We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if you're looking for for a hotel in Eastbourne try not to stay here !” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Royal Parade Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Royal Parade Hotel to your Saves list
Hilton Royal Parade Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 - 42 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 43 Hotels in Eastbourne
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“if you're looking for for a hotel in Eastbourne try not to stay here !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The hotel is like a maze on 3 floors if you're of an age who easily gets lost. The rooms are like boxes with as much squashed into them as possible! Our room consisted of double bed, walk-in wardrobe with about 5 hangers, the wash basin to the side of the wardrobe by the window, and the toilet and shower in what can only be described as a cupboard! And all this after the hotel was supposed to have been refurbished! Creaking, low bed with a torn quilt. Having to go to the lower ground floor every time you wanted something to eat, to the restaraunt there, Trouble is, if you're disabled in anyway, there's only 1 lift down there. And so, the lift just keeps going between the LG and 3rd floor every mealtime! And yet on the ground floor, a lovely restaraunt with see views, but just open for outsiders to pop in during the day! And then when you've finished your meal, you then queue for the lift to get back up to the ground floor or which ever floor you require! Entertainment, well if you want a karaoke style singer every night, need i say more! If you go by your own car and not on an arranged coach holiday, then be prepared to find a parking space on the prom as soon as you can, late afternoon, otherwise forget it! The hotel has no car park! Out of the 4 night stay H/B breakfastime wasn't bad, but main meals were rather poor. 2 out of the 4 meals we had salads, and 1 night we even had a meal out! That's how good the menus were! Yes, i know it's not the Ritz but i'd expect a little more in the way of what to expect seeing as you're still paying for a trip away. And as from a health & safety issue, fire doors held open with fire extinguishers. And certainly hardly any help towards the disabled, considering the amount of elderly staying at the hotel. And most of the staff foreign who didn't get to grips when you were ordering in the resteraunt or speaking to them at reception! I know the prices are cheap, and i've gone on and on a bit, but i have paid for stays around the country for the same sort of money, and beleive me, i've found better! And i think the entertainment would be a lot more interesting for the older clientel if there was, say, a nights bingo included.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    61
    74
    49
    108
See reviews for
58
131
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

nice location,very helpful friendly staff,food of a good standard,clean and pleasant hotel,evening entertainment was of a very good standard,the hotel is very near to pier and within walking distance to the main town

Room Tip: my room was on the back ,but not a bad view of the surrounding countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I stayed three nights, first one in a single then moved to a double for the next two. Single room was cheap (£29 per night) but spoiled by the penny pinching repair they'd made to the shower. A plumber had fixed it with solid pipe, this made it immovable which meant it was really difficult to use - do hoteliers ever check what's been done to the rooms we pay to stay in I wonder? Double room was £49 per night and really good with windows overlooking the seafront (they don't open so could be unbearably hot if we ever get a sunny day this year) The hotel is in the East part of the seafront and consequently relatively quiet although they did have 'entertainment' each night which was dire and loud plus the oldies who stay in Eastbourne love their coach trips - which leave at around 7am and consequently they wake up anyone who is hoping for a late wake up.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of night at the end of May/beginning of June.
We paid £49 per night and were very happy when we realised the room was sea view (lovely to look at first thing in the morning).
The staff were helpful and the room clean, the en suite was a little small but manageable, we went out the second day and returned to find our bed made and fresh towels (lots of hotels don't send in housekeeping unless you ask), so that was good.
All in all EXCEPTIONAL value for money.
They were even polite when I was being a little vile after getting some bad news and becoming somewhat drunk and emotional.
Yes some area's of the building are a little dated but then hasn't everyone got rooms in there house that could do with a little spruce here and there?
My advice is give this hotel the benefit of the doubt, as I'd say at that price you getting plenty more than your paying for, I have stayed in loads of other places that charge more but have been of much lower quality.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Have just been for a long weekend at the Hilton Royal , I took my 86 year old mother and my son with special needs just for a little break , the staff were a credit to the hotel and were very helpful .We had a nice room over looking the sea ,but we were right over the entertainment room so it was very loud at night but we managed rather than have the trouble of moving for a few nights. We found the room very basic but it was clean ,just lacked a few things like a phone , hair drier , one of the bulbs in the bedside lamps was not working but they put that right when I told them . The breakfast was good and there was enough to fill us , the evening meals were not great we found the salad was the best option , but for a cheep and cheerful break it was fine . We went by coach with Just Go Holidays the driver was the best he helped make the holiday for us.

Room Tip: We were told the rooms at the back were very quiet , the rooms at the front have great views and are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The staff at the hotel are really very good, polite and hardworking - making the effort to chat to guests, etc, but they are let down by an incredibly dated hotel. I don't understand why the part of the building to the left of reception appeared to have full heating on all day and night - it made for a very uncomfortable stay. The shower in my room had two settings - freezing cold or scalding hot. When I asked about this at reception I was told to run the hot water tap in the sink for the duration of trying to have a shower. Quite laughable in light of their notices about saving the environment.

there was also a very strange smell - also only noticeable in the building to the left of reception - it was a mixture of drains and grease coupled with the heat. It made its way into the rooms - bed covers and pillows seemed to smell of it as well. It really was unbearable.

Also, I am not too sure if this had anything to do with the hotel or was just a general thing but at least a quarter of guests staying there last week came down with some sort of bug. Myself included.

As I say the staff at the hotel are lovely and friendly - they really do try their best - but they are working against themselves by being in such a poorly maintained hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Having the name "Hilton" made us feel this hotel was part of the Hilton Group. If it is it is most certainly the "Black Sheep" of the family. This hotel has the potential to be really great. Reception staff were very welcoming and checking in was seemless, although we were not notified that payment had been taken from the card used for booking. This hotel is like a warren and the information signs telling you which lift to take were not accurate. Our room was fairly newly refurbished and looked nice on first impression, but we soon noticed how shabby it really was. Toilet was dangerously not properly fixed to the floor.

The other couple in our party had a room next door. The carpet and curtains were filthy and badly stained. The buttons for the lift on our floor were not well sealed and I would question Health and Safety.

Breakfast was a service disaster. Firstly they did not want our group of 5 to sit together. The breakfast order was taken 1 person at a time so we did not get our food at the same time and then is was cold. The sausages looked awful!

Parking - what parking?

Sadly I wouldn't recommend this hotel in a hurry. Clean it up give iot some TLC and it will be terrific.

Room Tip: Don't!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Royal Parade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Royal Parade Hotel

Address: 35 - 42 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 43 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Royal Parade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located directly on Eastbourne seafront opposite the beach with easy walking distance to the pier, bandstand, theatres and the main shopping and town centre facilities. We provide entertainment 2 or 3 nights a week in our bar and have large conference, meeting and seminar rooms. We also have a large ballroom and function room with sprung dance floor which can accommodate up to 150 persons. We provide full restaurant and catering facilities and have a new and experienced team available to ensure all your requirements are met. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Royal Parade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Eastbourne
Eastbourne Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Royal Parade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.