We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top marks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merrion Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Llandudno
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Merrion Hotel
Save
You added Merrion Hotel to your Saves list
Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LN, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Food Glorious Food
Ranked #21 of 65 Hotels in Llandudno
Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Top marks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This was our first time to Llandudno and having just returned from our weekend at the Merrion, I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Our room had a sea view, was clean and lovely and warm. The food was exceptional, the staff very friendly and couldn't so enough for you,the evening entertainment was very good. We will definitely be retuning. Thank you to all the staff for making our weekend away so perfect.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Great review thank you, I am pleased you enjoyed your T&T break with us, I hope you will come and see us again in 2014.
Kind regards
Paul Bream
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    35
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
58
56
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We have just returned from a Turkey & Tinsel 4 days, with an Aunt & her sister, we were most impressed with the friendliness/efficiency of all of the staff, the food was excellent and a good choice on all of the courses, the puddings were to die for.
Good evening entertainment,all of the music being played bringing back memories.
Booked through a coach company, and although we had requested rooms close together, this had not be arranged but the receptionist and her merry team, were able to change a double into a family room, so this made our holiday more acceptable.

Room Tip: rooms at back of hotel, warmer, but poor outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thanks for writing your review, I am pleased all the staff looked after you well during your stay, room allocation makes all the difference for groups of friends or family, give us as much notice as possible and we will do our best to give you the best rooms possible.
Kind regards and see you in 2014
Paul Bream
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrington,
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This was the first visit for me & my Mum and it will be the first of many, we asked for a twin room with disabled facilities the Merrion didn't let us down a lovely big room downstairs with a wet room.
the staff were so attentive and friendly with nothing being too much trouble. In a great location, superb food so much to choose from and the desserts to die for.
we had great entertainment.
We are going to book again next year and also have a summer break.

well done all at the Merrion hotel Llandudno

Room Tip: When you book speak to the hotel and let them know your exact needs we did and they made our break s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thanks for you recent review, I am pleased you enjoyed your weekend T&T and that everything was up to standard. May I suggest for your summer visit in 2014 please give us as much notice as possible so we can allocate the most suitable room for you, many rooms are booked well in advance. Look forward to seeing you in 2014.
Kind regards
Paul Bream
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford Haven, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I have just returned from a Turkey and Tinsel break at the Merrion. I was travelling with my local Parkinson's group with wheelchair users and less able bodied people. The access to all areas was was excellent, disabled rooms excellent. Staff could not have been more helpful and accommodating and they worked really hard to make our stay enjoyable and uncomplicated. The evening entertainment was excellent. And the food was excellent excellent!!!!! with a good choice , 17 delicious sweets!!!! My waistline has pleasantly increased!!!!! This was my first visit to this hotel and will definitely not be my last. Would highly recommend it. Thank you so much to all the staff for making it a truly memorable break.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for posting your review, I am delighted you enjoyed your holiday with us and that the facilities in the hotel were suitable. We hope to see you in 2014.
Regards
Paul Bream
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I have just come back from a turkey & tinsel weekend. What a lovely hotel, right on the seafront all dressed up for christmas which made it special. Fabulous people that run the hotel who went the extra mile and couldn't do enough for you. Food was exceptional with 17 choices of desserts, never seen that before. Rooms were very clean and bed comfy too. Entertainment was brilliant. Top marks all round.

Room Tip: You must ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
How very nice of you to be so complimentary, T&T breaks are great fun, every arrives in a party mood and has a great time. Glad you enjoyed the food and that the staff looked after you well.
Have a great Christmas, see you in 2014.
Kind regards
Paul Bream.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

me and mum go a couple of times a year she has been going for 25 years or so,its always great. the food is just simply amazing. get a sea view room it was a lovely week so the views are great always have such a laugh with brian behind the bar he works so hard, and joe the comedian, ian to. my mum is 82 and even she got up to dance thankyou the merrion.

Room Tip: get a sea veiw room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, great to see you and your Mum again, I will pass on your compliments to Brian and Jo, I know they will appreciate it. See you in 2014.
Kind regards
Paul Bream.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The hotel itself has a great location overlooking the beach, and in general the hotel and staff are very pleasant. i booked direct with the hotel via email and a phone call many months ago. Myself and my 2 little girls, and my parents, looked forward to a short break away in a nice hotel with nice food. For the most that is what we got, HOWEVER, what they neglected to tell me, is that the hotel was taken over by a Turkey and tinsel coach tour, a specific break, whereby the hotel was themed for christmas. We arrived on "christmas day" and while the food was nice enough, we did not book this hotel for a christmas themed break, or for a christmas dinner, which was pretty much the only main course on offer that 1st night (aside from 1 other dish)...even my 2 young children were confused as to why we were sat down for christmas dinner complete with christmas crackers. My dad went to enquire at reception and apparently the staff were in agreement that this indeed must be quite odd to us as they assumed we were part of the Turkey and tinsel break! the next day was then "boxing day" and while there was more variety on the menu thankfully, the whole trip was most bizarre, and had we been informed at the time of booking, or updated after booking that this was going to be happening, we definitely would have booked elsewhere.....and as other reviewers have mentioned, they really need to do something about the lift situation...my mum who is on crutches, often had to wait a long time to get up or down in the lift.....

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent review, I am very sorry you were not informed that the hotel is in full Christmas mode at the moment, as indeed are most of the larger hotels in Llandudno in November/December, I will talk with the reception staff and make sure guests are informed fully in the future.
Kind regards
Paul Bream.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merrion Hotel

Address: Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LN, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#16 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#32 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrion Hotel is perfectly situated on the promenade in Llandudno; this classic Victorian seaside resort has great beaches and lots of attractions including superb walking in Snowdonia. The hotel has been owned and run by the Bream family for three generations, we offer superb food locally sourced where possible and friendly service. The hotel offers newly refurbished rooms all en-suite with flat screen TVs, a car park and disabled access. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Merrion Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merrion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.