We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Langham Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Langham Hotel to your Saves list
Langham Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43 - 49 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Eastbourne
great yarmouth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Summer Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We arrived on 19th august for a summer break of 6 nights. We have stayed here on a number of occasions before and have always found the hotel to be excellent, therefore that was the reason to come back and stay for a week. from the moment of entering the entrance the staff were very courteous and helpful. we were shown to our 2nd floor sea view room. Great view. we had a small problem with the bathroom window, which was not sorted on the first day, I mentioned the problem again the next day, and we were promptly moved to another room on the 3rd floor, Lovely room with comfy bed and superb shower room. Lounge and bar area's are very comfortable. Conservatory Restaurant has a great position on the seafront and also has a very high standard of food and service. Parking can be a problem in nearly all seaside resorts, but " Langhams" have facility's just around the corner. All in all... a lovely place to stay!

Room Tip: Seafront rooms are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Manager at Langham Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Nigel A,

Thank you very much for your 5 star review. I am so glad we made you comfortable and that you enjoyed our facilities and friendly service. We very much hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kindest regards,

Simon Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    119
    41
    16
    7
See reviews for
77
169
25
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Over the uk bank holiday we stayed at the Langham with relatives and had a reasonable time. There were some issues with our room which I mentioned to the hotel. Due to these comments when we returned a week later the owners (Neil and Wendy) had taken the time to review my comments and correct not one or two but every issue I had mentioned in full. Neil then met with us personally before we left, showing a real dedication to ensuring a guest leaves feeling special.

I highly recommend anyone looking for a relaxing stay of real quality stay at the Langham. Our return truly gave us faith that there are still some managers/owners out there that do care and do listen. Would certainly return again in faith that the team there would make us feel special.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Manager at Langham Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Chris M,

Thank you very much for your great review. I am so pleased you had such a wonderful stay with us. We do take all comments very seriously and I am truly thankful for your acknowledgement of this.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Simon Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at The Langham over August Bank Holiday weekend with my Mum to celebrate her 77th birthday.
Nothing is too much trouble for everyone at The Langham and you are made to feel very welcome by each and every member of staff.
The food was unbelievable - couldn't fault breakfast, lunch or dinner!!!
Mum's lunch on the day of her birthday was made even more special by receiving a birthday cake and glass of wine with compliments from the Hotel and the jazz band played happy birthday to Mum and another lady who was celebrating - fantastic - made Mum feel very special indeed!
My Sister had arranged for balloons, champagne, flowers and chocolates to be delivered to the hotel (she lives in Venezuela) and these were all placed on a side table next to our table at the jazz lunch on the Sunday.
All in all excellent - couldn't fault it and would definitely recommend the hotel not only for its rooms but also for the amazingly great food and extra special staff - thank you to all at The Langham you made our weekend into a wonderful weekend!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Manager at Langham Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Maggie M,

Thank you very much for your super review! I am delighted your mum had such a great birthday celebration at our ever popular jazz luncheon. It is very pleasing to read of your joy and we hope to see you all again soon.

Kindest regards,

Simon Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I booked a sea view room at the hotel through Booking.com several weeks before the actual stay. When my husband and I arrived at the hotel, we were informed that they had not received any notification from Booking.com of our reservation. They were extremely busy as it was the lead up to the bank holiday weekend but to our surprise they arranged for us to stay for 2 nights in a sea view room and then the remaining 2 nights in a non sea view. They were most apologetic which was unnecessary as the fault lay completely with Booking.com.

Now on to our stay. From the minute we walked into the hotel we felt the atmosphere to be very relaxed. The staff were amazing. We were offered assistance to take our bags to our room and nothing was too much trouble.

Our first two nights were spent in a family room which while spotless with wonderful views did have rather dated furniture and fittings. Please don't think this is reflective of the hotel. When we moved into the other room for the last 2 days it was the epitome of chic. The decoration in the hotel overall is one of understated elegance whilst at the same time being comfortable and relaxing.

Meals could be taken in the dining room or the conservatory and in both the service was nothing short of outstanding. We also had some very delicious bar meals in the bar area and outside on the terrace. My personal favourites were the club sandwich (the best anywhere) and the cream tea.

The owner obviously has a very well managed hotel. The staff are the jewels in his crown and he is to be commended on them. On speaking to one of the lovely girls that served us we were told that she had been at the hotel 9 years. This to me sums it up.

We have already booked to return in October.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Manager at Langham Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Michelle H,

What a wonderful review! Thank you very much for sharing your 5 star recommendation. We all work very hard to achieve your kind words and I really appreciate your acknowledgement. Please return again and again, you are always welcome.

Simon Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Large luxurious and very comfortable rooms, tastefully decorated. Top class meals and top class evening entertainment. Very friendly,helpful and knowledgeable personnel. Great location and reminiscent of days spent at the seaside in times gone by. Would I go there again ? Definitely !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Manager at Langham Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Lynette A,

Thank you for your lovely little review. Really appreciated and enjoyable. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kindest regards,

Simon Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Staying in eastbourne and looking for somewhere to eat and noticed the 2/3 course set menu at Langhams, what a good choice. We sat with a sea view, looked after by excellent staff and enjoyed a very good meal with coffee at a very reasonable price. It made our evening, many thanks.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Manager at Langham Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Eric T,

Thank you ever so much for your review. I am glad you discovered us and really appreciate your kind review. I hope to see you again soon!

Kindest regards,

Simon Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was our first ever visit to Eastbourne so were a bit reserved. Arrived friday lunchtime to nice friendly and efficient staff who made checkin a doddle. We picked the weekend of the Eastbourne Airshow, no sea view rooms avaliable (although we booked 3 mths in advance) however the room we had was excellent, clean and very comfortable with a nice bathroom. The bar and restaurant staff were all very helpfull and friendly even though they were obviously extremely busy because of the airshow. The breakfast and evening meals were very good and the conservatory provides lovely views whilst having dinner. We were pleasantly surprised at how reasonable the prices were, coupled with a relaxed atmosphere we were quite happy to stay and relax in the bar. As it was airshow weekend, we took the opportunity to book one of the hotels private garages at the rear for £10 per day. This certainly paid off in our case, however on a normal weekend parking would probably pose no problems. Very pleasant hotel worthy of its 3 stars.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Manager at Langham Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Gerald C,

Thank you very much for your 5 star review! I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and found us to be good value. Please do return again soon.

Kindest regards,

Simon Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Langham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Hotel

Address: 43 - 49 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#4 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Langham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Langham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langham Hotel Eastbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langham Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.