We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little Easter treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merrion Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Llandudno
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Merrion Hotel
Save
You added Merrion Hotel to your Saves list
Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LN, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Food Glorious Food
Ranked #21 of 65 Hotels in Llandudno
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Lovely little Easter treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My aunt and uncle have been coming here for years which, knowing my aunt, meant it had to be good. She has very high standards and wont even stay at my house! Although Llandudno is not my idea of a great holiday we agreed to stay one night with them on the way to see otehr friends in Wales. It was so lovely we booked in for evening meal, and then booked in for another 2 nights! The food is fantastic; we ate there every night which is normally a pet hate of mine (if you are staying somewhere new you should explore right!?). Our room overlooked the sea and although a little small was well decorated and SPOTLESS. The staff are very helpful and it is in a fab location. Although it is a rather pricey we would stay there again as a treat. If you want loud nightlife this is NOT the place for you as most of the guests are elderly (my partner commented that he had never felt so close to death!) but are all so friendly. Everyone speaks and many people know each other so it has a really nice atmosphere. Definately worth a stay for a relaxing treat style holiday. It has even made me a fan of Llandudno... :-)

Room Tip: Great views at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
I am please you enjoyed your stay with us during the Easter Holidays, I will pass on your compliments to the restaurant ad kitchen and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Paul Bream.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    36
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
58
56
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Following a recommendation from a friend we tried several times to book this hotel but found it full. Given a choice of dates we eventually managed to fit in two nights. At first we felt disappointed as the twin room 112 was very narrow and cluttered with too much furniture for the space available. We kept falling over chairs! The large flatscreen television was mounted high on the wall and really the only place to view it was from the beds. It felt dismal, as from the beds one could only see a rather dreary coloured wallpaper, which was ripped in one part.
However this was the only downside and after organising ourselves better and moving the chairs to behind the door we made ourselves more room.. The balcony was pleasant and looked out over the the front of the hotel to the sea.
We found two problems, a lavatory seat that kept falling down and a non-working lamp. Both were dealt with quickly.The beds were very comfortable and the room warm. The shower room was nicely fitted with an excellent shower unit and good toiletries. A towel rail over the radiator would be a good idea and I did not like the towel rack placed over the lavatory for hygiene reasons.
All the members of staff were friendly and helpful. We found there was an excellent choice on the menu; my meal 'char grilled medallions of steak with pepper sauce' was particularly delicious. This hotel couldn't be better positioned for exploring Llandudno and we found a parking space on each evening.
We shall certainly hope to revisit, but would try and book a better room.

Room Tip: Our room with a small balcony was narrow and a bit claustraphobic. I should imagine the rooms with b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us, I have noted your comments about room 112 and I will see if we can make any changes, as we are an old building, all the rooms are different is size, please give us as much notice when booking as possible and we will make every effort to find the most suitable room.
I am pleased you enjoyed you Steak Medalions in the restaurant, I will pass your comments on to Gareth in the Kitchen.
Regards
Paul Bream
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Perfect place to stay food service atmosphere all very good and made our stay in wales very pleasant indeed. Centrally located for the best parts pf the town Well done.room was impeccable I will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you very much for the review, I am delighted you had such a nice holiday, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Regards
Paul Bream
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is about my sixth visit to this hotel and it still has the same excellent welcome homely greeting when you walk into the reception All the staff at this hotel will go that extra mile to do anything for you during your stay to make it a wonderful experience.
The food is excellent and there is always plenty of choice on the menu at night, so much so that I sometimes find it hard to decide what to have.
The bedrooms I have stayed in at this hotel have always been very comfortable and have had a sea view.
Many people who visit this hotel for the first time will often book again for the following year as they have had such a wonderful stay and want to return.
The reputation for this hotel is a credit to Paul and Garth Bream who are now the third generation of the family to run this hotel.
The Welsh tourist board should be proud to have such an excellent hotel as the Merrion on their seafront in such a prime position that looks out on to wonderful surroundings.
Thank you to all the staff and management for such a lovely stay.
If you are going to stay in Llandudno then be sure to book your stay here. See you all again soon and hopefully I will be ringing to book a stay for later in the year. Thank you again to all

Room Tip: Manula,Jamey and Vicky during the day are always happy to help you with making a booking for your st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, I will pass on your comments to all the staff mentioned and assure you that we will try and maintain the standards you have come to expect from us.
See you again soon.
Regards
Paul Bream.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

A lovely, friendly, comfortable hotel. The food is second to none and plenty of choices.....so much so......you have to study the menu all day to actually decide but whatever you choose, rest assured you will not be disappointed.

