, which was very nice the food was very poor. I had a beef steak main course, very small portion which was over cooked and dried out. Only one roast potato, a few vegetables and a dried up spoon of mashed potato, that had formed a crust. I played it safe with desert, by having Cheese and biscuits, however the cheese was noticeable by its absence, one very small sliver of cheddar and a smaller one of Brie. To cap it off. The house white wine was warm and the red cold and not very good.
I'm not sure if the management are letting standards fall or just taking advantage of the party market in the hope they won't notice the small portions and poor quality. Which ever they risk permanently damaging an other wise good reputation unless they do something about this.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at The Terrace at St Georges, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
I am surprised and also regret, that you felt disappointed with your works Christmas Party.
I can only say this December has been our busiest and most successful, with scores of compliments. But what does that matter as this is your opinion, and though you state the ''many times'' in the past you have found St George's very good, sadly on this one occasion, you didn't.
What is sad for us, is as a regular TA user, those very good times you haven't reviewed, as it would have offered a balanced view, but we appreciate and am pleased, you have experienced the best of St George's.
We are certainly not allowing standards to fall and can only regret you were disappointed, please contact me directly if you consider returning to St George's, so I may assure you of a warm welcome and the best of St George's.
Best Wishes for 2014
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Terrace at St Georges also viewed

 
Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to The Terrace at St Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Terrace at St Georges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.