We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Travelzoo gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne to your Saves list
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27-29 Carlisle Road, Eastbourne BN21 4JR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Eastbourne
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unexpected Travelzoo gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

We arrived to a very warm welcome by Hugh at a very smart reception desk. The lounges and bedrooms were somewhat reminiscent of seaside guesthouses from my childhood but everywhere was spotless and service throughout was brilliant. The dining room was a real surprise, with modern furniture and beautifully laid tables. The food too was far superior to 'seaside guesthouse' expectations - beautifully presented and tasty. Nothing was lacking at breakfast time - it would have been difficult to find anything missing from the extensive menu.
For my husband, the final icing on the cake was the speaker/charger for his iphone in the bedroom so we could both hear his music/podcasts.
It was a refreshing change to visit a privately run hotel - the fact that they're still in business after 10 years running it indicates that Joanne and her team are getting it right. We hope to return.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    53
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
110
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yelverton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Ideal location for theatre,shops,seafront.etc friendly staff, good food,
Lovely suite on second floor (Wilmington suite) I would have given five stars all round but our DVD player was faulty but hey! not the end of the world
Will go back again
Mark and dawn

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We arrived at the hotel in the afternoon and were given a good welcome from reception. We were right opposite the Towner Gallery so visited there. Our room was just beautiful, overlooking the gardens, with a huge bed. We paid an extra 20.00 for that, but I think it was worth it, although we haven't seen a standard room as yet. The meal was fantastic and afterwards we went to the bar where we had a very pleasant evening. We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the garden was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranleigh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

The Devonshire Park hotel is a lovely hotel. It is clean and spacious. The staff are friendly and helpful. The food is very good and the breakfast is excellent. The hotel is ideally positioned being a very short walk from the sea front with it's busy prom and pier. The shopping center is also a short walk away with a great selection of cafes/ restaurants and the theaters are right there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed two nights on a Travelzoo deal. Good location, 2 minutes walk to the front at Eastbourne and right across the road from the Tennis Centre. Our room was large and clean with kettle for tea/coffee making, hairdryer, iron and ironing board provided. The shower could have been a bit more powerful but that would be our only criticism. Dinner was excellent value and drinks from the bar reasonably priced. Good and friendly service.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I have just returned from having enjoyed the umpteenth holiday in this exceptionally comfortable and welcoming hotel. In fact I extended my stay this time to take full advantage of the first class hospitality at all levels. The food is of a very very high standard, and much too good to stop one from over indulging
. The hotel has three " lounge " areas which give good choice where to spend a relaxing hour or two , either in the library or the traditional sitting room , large comfy settees and arm chairs. Also , if you feel inclined the bar is equally comfortable and spacious to sit and enjoy after dinner coffee and naughty chocolates.
If you feel you just want to spend time in an armchair in your room OR suite the library holds an extensive selection of DVD,s books and board games for your entertainment at no charge whatsoever. No high rate film rentals in this establishment. There is a computer at you disposal should you wish to " surf the net " if you have not brought your own ipad , laptop etc.
The guest is priority in this hotel , the staff always to help at all times. I always feel totally at home here and in fact extended my stay to almost double .

Room Tip: There are two suites at garden level to enjoy sitting in the sunshine in your own private little hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

My husband and I spent one night here last week and were so fortunate in having two beautiful sunny days which made Eastbourne sparkle. We were on a Travelzoo deal and were provided with service and facilities well above average for the price we paid. Our room was large and spotless as was the bathroom with large fluffy white towels. As has been said previously the tray facilities provided in the room were excellent. We had a superb dinner chosen from the main hotel menu and an enormous breakfast both served by a charming Spanish waitress. The staff were very helpful in giving us details of buses. The sea front is less than a five minute walk and as we had travelled by train it was an easy 10 minute walk from the railway station. The hotel has delightful lounge facilities - all in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne

Address: 27-29 Carlisle Road, Eastbourne BN21 4JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#8 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#8 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious rooms, quiet lounges, modern facilities and a delectable restaurant; the Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne combines a Victorian seaside holiday with Sussex Country Hotel luxury. Its boutique size, handsome rooms and knowledgeable staff make for a cordial and relaxing stay, and its location is ideal for exploring the seafront, the Sussex Downs and local towns of Battle, Rye, Hastings and Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Park Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.