The hotel has a very relaxing feel and it is not antiquated......like so many hotels in Llandudno. I must mention that the towels provided are "top of the range" fluffy, white and so soft. Such luxury. I was glad to see that they cater for dogs......at a small charge per day.....not needed by us, but worth knowing for you pet lovers.

Although my late father stayed at the Merrion many times, I can confidentally say that he had the time of his life.......after spending many holidays abroad, he always came home to the Merrion. He was well looked after and we need not have worried at him being on his own. His last visit was in his 90th year. Thank you to the staff at the Merrion......he certainly lived the dream.!

Try the Merrion, you will not choose anywhere else in Llandudno.

Room Tip: First and second floor rooms with the larger windows overlooking the sea are you best choice if avai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Great review thank you. So pleased you enjoyed your recent stay despite the cold weather, I will pass on your comments to the staff both front and back of house, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Paul Bream.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stalybridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We are regular hotel visitors and always ensure we pick our hotels based upon chain brands and higher star ratings. We found this hotel through trip advisor when we were looking for a suitable hotel to take my 86 year old mother as Warners, where we usually stay, was fully booked.

Having returned two weeks previous from a 4 star hotel break in Blackpool we were expecting this hotel to be of a lower standard to it. Luckily we found that this was not the case! Yes the bedroom could have been slightly more modernised (the fitted hanging cupboard had the old original doors) but everything else was comparable at least to the four star hotels we usually stay in. The food standard in particular by far exceeded the food we have previously eaten at the other hotels we have stayed in. Every meal was freshly prepared and the variety offered suited every taste.

I would certainly recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a break in North Wales as it was value for money for the food alone! The excellent service and attention we received were an added bonus. Every area of the hotel was spotless and it was evident that the people employed at the hotel worked hard as a team to ensure every aspect of customer care was considered.

The entertainment was sufficient for us to enjoy a dance and singalong each night of our stay.

We will be returning in the future without a doubt and look forward to being spoilt once again by the staff and the choice of food on offer.

Room Tip: Wonderful views from the front of the hotel overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for posting such a great review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your comments to the kitchen, you stayed on our "Round the world themed break" which allows us to have a bit of fun with the menus, it's great to know you enjoyed them.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Paul Bream.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The Merrion is a family run hotel of the highest calibre, I would highly recommend it.
The hotel is situated right on the promenade and has lovely views from many of the rooms. It is close to the pier and very convenient for the excellent shopping parade.
The ambience is warm and comfortable, nicely decorated and welcoming. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The food is excellent, probably the best I have had anywhere, and there was no problem catering for my need of both gluten and dairy free diet. All the staff are most helpful and courteous, nothing is too much trouble, they all appear to work together as a very happy team. Tha nightly entertainment is most enjoyable and the afternoon tea and biscuits a nice little touch.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms suitable for disabled travellers, front rooms have lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for the great review, your comments are most welcome. We are pleased to cater for gluten free diets as well as well as coeliac, low fat etc, we provide enough choice on our menu to provide plenty of options, where possible food is locally sourced and we only use trusted suppliers. We hope to see you again soon.
many thanks
Paul Bream.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merrion Hotel

Address: Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LN, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#16 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#32 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrion Hotel is perfectly situated on the promenade in Llandudno; this classic Victorian seaside resort has great beaches and lots of attractions including superb walking in Snowdonia. The hotel has been owned and run by the Bream family for three generations, we offer superb food locally sourced where possible and friendly service. The hotel offers newly refurbished rooms all en-suite with flat screen TVs, a car park and disabled access. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Merrion Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merrion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.