We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First-Class Service and Hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Queens Hotel to your Saves list
The Queens Hotel
Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LE, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 65 Hotels in Llandudno
Daventry
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“First-Class Service and Hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is an old-fashioned hotel in every sense. It operates on old-fashioned values in that literally nothing is too much trouble. For example, one of our party of four was ill one day and the reception staff could not have been more obliging, offering drinks, food and anything else we needed to be brought up to the room. Another old-fashioned value - service in the dining room was slick and efficient at both dinner and breakfast and requests for water, extra butter, more toast etc were accommodated immediately. The food was traditional simple British fayre, well cooked and hot. Gourmet it's not and the selection would get very boring if one stayed for more than a few days.

It is also old-fashioned in its appearance - some would say "dated", others including me, would describe it as "faded charm", well certainly in the public rooms, which I would surmise, have been decorated fairly recently. The chairs in the Balmoral dining room could do with a good clean - the fabric on most is very grubby.

The two rooms we had were both in need of a good makeover! Faded and torn wallpaper, carpet with dirty marks and shower rooms of the tiniest proportions with nowhere to put soaps lotions etc. The beds however were comfortable and the linen clean.

The "proof of the pudding" here is best expressed by one delightful fellow guest, a sprightly ninety-two year old lady from the north-east, who gleefully told us of her visits here over the past forty-five years! That must count for something.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Owner at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your detailed feedback! we do try to exceed customer expectations in all aspects at the hotel, and I am pleased that you valued our efforts.
Regarding the decor; all public rooms have recently been refurbished to a high standard, in traditional style as per the Victorian theme of the hotel! All bedrooms are also part of our ongoing refurbishment plans, with each room being individually styled and decorated in the traditional way. Your other comments are noted, thank you, and will be attended to a.s.a.p.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    66
    27
    10
    5
See reviews for
50
54
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Banchory, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed a week in this lovely hotel on the Promenade and had a great time. The bedroom was very clean and had a walk-in shower. No need to struggle with those showers over baths! There was a wide variety of food both at breakfast and dinner and plentiful portions. All staff including Reception were very pleasant and helpful. There is entertainment most nights in the hotel. The hotel is full of Victorian features and charm. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty with Bath/shower ask for room with walk-in shower. Corner rooms are adequate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Owner at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you ever so much for posting such a great review and we are so pleased to hear you had a brilliant holiday here at the Queens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We were in Llandudno for the day walking along the promenade in July when we noticed a display board outside The Queens Hotel advertising a forth coming special 60's and 70's event on September 1st including dinner,bed and breakfast.
These sort of functions are quite difficult to come across these days.
We are just back from the lovely event.
We would like to express our thanks to the lovely staff and for our very memorable stay at the Queens Hotel.Our lovely room had a beautiful picturesque view of both The Great and Little Orme and the bay,pier and promenade.
The hospitality and food were first class.
Many thanks to Gill & Allen for the excellent entertainment.
We are now looking forward to our next stay at The Queens.

Paul & Maureen

Southport.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Owner at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for leaving such a positive review:
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

As we have 3 children it's so hard to find a hotel that will accommodate everyone without having to book multiple rooms at crazy prices, but the queens were extremely helpful and managed to get us all in the family room together. The lady at the front desk was lovely and chatted away while we checked in. The room was just what we needed for an overnight stay. Breakfast was very good the next morning with a good selection of food for everyone. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Owner at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review and I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

we stayed in hotel for one night with our two dogs and had a lovely time we had a table reserved in bar area for breakfast so we could have dogs with us we had waitress service and the food was lovely all the staff were friendly and girls on reception very helpful look forward to staying again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Delighted to hear that you ~ and the dogs ~ enjoyed yourselves and thank you so much for posting such a lovely review....Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have just spent a week at The Queens and were very satisfied. The location is lovely but I must admit parking was a bit of a nightmare in the car park. We ended up spending £3 a day and parked on the promenade on the days we stayed local.
The bedroom was nice if a bit small for a double but it was clean. The shower was a bit compact but adequate.
The food was wonderful all week, plenty of variety and hot. Staff were very helpful, the only fault we found in the dining room was that it was quicker to get a bottle of wine at the bar before we went in rather than wait to be served in the dining room.
Overall we had a lovely week and would certainly return again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Owner at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for leaving such a positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed in the lodge for one night with my 13 year old son and our dog. We arrived by train at 9.30am and asked if we could leave our bags somewhere until check-in time. The receptionist was very helpful and checked if our room was ready so we could leave our bags there.(if not, we were told we could leave them in a room next to reception). As dogs are not allowed in the restaurant whilst food is being served, we were allocated a table in the bar for breakfast, so Jasper wouldn't have to be left alone in the room. It was so nice being made welcome, even though we had a dog with us, some places can make you feel very uncomfortable.
Breakfast was lovely, served by a very pleasant member of staff, if we had not been going home, we would have loved to have dinner there too.
We will definitely be staying again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5 in the lodge, a twin room with a view of the sea, on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Delighted to hear you and Jasper! - enjoyed your stay & look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Address: Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#18 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE QUEENS HOTEL. Welcome to the Jewel in the Crown of the North Wales coast. The Queens Hotel, ideally situated on the seafront is a family run, celebrating 30 years under the same Management, All 83 en suite bedrooms (many have views of the sea and promenade) have colour television, tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer and telephone. Wheelchair access is via a ramp (gradient 1:8) in to the hotel, from where the ground floor reception, ballroom, dining rooms and bedrooms are all accessible via 2 lifts. We are able to offer parking for coaches and cars.Extremely accessible situated centrally on Llandudno's Victorian Promenade. Just two minutes from the main shopping street, the Queens Hotel affords splendid views of the Bay, Great Orme and restored Pier. The Aberconwy Conference Centre, North Wales Theatre and Llandudno's other attractions are also within easy reachOur friendly personally trained staff will cater for your requirements in the most professional manner. Relax and enjoy the warm and restful atmosphere of this great Victorian seaside hotel. We continually strive to perfect the service and warm welcome, which is why guests return year after year. Ideally placed with Snowdonia on the doorstep and numerous local attractions including The Great Orme and Venue Cymru, we look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Queens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.