We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Langham Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Langham Hotel to your Saves list
Langham Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43 - 49 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Eastbourne
Maesteg, Bridgend
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent and great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Last weekend myself and a coach load of friends from Maesteg stayed here. To say it was fantastic was an understatement. The food was just delicious and so very well presented. The menu was varied for evening meal and great choices. Breakfast too was superb. The entertainment was excellent and all the staff particularly the restaurant and bar staff were extremely efficient and friendly. The hotel was spotless and towels in bathroom changed daily. The location is great not far from the pier and town and on a bus route. I loved every second of my stay and I know the rest of my companions agree with me. I would have preferred a sea view room but that is a minor thing. Our room and the hotel was warm and inviting.

Regards
Marilyn Jones , Maesteg.

Room Tip: There wasn't a fitness centre or swimming pool; at least I never saw them. Be careful when booki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Manager at Langham Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Marilyn Jones,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review. It is a pleasure to read your wonderful comments about the hotel and in particular our top team of staff. I am delighted you enjoyed all of our facilities and entertainment. We hope to welcome you all back again in the future and maybe we can get you into a sea view bedroom.
Warmest regards,

Simon Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    119
    41
    17
    7
See reviews for
79
170
26
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Very comfortable hotel with friendly, smartly dressed and well-trained staff. Very good breakfast with waitress service. The hotel is well-positioned about 15 minutes walk from the pier in one direction and about 35 minutes to the Marina in the other. This is a well-run hotel - not surprising given that the owner ran a large London hotel. We only stayed one night but would definitely stay again if we come back to Eastbourne.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Manager at Langham Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Lynne24

Thank you ever so much for your review and kind comments about the team and hotel. Please return again soon.

Warmest regards,

Simon Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a two night stay and found the hotel to be warm and friendly with good food. Rooms are decorated to a high standard. Hotel in a good location and an easy 15 minute walk into town, front desk are knowledgable on buses if you wish to travel on public transport. There is a car park nearby and some on street parking.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Manager at Langham Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Josie C,

Thank you ever so much sharing your experience. I am delighted you had a good stay and I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kindest regards,

Simon Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The hotel is located on the sea front and it is well worth paying a bit extra for a front facing room. They are currently upgrading the rooms and again it is well worth making sure you stay in one that has been refurbished. The resturant was very good with great service and and a fair range of choices. Breakfast was excellent, cooked to order and served at table, no long lines of people fighting over the buffet. There is a well stocked and reasonably priced bar. Staff were freindly and attentative. We enjoyed our stay and will definatly go again. Thier weekend break packages are real value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Manager at Langham Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Ewen028,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. I am really pleased you enjoyed your sea view bedroom and all of the further hotel amenities. Great comments about the staff and value for money. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kindest rgeards,
Simon Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton Sussex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

A warm welcome given on a really wet and windy Sunday evening. We had read many of the reviews and looked forward to our stay of two nights. We were not disappointed from the start. Our room was delightful and clean. The staff were always helpful, no request was too much for them. We ate in the restaurant on the evening of the 28th (our wedding anniversary) and unfortunately we felt it did not live up to its 2 rosette award - just average hotel food. However, as we liked the hotel so much we would try it again in case it was a one off with the restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Manager at Langham Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear SussexWanderers,

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad you enjoyed the hotel and its facilities. It is a shame you felt the food was average but I am glad this did not detract from your Wedding celebration. We will be working towards two rosettes next year but for the moment proudly own the one. I hope to see you again soon.

Kindest regards,
Simon Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We have never stayed in an Eastbourne hotel before and were well satisfied by our stay at the Langham. Our room was small and looked out at the back but then we hadn't asked for seaview. Our bedroom was hot all the time and the only way to keep it cool was to have the window always open. That didn't matter because the back of the hotel is quiet. All the staff - front desk, restaurant, bar - went out of their way to be pleasant and helpful. Our three course dinner in the hotel was thoroughly wholesome and well priced. Unusually breakfast was served throughout by the restaurant staff.- not a buffet breakfast. Because the hotel was busy during our stay that meant breakfast was rather slow but there was nothing wrong with the full English I chose. The hotel is a long way east of the centre of Eastbourne and the nearest bus stop a short walk away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Manager at Langham Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear 73manor,
Thank you kindly for your review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and hope that on a future occasion we can accommodate you in one of our many larger bedrooms; perhaps with a sea view. We hope to see you again soon.

Kindest regards,

Simon Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This year was my 5th Ladies weekend at the Langham and as with every year it has been lovely. We have always had see view rooms and they are amazing, very modern and welcoming. All the staff are lovely and very friendly. I know the hotel is still in the process of being done up and so there are some rooms that are still waiting updating, however like I say I have always been lucky and got a new room which are just lovely! As i'm sure the rest will be when finished. The sea view is also amazing, We could lie in bed and see the sea. The dinners are always very good however the only down fall I have ever found with the hotel is the breakfast, the quality compared to that of the dinners is very different.
Would definitely recommend .

Room Tip: I would always ask for a sea view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Manager at Langham Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Laura F,
Thank you ever so much for your review. It is always pleasing to read of consistent good service and I am pleased you continue to enjoy our facilities. Your comments re: breakfast are noted and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Warmest regards,
Simon Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Langham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Hotel

Address: 43 - 49 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#1 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Best Value Hotel in Eastbourne
#4 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Langham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Langham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langham Hotel Eastbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langham Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.