We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre-Christmas stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Queens Hotel to your Saves list
The Queens Hotel
Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LE, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 65 Hotels in Llandudno
Wales
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Pre-Christmas stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We've been going to the Queens for the past 14 years for a short break before Christmas and have just returned from this year's break. I agree with previous comments that the hotel is a bit basic in some regards and in need of an update in some areas but if you want value for money in a clean hotel, as I do, then you can get what I think is a good deal. You also have to remember that this is a 2 star hotel (I think).
We pay an upgrade to get a sea view (£5 pp pn) because the room looks directly onto the seafront and you can hear the waves in the morning with views along the promenade and over to the pier and the Orme. To us the view is everything and the Queens offers us this.
Our bathroom was quite small but it had all the amenities required and was clean. The room including bed / sheets was also clean and was a good size. Staff are very friendly and not just because they know us. I read a previous reviewer's point about the tv but our room did have a flatscreen tv on the wall. We didn't eat this time but have done so many times in the past and the food has always been excellent.
Every year we look at other hotels in Llandudno but we always go back to the Queens as it gives us a good value for money stay in a clean room with oustanding views.

Room Tip: If you can afford it pay extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    66
    27
    10
    5
See reviews for
51
55
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pilling
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We have been taking groups to the Queens Hotel for 21 years and this one was just as good as the first maybe even better. The staff are friendly,cheerful and helpful and our friends really look forward to going and we have already booked for next year. The choice of food is very good,always hot and very well presented.The rooms are comfortable and warm and most have been refurbished recently. Thank you Queens and all your staff see you next year

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

My husband took me out to lunch as next sunday I WILL be run off my feet, We ordered roast beef/yorkshire pud ,we put our order in at around 12.50pm 20mins later it arrived..We sat in the bar and it was not that busy at that time , ofcourse the Resturant was..WE have been going here for over 15years because of the quality and excellent service but sadly not this day, OUR meal was a reheat ,yorkshire was soggy, The both of us agreed that NO WAY that beef was cooked on that day UNLESS that was reheated to excess , Its a shame as it is comfortable and just has a refurb..BUt, WE WERE ONLY THERE FOR THE MEAL and to relax MY treat was NOT A TREAT...

Room Tip: never stayed here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Owner at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
We are sorry to hear of your experience when last having Sunday lunch at the Queens. We would firstly assure restaurant guests that meals are cooked fresh to order using locally sourced produce.
However we are also sorry that you did not mention your dissapointment on the day, which would have enabled us to address the matter in a positive way.
All our customers are valued guests, as a long standing visitor to our Hotel we would respectfully ask that you notify reception on your next visit. I would like to assure you of a warm welcome and also endeavour to restore your confidence in our very successful and popular lounge and restaurant food.

Linda Bailey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

We went here for a pre Xmas girly lunch once again very nice big portions , and great choice, not only set lunch, full menu, & specials menu

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

My first visit to the hotel with my husband & parents, and after reading previous reviews on this site thought it sounded ideal. We were not disappointed at all. Great location, lovely sea view room, dining room food and service very good, a small gift on the dining table each day as it was a christmas themed weekend, bar and lounge area comfortable and relaxing, great lunchtime menu available. Entertainment each evening although we didn't see it as we had made other arrangements. Firework display on the pier as well which was an extra treat! Wheelchair & lift access to all floors which was what I required. Will certainly be re-booking for next year.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Staff were very helpful and friendly. Good location near the seafront. Rooms a bit dated but fine for a short stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011 via mobile

Rooms were basic to say the least. Think the TV may be seen on the Antiques Roadshow. Bathroom pretty grubby but bed sheets clean.

Felt like I was in a nursing home at breakfast, if you are under 70, I wouldn't stay here.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Address: Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#17 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE QUEENS HOTEL. Welcome to the Jewel in the Crown of the North Wales coast. The Queens Hotel, ideally situated on the seafront is a family run, celebrating 30 years under the same Management, All 83 en suite bedrooms (many have views of the sea and promenade) have colour television, tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer and telephone. Wheelchair access is via a ramp (gradient 1:8) in to the hotel, from where the ground floor reception, ballroom, dining rooms and bedrooms are all accessible via 2 lifts. We are able to offer parking for coaches and cars.Extremely accessible situated centrally on Llandudno's Victorian Promenade. Just two minutes from the main shopping street, the Queens Hotel affords splendid views of the Bay, Great Orme and restored Pier. The Aberconwy Conference Centre, North Wales Theatre and Llandudno's other attractions are also within easy reachOur friendly personally trained staff will cater for your requirements in the most professional manner. Relax and enjoy the warm and restful atmosphere of this great Victorian seaside hotel. We continually strive to perfect the service and warm welcome, which is why guests return year after year. Ideally placed with Snowdonia on the doorstep and numerous local attractions including The Great Orme and Venue Cymru, we look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Queens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.