We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic victorian style hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Marlborough Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Llandudno
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Marlborough Hotel
Save
You added The Marlborough Hotel to your Saves list
South Parade | Prince Edward Square, Llandudno LL30 2LN, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 65 Hotels in Llandudno
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“fantastic victorian style hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We recently stayed at the Marlborough Hotel at Llandudno as a tour with Buckleys. The party consisted of myself, parents, 15yr old daughter and 22yr old niece so a mixture of ages. We were warmly welcomed with refreshments while the staff took our cases to our rooms, no mean feat with a full coach of passengers.

Our rooms were very clean and comfortable and even had the extra personal touch of an individually wrapped mint for each occupant laid upon the bed. The bathroom in my family room was very large and well set out. My parents had a walk in shower which had been requested through Buckleys tour operators. We were lucky in both rooms to have fantastic scenic views of the Great Orme and the pier and the Hotel is ideally situated for all aspects of Llandudno.

My most exciting find in the Hotel is a Victorian lift that although it only takes four people at a time is an absolute delight to travel in. It has two gates that have to be closed before it can travel and it just all added to the experience.

They offer an exceptional choice of food especially as all my family are fussy eaters and we invariably end up finding a cafe as a rule. Was fantastic to actually enjoy meals at the Marlborough, all cooked beautifully and served quickly and efficiently by friendly helpful waiting staff. When asked for childrens meals they were accomodating which was great.

The bar although small and homely offered a wide selection of drinks both soft and alcoholic and had touches of days gone by, such as an old telephone and a gramaphone in the entertainment area. Such delightful touches of a bit of nostalgia.

Staff at the Marlborough are welcoming, friendly and above all helpful and pleasant and the only downside was actually leaving!!! Even though the whole hotel staff, chef, etc all came and stood at the entrance to wave our coach off and we took forever to leave yet they stayed until we were out of sight. Small extra touches such as this make the Marlborough an exceptional hotel and one we will gladly be returning to in the near future.

Well Done!!!

Room Tip: We had a family room on the 3rd floor (309) to accomodate four people and it had amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager4185, Front Office Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us, and thank you for writing such a detailed review. We hope to be able to welcome you all again to The Marlborough Hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    20
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
18
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Just returned from another fabulous holiday at the marlborough. Took a party of 35 people who all thoroughly enjoyed there holiday. The food is very highly reccommended, service is very good with everyone having a very pleasant manner and will do and help in any way and every way possible. Rooms are always clean and well maintained. Entertainment every night is excellent. The hotel is well situated for Mostyn street, The promenade and The pier. Jean the proprietor is so helpful and friendly and is such a lovely person to talk to and makes everyone so welcome. Carly on reception again is so helpful and makes you so welcome. We come twice a year as it is so good. See you in December.
Overall i highly reccommend The Hotel, The Proprietors, and all The Staff.
I always reccomend The Marlborough Hotel as i cannot fault it, in any way.
Thanks from all my party to you all for a lovely stay once again.
From Angela & Party from Pocklington and York

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager4185, Front Office Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are thrilled that everyone had a lovely time, and enjoyed their holiday. All the staff, thank you for your kind comments, and may we take this time to thank you for all the effort you put into organising your trips and making sure all the guests are happy and their requests fullfilled! We really do appreciate it. We look forward to seeing eveyone again at Christmas, and Matt will be ready and waiting for Mrs Boyes with his running shoes on! We can't wait.

Kind Regards,

The Marlborough Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton-Cleveleys
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Just been for another visit to the Marleborough Hotel, with our friends who we call "Team Wrinkly". We all had a fantastic time, friendly staff, good food and lovely rooms, we will certainly be back again. If you are looking for a place to stay In Llandudno look no further than the Marlborough.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for The Marlborough Hotel. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, despite the lovely british summer we are having, and we look forward very much to welcoming you back to us in 2013 !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Just returned from a 2 day break at the Marlborough hotel, to celebrate my husband's birthday. This was our 5th visit and again the staff were so friendly and helpful and the room very comfortable, overlooking the pier and the sea. The food was excellent, always hot and such a good choice. I chose the salmon and watercress sauce on the 2nd night, which was delicious and my husband opted for the roast beef which he thoroughly enjoyed. The entertainment on both nights was excellent. We can't wait to go back for another 'mini-break'.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the front overlooking the Happy Valley and the pier. Great for 'people watchin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager4185, Front Office Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. On behalf of all the staff i would like to thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Marlborough Hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend and it was lovely. The room was clean, the food was very good and the staff helpful. We will go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager4185, Front Office Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments, we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward very much to seeing you on your next visit to Llandudno.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pontypool
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

stayed at the marlborough earlier this month with edwards coach holidays for a roll back the years themed break and had a thoroughly good time.the hotel was spotless,warm ,comfortable and homely.staff were always friendly and helpful.evening entertainment was good- not too loud and music with a tune. the only problem was the food-it was so good that there were never any leftovers at breakfast or dinner and the evening chips were so delicious the entertainers were first in the queue!hence my review title-meaning full of food.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager4185, Front Office Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, especially with such an inventive title to your review. My heart did jump a little when i read the title, but we thank you for your kind words & comments. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The entertainers concerned have had a slapped wrist about jumping the buffet queue before the customers, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Marlborough Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Marlborough Hotel with The Autumn Travel coach tour and I can't fault the hotel. We have never stayed in a hotel with more friendly, helpful staff, nothing is too much for them, every member of staff gave 110%. The choice of food was exceptional and plenty of it, even a finger buffet and chips after the evening entertainment. Our room was clean and roomy with plenty of drawers and wardrobe space, will definitely stay again.
Julie & Joe, Burnley

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager4185, Front Office Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, all the staff are thrilled with your comments, and we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Marlborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marlborough Hotel

Address: South Parade | Prince Edward Square, Llandudno LL30 2LN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#28 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#31 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
The Marlborough Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marlborough Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.