We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for all, including coach parties.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Evans Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Llandudno
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Evans Hotel
Save
You added Evans Hotel to your Saves list
1 Charlton Street, Llandudno LL30 2AA, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 65 Hotels in Llandudno
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for all, including coach parties.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

As organiser of a coach party of 50 pensioners I would like to express appreciation for the whole holiday of 8 days in June 2014. From the moment we arrived service was excellent, all the staff very efficient and friendly. We had no complaints about bedrooms, as expected in a Victorian hotel they were not all identical as in a modern hotel so were different sizes and shapes but all in a good state of decoration. Throughout the week meals in the restaurant were excellent with plenty of choice and variety,something to please everybody and all served piping hot. All the staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable and were especially helpful to one of our party who had the misfortune to have a nasty fall when out in Llandudno. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel to other travellers and we will certainly return again in the future. Mrs Heather Day

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    52
    19
    12
    15
See reviews for
14
48
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed at the Evans Hotel for 7nights we had a lovely time the Hotel was very clean. food was Home cooked. different menu every night. better than some 4&5 star hotels i have stayed in Rooms were cleaned every day bed linen changed every day staff were very obliging nothing was to much trouble would stay there again THANK YOU EVANS FOR MAKING OUR Holiday A GOOD ONE

from Brian&Jan Merridew Southampton

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed here for 7 days in June we had a wonderful experience from start to Finnish the staff were so friendly and helpful the food was always hot and of a wide choice it was served very efficiently as we were part of a large coach party .we highly recommend evans and will be going back next year .well done Evans you made our stay in Wales a fabulous experience

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed for five days at the Evans with a coach party. The staff were great and the food was excellent. Plenty of it a great menu choice every day. I agree with other reviewers that the bedrooms and bathrooms are rather tired and in need of a total refurb, and new beds. Having said that, every where was very clean and all the reception areas were very pleasant. There is a very well stocked hospitality tray in the bedroom that is topped up every day. There was good entertainment almost every night. The location is good. Close to the shopping areas and just a short stroll to beach and prom. We had a very enjoyable stay and would definitely stay again if in the area. Would give the Evans five stars if bedrooms and bathrooms were updated.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Just returned, 1 June 2014, from a weekend away at the Evans hotel in Llandudno, North Wales. We travelled as a coach party courtesy of Harry Shaw Travel.
Arriving in the afternoon, our coach was met by hotel staff who were on hand to carry cases into the hotel lobby. A hotel rep came onto the coach and did the room allocation before we alighted. This we thought was very efficeient avoiding queues in the reception area.
Hotel is a little dated and rooms relatively small. However rooms were comfortable and clean.
Food was of good standard and service extremely prompt in the dining room. All staff were very courteous and friendly.Eveneing entertainmaent was provided by a singer and the usual bingo session. Would rate enertainment on first night as very good, second night as average.
As we were part of a large group (39) we made the most of it. I would recommend hotel for a group visit such as ours.
A special mention must go the the staff of Harry Shaw Coaches, driver Ian and his coach stayed with us all weekend taking us out on various trips to local attractions. The coach rep Mary was a very experienced and hard working lady and deserves a special mention. Despite some unusual requests en-route she stayed happy and smiling throughout the trip. She dealt with a minor washroom problem swiftly, and was not afraid to get her hands dirty, She organised the distribution of drinks and snacks throughout the trip even organising the community singing. Note to Harry Shaw, I don't know how much you pay this girl but she deserves more 10 out of 10 for customer service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This hotel is in desperate need of redecoration. The rooms are very small with possibly the smallest television I have ever seen in a hotel.
Two things to beware of firstly the tea and coffee in the room isn't very nice & the water from the hot water tap in the bathroom is scalding. The bathroom is also very small and again in desperate need of updating. The breakfast was good and the waiting staff are very friendly.
Also tried the pool table downstairs & again as with everything else this needed some serious attention.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

just returned from a 2 night half board stay at this hotel.everything was excellant from check in to departure.rooms clean and every thing that you need is in them.food excellant with a good choice for both dinner and breakfast.waitress very friendly and nothing to much trouble.bar and entertainment reasonable with plenty of room for dancing.all in all a good hotel at a reasonable price.would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Evans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evans Hotel

Address: 1 Charlton Street, Llandudno LL30 2AA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 65 Hotels in Llandudno
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Evans Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Evans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.