We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant Birthday dinner for my Wife.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Terrace at St Georges

The Terrace at St Georges
The Promenade | St. George's Hotel, Llandudno LL30 2LG, Wales
01492 877544
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 138 Restaurants in Llandudno
Price range: $20 - $58
Cuisines: British, Tea Room
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A very pleasant Birthday dinner for my Wife.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I have eaten in almost every food outlet in Llandudno over the years and have varying opinions on what would be suitable for a meal on a special occasion. Eventually after much thought I choose the Terrace at St Georges. It turned out to be the perfect venue, even though the Hotel had all three of its function rooms occupied, it in no way impinged on the Terrace, the quality of our meal or the panache with which it was presented by the restaurant staff. I found the Terrace to be a warm and welcoming place with a wonderful ambience. It was the right choice and I thought it was priced most reasonably, considering the quality and service the St Georges provided. I will definitely eat there again and would recommend it to my friends without a seconds hesitation.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at The Terrace at St Georges, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
A lovely review thank you and especially as it was a celebration of your wife's birthday, we are only so pleased to have made it a memorable evening.
Your kind words have been so encouraging and appreciated by the team who work hard to provide good food with a friendly yet efficient service.
Thank you again and our best wishes to you and your wife for 2014.
Kind Regards
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    25
    13
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“I love food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The menu is simple, yet varied. There is something for every taste. The staff are efficient and attentive. The service is just at the right pace. Above all, the food is of excellent quality, expertly prepared and courteously presented and served. What more can a customer ask?

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at The Terrace at St Georges, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Well thank you John P. for a very succinct but much appreciated review. We hope there will be an opportunity to return in 2014 to St George's and for sure there will be a warm welcome and still the good food and service, you so kindly appreciated.
With all our best wishes for 2014
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing Cream Tea”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Two friends who were residents at this hotel invited us to join them for afternoon tea. When we asked for a table for four we were told to sit anywhere, and left to find a table. All the tables were for two people and instead of someone rearranging the seating we were left to sort it out for ourselves. Our friends ordered two cream teas for us and since they has eaten a large lunch joined us but only ordered a pot of tea for two for themselves. The bill was approx. £20. The cream tea consisted of a choice of Carrot Cake, Chocolate Cake, Victoria Sponge, Lemon Drizzle Cake or Walnut Cake. served with a fruit scone, butter, jam and clotted cream. We found it very sweet and sickly. The order was served with only three cups and saucers and we had to go and ask for a fourth. We then discovered we only had jam for one person and when we asked for another we were told, very flippantly that we would have to share, although another jam was supplied. For a hotel of this calibre, charging these prices I think the service was less than acceptable. Another member of the waiting staff, was chatting with other customers on two occasions in such a loud voice that it was difficult to hear our own conversation. Somebody should tell them that over familiarity is no substitute for lack of courtesy.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at The Terrace at St Georges, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Strange as a hotelier of so many years you can contrast your reviews of your Llandudno experience in such away, but that is what this public site allows, which is for you, to voice your opinion.
You have and we regret we disappointed you, but grateful for the vast more opinions of new and ever increasing returning guests, which places us as one of the most successful businesses in North Wales.
Regards
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Wrong time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

We booked lunch on terrace was complete let down food not good how can you get steak pie wrong pastry not cooked no meat in it starter not good taste not there won't be calling again

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at The Terrace at St Georges, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We are sorry you were so disappointed our success at St George's is based on our good food and good service, what is sad is you wouldn't return however if on visiting Llandudno again, you would contact me directly, I would personally ensure you would experience the best of St George's.
Kind regards
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent meal and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Best meal in UK at fair prices, not cheap but inventive and delicious menu, superb service, nice wine, beautiful view on the ocean. A very pleasant experience. Book in advance as it does get booked up.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at The Terrace at St Georges, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
A great review and much appreciated by all the team.
Such lovely comments are so encouraging and we hope there will be an opportunity in the future for you to return to North Wales, Llandudno and St George's
With our Best Wishes and Kind Regards
Tony Burns
Director and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Terrace at St Georges also viewed

 
Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to The Terrace at St Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Terrace at St Georges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.