We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Friendly Hotel in a good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parkview Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Parkview Hotel to your Saves list
Parkview Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   8 Wilmington Gardens, Eastbourne BN21 4JN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 73 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Clean and Friendly Hotel in a good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We only stayed one night but Alex and Helen were very friendly and helpful. Its in a good spot, not far from the bandstand and just a little longer from the main town but there are plenty of local restaurants and shops to the hotel itself. A ten minute stroll and you are at the pier. Parking was easy outside the front of the hotel which was private. The room was clean and more than adequate for our stay. The bed was very comfortable. En suite very clean and loads of hot water with some nice toiletries thrown in. Breakfast was superb with a great choice and plenty of it. My wife had the full English which she could not finish and I had the eggs royale with smoked salmon, very nice. Excellent value for money, you cannot go wrong.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    20
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
11
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in room 9 a lovely family room overlooking the park behind the hotel.Friendly welcome & perfectly placed opposite the congress theatre & 50yards from the beach. I have stayed at many hotels in Eastbourne but the breakfast at the Parkview has to be the best lovely selection of cereals,fruit salad yoghurts etc & then tasty fried breakfast...The owners Alex & Helen make the extra effort to make you feel at home during your stay....oh yes free car parking too...not often found in Eastbourne.

Room Tip: If you are a family choose room 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is a lovely little hotel. My first praise goes to cleanlieness. This hotel is spotless!
Didn't spend much time at the hotel (because it is so conveniently located (opposite tennis courts/ winter gardens) but the owner was very warm and friendly. There is parking on site and the other plus was the breakfast. Fresh fruit salad, kippers, and the option of smoked salmon with eggs etc was a nice touch. Of course there were they cereals and croissants etc. etc.. and service was great. I did think the single room at £50 was a tad high, but I am not sure how that compares with other hotels, but the 72 steps to the attic were a plus for cardio vascular work out :-) I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brummy in Brum UK
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is the first time I have stayed in a small seaside hotel, and I must say I was very pleasantly surprised. The owners were very welcoming and friendly. On the ground floor there is a small lounge and breakfast room. I stayed in room 5, this room looked like it had been recently decorated, was clean, with a very comfortable bed. Wifi was available in the room and there was tea and coffee and a small fridge. The tv had a good selection of channels and looked new. Now for the best bit, the breakfast. There is a selection of fruit, cereals, croissants, and fruit juice to help yourself too. The owner cooks one of the best full breakfast I have had. Unlike what you can get with mass catering in a larger hotel, this was freshly cooked from good ingredients. I will definitely stay here again when I next visit Eastbourne.

Room Tip: Room 5 is located at the rear with views over a green, nice and quiet good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Having stayed several times a this hotel I would recommend it any one .The rooms we,re clean and comfortable.The Host,Alex very amenable.Breakfast very good with a variety of choice and plenty of coffee.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Me and a friend stayed last Saturday to Sunday. Free parking in site ,The room was comfortable the bathroom immaculate and the breakfast and service second to non ;) location good and a warm welcome. Would come again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times, which speaks for itself. This is a B&B so there's nothing grand or fancy about it, but most of the rooms are of a reasonable size, the bed is comfy and the shower works well. That's enough for me, but there's more. The hosts are very friendly and the breakfast is excellent with a choice of various cold items - even had strawberries and cream last time I stayed - in addition to the famous full English cooked breakfast.
The location is excellent. It is a minute from the sea, 10 minutes walk from the station and main shopping area, near several restaurants, and opposite a theatre and the tennis courts where an international event is held the week before Wimbledon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexanderhelen, Owner at Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Ok, Barry,
Glad to see a review from you , we have been able to upgrade our televisions,and slowly are progressing as is financially possible to upgrade the rooms,Internet is free as is car-parking and my breakfast menu has been updated to include eggs Royale!,, and fresh fruit salad.continental with cold meats and brioch or croisants. Chips, black pudding, fried bread to those who wish is available., Thanks and will accomodate you again in June. best wishes,

Helen & Alex.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkview Hotel

Address: 8 Wilmington Gardens, Eastbourne BN21 4JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Parkview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opposite the congress theatre, the Towner art gallery, and winter gardens, nearest to the Devonshire tennis courts, also very near to Darley road, Brighton universities. Parkview has its own private car-park for 9 cars, Victorian and traditional decor, all rooms en-suite, access to internet in all rooms ,free.....also a lift, Within walking distance from the centre and the sea-side, room service available for breakfast. Full English breakfasts, also smoked salmon with poached eggs and Hollandaise sauce, if you like, and continental, cheeses, cold meats, jams and English honey. Breakfast from 7.30-9.30 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.