We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merrion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Merrion Hotel to your Saves list
Merrion Hotel
Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LN, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 64 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wigton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel over the bank holiday weekend just recently. This was a last minute decision to go away. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. All of the staff were very pleasant and vey friendly. Nothing was any trouble for them. The food was excellent. If we go back again we would definitely try and book this hotel again

Room Tip: The room we had was very good even though we booked at the last minute. We did notice that there wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us over the weekend and that you liked the hotel, it has been in my family for three generations and we are proud of our hotel and our loyal customers.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Paul Bream.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    41
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
62
61
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Banchory, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed as a couple with our small dog - at check in we received a very efficient and friendly service and throughout our stay we found all staff to be very professional and friendly leading to a very ambient atmosphere
The hotel is very impressive from the outside and is very well located for the promenade, pier and shops/restaurants
Inside the hotel is very well looked after and the cleanliness of the bedroom was excellent the only downside being that it was quite small
Breakfast was excellent and we will certainly return

Room Tip: sea view preferable but there is a premium price to pay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your recent review and the nice comments, as with all these Victorian properties in Llandudno, the rooms are all different, please contact us in advance of your next visit and we will do our best to find the most suitable room for your holiday.
Regards
Paul Bream.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is the 5th year out of the last 6 that we have visited the Merrion and I am under strict instruction by our party to keep August clear next year for a return visit! While we first used to travel with a coach trip here, the last two years we have booked privately having received such excellent service everytime. My daughter (now 8) loves it being so close to the beach and the pier and she's always made a fuss of.

The food is always excellent and the staff exceptionally friendly - nothing is too much trouble. It's also lovely to see familiar staff year in, year out who often remember you.

There is no doubt we will be returning in the future, not only for the proximity to the best Llandudno has to offer but also due to the excellent experiences we have had at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thanks for your recent review, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your glowing report. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Paul Bream
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Visited on business .asked for a seaview on arrival and given a lovely room on 1st floor with balcony

Breakfast gorgeous.local produce ,which was of a high standard
Right from the reception to the breakfast service the customer service at The Merrion was excellent ,nothing is too much trouble and there is a genuine desire to make your stay a good experience .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent visit. I am pleased you enjoyed your time at the Merrion, all the staff work very hard to make your stay enjoyable and they will be pleased to read your comments.
Kind regards
Paul Bream.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

stayed three times before with my mum she has stayed 7 times . not happy with my room paul breem said he would move me but the hotel was full. however on on of the hoteest weeek days 55 percent of seaveiw rooms didnt have windows open , sorry think it was a stock answer to complaint. the room was like a poor nursing home room and smelt like it!
the hotel needs money spent my mums shower was hanging off the wall! my room was like a cell .
its geared for repeat custom and coach parties paying half what the average punter pays. you can get luxury else where for same price. sorry to the staff they are nice but its dire and the impovement to the reception no style . i could say so much more but a hotel that smells of urine and the worst condition ever even with 50 pound off is not for my generation. uck

Room Tip: go else where
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you were disappointed with your room, the room was a single room on the third floor which is smaller than you might have wished for, however when I told you that the hotel was fully booked and that I could not move you, it was not a stock answer, it was the absolute truth.
I take issue with your description of the room as smelling of urine, the room was spotless and I am very proud of the very high standards my housekeeping department maintain week on week throughout the year.
I reduced your bill by 30% as a good will gesture in view of your mothers history with us, I am sorry to hear this was not enough for you.
Best wishes from us all at the Merrion
Paul Bream.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

As a previous visitor to the hotel, there have been many changes over the past decade to the hotel. Lots of improvements which is good news but still mixed with the old so disappointing in places. I expect as a previous visitor to the Merrion my expectations are very high but sadly this trip was a bit more disappointing, slow service in the restaurant both for breakfast and dinner. At 8.30am all the yoghurts and croissants had gone. Which when your not having a cooked breakfast is disappointing. The entertainment is sadly still very dull. Sadly Ian Turner was ill during our stay (he is a must see entertainer on Saturdays and Monday evening). Stayed in the family room on the first floor excellent room, lots of space.

Room Tip: Family room 108 excellent room lots of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your review and your comments, I am sorry the choice on the breakfast buffet was limited, the croissants are baked fresh every morning so there is a delay when we have to bake more, the Yogurts should have been replaced as they were used up, please let us know next time as this should have been seen to.
I am sorry you missed Ian Turner, as you know he was in hospital at the time, however I can now report that he is well again and entertaining twice a week as usual.
We try to use negative comments to bring about positive change so thank you for letting us know.
Regards
Paul Bream.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

stayed at the Merrion last week for 4 nights room 104, sea view with walk in shower. Excellent!!!
Where do you begin lavishing praise on this hotel, the food, staff, hospitality, atmosphere, you name it, it's got it. Full marks all round.

Also thank you for making a 70th Birthday Celebration so memorable.

Will be back soon with our very well behaved Scottie Dog ( Guests didn't realize there was a dog in the hotel--wouldn't have brought him otherwise!!)

Room Tip: Room 104 Sea View, overlooking the Panoramic landscape of Llandudno
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Great review thank you, so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us once again. I will pass on your comments to the staff.
Regards
Paul Bream.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merrion Hotel

Address: Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LN, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#18 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#30 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrion Hotel is perfectly situated on the promenade in Llandudno; this classic Victorian seaside resort has great beaches and lots of attractions including superb walking in Snowdonia. The hotel has been owned and run by the Bream family for three generations, we offer superb food locally sourced where possible and friendly service. The hotel offers newly refurbished rooms all en-suite with flat screen TVs, a car park and disabled access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Merrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merrion Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merrion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.