We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“KGB dealers beware” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Oasis Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Oasis Hotel to your Saves list
The Oasis Hotel
Nevill Crescent | Central Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1AT, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 65 Hotels in Llandudno
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“KGB dealers beware”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from our KGB deal break in Oasis hotel. Arrived at the hotel only to find out that Ann did not have our reservation even though we booked ages ago, luckily they had a room for us and 2 dogs. We were not allowed to leave the dogs in the room on their own and while having dinner it was suggested to leave them in the car, at which point we were shocked as it was the hottest weekend of the year, but as we had a crate we were allowed to leave them at meal times. As it was mentioned before by previous reviewers we were given a fire escape room on the 4th floor (not very convenient having had 2 dogs with us) as it was a last room we were lucky to get anything. The room was clean and spacious even though it was outdated and some minor repairs required. The bathroom was nice and clean, avocado green ;). I was shocked there was no shower in a hotel room in our day and age, i had to use something i never seen in my life it was like a hose pipe attached to the taps.
We were supplied with fresh clean towels and tea and coffee facilities by lovely chamber maids.
We were concerned that we were in a fire escape room which had a key to the door on outside in a glass panel, it would have been nice to be explained that on check in.
The dinner was fine even though a little bit early for us. Breakfast was filling but HP and Heinz tomato sauce was clearly a cheaper refill as the labels were worn, out of date and did not taste Heinz at all.

The hotel suggests it is pet friendly but I would not suggest pet owners to come and stay there as we were made feel uncomfortable and guilty leaving the dogs in the room, even though charged 5 pounds per dog per night. After speaking to a few dog owners in the pub they had better pet welcome experience in other b&b's.

Overall we had a nice stay, but did not feel welcomed as the landlady was more friendly with other guests, perhaps because we had a KGB deal. It is a shame as KGB deals is a good way to encourage guests to return and pay full price, but we felt we were treated differently because we had a voucher.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100bears, Owner at The Oasis Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
I am sorry you didn't feel welcome, perhaps it was the fact we where only expecting one dog & not a second six week old puppy wearing a nappy.! we where very concerned about your leaving two unattended dogs in a hotel room, & felt perhaps it a misjudgement to bring them with you. I feel you responded to our dismay & perhaps felt a little out of order ,& think this is why you have made the complaints that you have.
In 30 years not a single person has ever object to a fire escape room, especially as the views from the rear of the hotel are spectacular of the hills over Conwy. Llandudno is one of the safes places to stay & have never ever had anyone try to break into a room. One note, there are opening windows in all our fire escape rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    61
    14
    6
    11
See reviews for
57
107
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

A lovely hotel on the sea front, friendly and welcoming staff especially the owners Ann & David. Nothing was too much trouble. Clean and comfortable rooms. Already planing my next trip in a few months.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Having read one or two negative reviews I have to say I have just spent 2 nights (July 2013) at the Oasis on a KGB deal and the stay was excellent. Anne and David are very warm and welcoming. I agee one or two rooms may be a little dated, but for me, the rooms are very clean, comfortable and well equipt. The
food was absolutely spot on. Breakfast and dinner both excellent (David is certainly an accomplished chef providing excellent food to a standard to be proud of). All the staff are friendly and very accommodating, nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is a fabulous victorian building (so don't expect cosmopolitan decor), what you do get is a feel of traditional holiday accommodation with lots of victorian architectural features. Right on the sea front, what a treat to step out of the front door and take a walk along the promenade. I absolutely loved it and really fell in love with Llandudno. Looking forward to planning another trip very soon and it will definitely be at the OASIS!!

Thanks for a great stay, see you again very soon. Zoe Almond (Stratford upon Avon)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed in the oasis hotel last nite (saturday 13th july 2013) and were very pleased with what we were offerd as we had not booked in advance and just took a chance finding sumwhere to stay, the lady was so very helpful with us. The room was very nice too, clean and fresh. Breakfast was also brilliant. All in all a very nice stay and will deffinatley recomend to family and friends and will also definatley be making another visit there very soon.
Thanks Emmie & Dan room 12

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

A wonderful small hotel in a sea front location, made perfect by attentive hosts, friendly staff, clean rooms and a great tasty breakfast. Every effort was made to make us feel welcome.The hosts worked incredibly hard and were on the go from early morning to late at night.

Room Tip: Like any other establishment, rooms vary, but found that ever effort was made to accommodate us in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My partner and I spent two nights at the Oasis on 8th and 9th July 2013. Ann and David are excellent hosts, the hotel is very clean, the beds are very comfy and the food is very good. Compliments to the Chef [ David ]. The en-suite was modern,clean, and plenty of hot water. Cannot fault it and looking forward to going back the end of September/ October. See you soon. Ann and Arthur room 4.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I had booked on a deal and was a little dubious looking at the reviews, however we really enjoyed our stay at the Oasis. Our rooms were a good size. The owners were friendly and concerned about the reviews they were getting. It is a typical seaside bed and breakfast. We were in a room with the fire escape, and yes it could be considered an extra risk, but you can't open the windows from outside and to get the key inside you would have to smash the alarm glass which would start the fire alarm. It did not concern me. The food was good. Plenty of it and good quality. Mum travelled with us and still talks about the sausages. The hotel could not be in a better position for seeing Llandudno, both the shops and the bay. The only hesitation I have is that we found the beds on the firm side, but v. clean. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Room 1 overlooks the bay and is beautiful. We were in room 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oasis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oasis Hotel

Address: Nevill Crescent | Central Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1AT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#28 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Oasis Hotel, a small family run guest House. The Oasis unfortunatly has no lift facilities. This is clearly stated on our web-site & booking sites. Guests are informed of this before they arrive & when booking by phone. We don't boast to being a five star or a boutique just basic clean friendly accommodation for staying guests at sensible prices. We offer a full English well cooked breakfast.We have a small bar open by request & at week-ends.We do not offer evening meals.We have limited parking & permits for the promenade. Ideal for the Theater & Conference centre. One night stays welcome as well as long term.Situated on the sea front with sea facing rooms.The breakfast room is situated in the basement & accessed by 12 stairs. We have a collection of over 500 bears in reception kindly given to us as gifts by guests over the last 10years. The Hotel Inspector might not approve but our returning guests like to see we have kept their gifts which are wellment & we appreciate . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Oasis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Hotel Llandudno
The Oasis Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oasis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.