We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An honest review of the hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne to your Saves list
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27-29 Carlisle Road, Eastbourne BN21 4JR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Eastbourne
Bucks.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“An honest review of the hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Devonshire Park is a comfortable, traditional English hotel. The food is very good and staff attentive yet not intrusive. There are three public rooms tastefully furnished. Bedrooms are clean and fresh and serviced daily. The hotel is close to the seafront and in a most excellent position for the Eastbourne theatres. A walk to the main shopping area and to the railway station would take approx ten minutes.
This is my second time at this hotel and would return should I visit this area in the future. Room 5 is quiet and front facing on ground floor.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    53
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
110
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Stayed on business trip and found the hotel well located, good food and excellent staff. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Nicely located in a quiet area just back from the front, with comfy lounges and good sized rooms. Breakfasts are exceptional with a vast range of choice. One niggle - the shower was a bit ancient and the mixer was unreliable but that is all that there was negative to say.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

As lovers of foreign holidays, we only booked this hotel as we were there for the Airbourne show. What a pleasant surprise we had!
Myself, my partner (he's the fighter jet enthusiast) and my 16 year old son stayed there.
The hotel is only 2 minutes walk from the seafront and it's nice and quiet away from the hustle and bustle. We paid £65 per person per night.
We had a large bedroom with a queen size bed, bed side tables, table with mirror and wall mounted flat screen tv, a sunny patio with table and chairs. We also had a living room with kettle, bottled water, tea, coffee, hot choccie, biccies, wardrobe, 2 armchairs, table, ironing board and wall mounted flat screen tv. The bathroom had a full size bath, wall mounted and tap attached showers in the bath with shower curtain, sink, loo and shelf. There were full size shower gels and body lotions and big fluffy towels.
Everything was really clean and welcoming.
My son had his own room with double bed, table, wall mounted tv, walk in shower and full size gel and body lotion.
The hotel was a victorian building full of character. Creaky floorboards, thick carpets, high ceilings with architraves and huge ceiling roses. There were 2 lounges, one with a bar, both had nice comfy chairs and framed posters of Eastbourne in its bygone era. Also an electric baby grand piano. We paid around £4 for a Southern Comfort and lemonade and around £3 for a pint of beer.
We had b&b. The restaurant was in the basement. Very bright and airy. Waiter and waitresses attentive and pleasant. Good choice of fruit, cereal, juice, pastries, plus full cooked brekkie. Yum!
I perused the evening meal menu but it was a bit pretentious and pricey for our tastes. Sounded nice though.
Reception staff were absolutely lovely. One guy in particular was so happy and full of bounce he made us smile. He seemed to work really long hours and in the nights it was just him on duty doing a dozen things in one go. We nicknamed him Martin Lawrence coz he reminded us of the actor in the 3 Amigos!
The weather was absolutely gorgeous. So much so we were headed home and decided to book another night! We had the same room (Saffron Suite) and my son had a first floor room. This time he had a huge room big enough for 4 people with a huge bay window and armchairs and table. (Room 19).
We were sorry to leave and could have happily spent a fortnight there.
We've already said we'd like to stay there for the airshow next year. They will phone us in January to confirm the dates.
Thank you Devonshire Park Hotel for reminding me how lucky we are to live in Britain.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

I can echo most of the favourable comments of the previous reviewers:

- Great service
- Good food
- Comfortable large room
- Free wifi
- Great lounges
- Good location
- Good view from bedroom over park

If I was going to quibble there were three small problems:

- Car park a bit tight - and cannot cope with a full hotel.
- My room (27) was very warm and made sleeping a little uncomfortable despite it being cool during my stay - and window left fully open day and night.
- The bedside alarm was actually a 3 in 1 ipod dock, DAB radio and alarm - but wasn't intuitively obvious to operate and had no instructions so it was effectively useless.

Room Tip: Try to avoid room 27 if you don't want to be overheating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Spent two nights at the hotel with my cricket team and they all said the same about this hotel "Great staff at the recieption who are the most helpful in the world" the owner of this hotel should note how hard working these members of staff are. The rooms were clean tidy and a good size, breakfast was hot with plenty of choice and no EU workers who could not speak english. Will come back again soon :)

Room Tip: My room was room 16 no bath but for a quite nights sleep and big leather sofa in room ask for this r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We have just returned from a wonderful 5 day break in this fabulous gem of a hotel.
It could not have been nicer. The staff are uniformly excellent - professional, helpful and caring. The hotel is very welcoming and friendly. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were all first class. The beds are extremely comfortable and the facilities lack for nothing. Splendidly situated, a stone's throw from the front, Devonshire Park and the theatres, we cannot praise this hotel highly enough. Just don't tell everyone - or we'll never be able to book a room again. Superb in every way!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne

Address: 27-29 Carlisle Road, Eastbourne BN21 4JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#8 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#8 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious rooms, quiet lounges, modern facilities and a delectable restaurant; the Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne combines a Victorian seaside holiday with Sussex Country Hotel luxury. Its boutique size, handsome rooms and knowledgeable staff make for a cordial and relaxing stay, and its location is ideal for exploring the seafront, the Sussex Downs and local towns of Battle, Rye, Hastings and Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Park Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.