We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Langham Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Langham Hotel to your Saves list
Langham Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43 - 49 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Would definitely return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Three of us stayed for four nights in March. We nada very good room with super seafront views. The food was very good and service friendly in all parts of the hotel. There is a small bar with occasional entertainment. Most of the guests were elderly and we remarked on our son being the only child in the hotel, although it was still off season. Overall we felt the hotel offered excellent value for money and was well positioned for local amenities. We would be happy to make a second visit.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Manager at Langham Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Roger K,

Thank you very much for your review.

I am ever so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our facilities and service to be of great value and comfort. We hope to welcome you all again soon,

With kind regards,

Simon Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    130
    48
    17
    7
See reviews for
95
204
27
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband & I stayed at The Langham in March, we had a nice room with a sea view (would recommend a room with a sea view as some friends had views at the rear of the hotel & didn't have such a good room or view). The breakfasts were very good (great selection to choose from) and the staff were very polite & helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Manager at Langham Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Jacqueline S,
Thank you ever so much for your review.

I am really pleased you enjoyed your room and also the magnificent view of Eastbourne's seafront. It is a shame we could not also accommodate your friends to the same standard and hope that on a future occasion this will be quite different.

With kind regards,

Simon Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Excellent experience. Very well trained staff and comfortable rooms.
Lovely to be able to see the sea from the dining room and also from some bedrooms- if requested.

The lounges are comfortable and accomodation is made for private parties.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Manager at Langham Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Jean G,

Thank you very much for your glowing report. We hope to see you again soon.

With kind regards,
Simon Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had booked an Easter break in Eastbourne with Travelstyle staying at the Fairlands Hotel, but after a traumatic first night we moved hotel and managed to book into The Langham. When I rang them they had only one standard room left at £72 per night including breakfast. we could have phoned round (thank the lord for smartphones) to find a cheaper hotel but decided to book this one. I explained to them what had happened and was told to come straight away and they would look after us. This was about 9.00am and the room wouldn't be ready til 2.30pm they offered us breakfast and coffee and offered to store our luggage. We then went to the shopping area as it would be closed on the Easter Sunday We had a very enjoyable tea at the Victorian tea rooms on the Pier and then went back to the Langham at about 2.00pm. Not only was our room ready but our bags were taken to our room.
Not the biggest of rooms but larger than at Fairlands, clean, bright decor, high ceilings fab bathroom with bath and shower over with ample hot water.
As it was very cold we decided to eat in the hotel's restaurant and booked a table. We ate a very nice meal 2 course for £13.50. Afterwards we went to the bar where the entertainme,nt was a man singing and playing the organ a few were dancing.,
Breakfast was served in the conservatory on the front of the hotel overlooking the beach - cooked to order no self service.

We then took the bus to Brighton as we had missed the Travelstyle day trip the day before. You get the 12 or 12A from the pier and get a £10 family daysaver to get on and off buses day. I am told that you can use a pensioner pass on this bus but alas do not qualify yet.
All in all a great stay at the Langham, nice room lovely staff who couldn't do enough,would definitley go there again if in the area.,Oh forgot to mention free WIFI.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 102 on the first floor overlooking the back of the hotel - overlooking houses had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Manager at Langham Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Dame279,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your review. I am delighted that we had the opportunity to save your lives (a first for us by the way!) and that you found our facilities and service of great comfort during your stay in Eastbourne. Please do return when you are next visiting Eastbourne.

With kind regards,
Simon Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Having visited this hotel over the Easter Weekend and our first visit to Eastbourne I can honestly say we had a fantastic time. The hotel staff are polite, helpful and could not be faulted. The hotel is clean and comfortable. We stayed in room 116 which overlooked the sea and was very comfortable with a double bed and new bathroom suite which consisted of a walk in shower. The price is reasonable for a 3 star hotel and we would certainly recommend a visit.

Room Tip: De Luxe Sea View room recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Manager at Langham Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear K F,

Thank you very much for sharing your Eastbourne experience and also for your high recommendation. We are very proud of our product and I am delighted to read of your great experience.

With kind regards,
Simon Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We organised a party at the hotel, stayed overnight and enjoyed breakfast and the Jazz Lunch on Easter Sunday. The staff, without exception were efficient, friendly and very helpful. Our bedroom was beautifully decorated, with a lovely shower room and seaview. The hotel offers excellent service, location and food at good prices and nothing is too much trouble. We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Manager at Langham Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Karen P,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with our audience. I am delighted you all celebrated in good style and that you thoroughly enjoyed our ambiance and facilities. I have a top team to work with here and I am very grateful to you for acknowledging them so kindly. We cannot wait to welcome you back!
Kindest regards,
Simon Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We only stayed overnight after attending a party in the hotel. Excellent location right on the front. Lovely seaview room. Newly decorated and nice and clean. Plenty of staff on duty. I would certainly return again for a longer stay. My only criticism would be the cost of the breakfast (which was included in our stay, so it wasn't an issue). The cost of a full-English breakfast was almost £10 and the portion was very small, which made it worse because it was served on an oblong plate. Only one rasher of bacon. However, it was well cooked and piping hot but I would have preferred to have seen more of it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Manager at Langham Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Jean9618,
Thank you very much for your review. I am very pleased you had a great stay attending the party. I'm sorry we did not get your breakfast quite right but when you do next return we will give you more portions, I promise! Hope to see you again soon.

warm regards,

Simon Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Langham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Hotel

Address: 43 - 49 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Langham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Langham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langham Hotel Eastbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langham Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.