We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A PLACE WHERE COLOUR, MUSIC AND FUN HAVE NOT VISITED” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bodysgallen Hall & Spa

Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
The Royal Welsh Way, Llandudno LL30 1RS, Wales
+44 1492 584466
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 138 Restaurants in Llandudno
Price range: $0 - $98
Cuisines: Contemporary, Welsh
Restaurant details
Wales
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“A PLACE WHERE COLOUR, MUSIC AND FUN HAVE NOT VISITED”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

My wife and I went for Sunday lunch and although the food was very good, the environment (apparently the main restaurant) was lifeless and dull. This is not the place that invites people to feel relaxed and comfortable. Even the staff, despite trying to be friendly and professional, behave in a very wooden manner; the lady at Reception is not different. This is a shame because the house in itself is beautiful but it lacks in colour, elegance and it feels as if it is stuck in the past but not in an elegant way.

The main dining room, for example, is dull, colourless with walls the colour of nicotine and painting with frames that need to be restored. The windows have not been cleaned for a long time and the furniture is uncomfortable and boring. This room would benefit from some colour, background music and eating should be a pleasure and enjoyment not an ordeal.

Find another place to eat if you want to have a pleasant memory of the experience.



Find a

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew J, General Manager at Bodysgallen Hall & Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
We are sorry if these guests did not fully enjoy their recent visit to this historic hall owned by the National Trust – guests should not expect Bodysgallen to be a modern hotel like new built establishments: we do not provide ‘piped’ music, our furniture is comfortable and appropriate to that of a well-kept, well-furnished country house. Although the windows are cleaned regularly the recent continual driving rain and gales our country is experiencing have affected their appearance. Few allowances need to be made for the fact the building is more than 300 years old, and the service received here is characteristic of the traditions of such a house in the past following its restoration from an uncertain future by Historic House Hotels over 30 years ago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    11
    15
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Pass by.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Booked a table for a birthday lunch for my husband several weeks before and due to the glowing comments I had heard was really looking forward to this. The lunch did not go well from the start. Three tries to make a pint of soda water and lime and a shandy was 3/4 beer and 1/4 lemonade instead of the other way around. The vegetarian hotpot was orange, could have done with some green vegetables in it (even peas) for another colour and the shepherds pie had lots of mint in, rather overpowering, with a side vegetable of carrots (orange again). My spotted dick was so crunchy I thought a filling had falled out!! Needless to stay we will not be returning.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Elegant Grandeur, with a wonderful touch of magic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

A pre Christmas meal with friends - we were a party of 6, drinks and canape's in the Library first, followed by the first class meal in the main dining room, the quality and presentation of the food was excellent, I personally had not had venison for years and it surpassed my expectation, beautifully presented and just the right size portion. The selection of cheeses was wonderful from different parts of the Wales and the UK. Service from the staff was prompt and just the right amount of attention when needed during the course of dinner. One of the great features of Bodysgallen is its grandeur from the moment you arrive you know that the evening is special - the welcoming staff to the relaxation after the meal around the impressive real log fire. A real treat to set Christmas off to a great start

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea-what a disappointment!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

What a lovely building and interior, enjoyed the atmosphere, the staff were very pleasant but the tea was a real disappointment. Boring sandwiches, scones nice, but sickly sweet cakes, most of which we left. Such a lovely hotel should be able to do better.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely afternoon tea with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Spent late afternoon early evening indulging, having afternoon tea with 4 girlfriends Sat 7th Dec. Lovely as always. Staff friendly yet unobtrusive. Relaxed by a roaring fire on a dark damp Dec, could not have been anywhere better or with anyone better. Bliss....

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bodysgallen Hall & Spa also viewed

 
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to Bodysgallen Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bodysgallen Hall & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.