We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Eastbourne - I would definately visit again.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of East Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added East Beach Hotel to your Saves list
East Beach Hotel
23-25 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AN, England (Formerly Weyanoke Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in Eastbourne
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Eastbourne - I would definately visit again.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

My partner and I booked a hotel in Eastbourne through Bookings.com for a Friday and Saturday night because we had been invited to a wedding. A few weeks before the wedding we had a call saying the hotel we had originally booked had been overbooked and so they were moving us to the East Beach. At first I felt a bit put out because I started wondering if the East Beach would be as good as the place we originally had booked. But they agreed to honour the price we booked the original hotel for and so we thought we'd give it a try and see.
When we got to Eastbourne we drove past the hotel we had originally booked and it did look a bit of a dump from the outside, but when we got to the East Beach it looked really nice from the outside and made us feel quite pleased to have been moved. The welcome we got from the lady on reception was really friendly and when we got in our room we were pleasantly surprised.
The room was very clean and the en-suite bathroom floor was really shiny like it had just been polished. There was a small tv and a dvd player, although we didn't use the dvd player at all and only used the tv a little bit. The bed was very comfy and a good size, although it was too single beds pushed together rather than one double bed. We did have to walk through the dining room to get to our room but that wasn't too much of a problem.
We didn't eat dinner in the hotel, but we had breakfast on both days and it was very nice. Full English with toast, tea/coffee and juice and cereal if you wanted it. I couldn't fault the breakfast or any of the staff who we spoke to whilst we stayed, everyone was very accomodating. There was entertainment in the hotel bar on both nights we were there, but we didn't stay to wach it as the town centre was only a ten minute walk away and most pubs and bars were open til 2am.
In general the weekend was really good, and we were both really pleased of how it had turned out with us being moved to the East Beach. We would definately stay at the East Beach again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    80
    50
    24
    28
See reviews for
25
128
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

The breakfast in this hotel is the worst offering I have ever experienced in over 30 years of travelling. The thing to cap it was the other guests ordering their dinner over breakfast as if it was something special. So, advise.....Upper grade room OK just don't bother to eat.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

When I read all the reviews on here I was thinking the worst, We were about to spend £300 on a place that sucked badly, But when we arrived we were welcomed by an older lady you by all standards was polite, welcoming and helpful. The main lobby needs some upgarding its not dirty its just dated....When we got to our room ( 28) we were pleasantly surprised it was spacious and had a balcony ( which men were actually working on ) but it really didnt bother us as they were gone by 4pm we had a jacuzzi and found the bathroom well done, althougyht little things like somewhere to put our toiletry bags would have been good, Also they only had plastic picnic cups for water which at the cost of the room i was surpised. We had breakfast and it screams BEd and breakfast its basic but very edible and quick, it was just ok. We did encounter one woman who could have been a bit better on the customer service as I would have been scared to complain but she was just didnt kiss butt to customers and I guess that was her way of doing it. Overall though if you do wanna go I cant talk for the other rooms but ours was nice..Although watch out the jacuzzi takes thirty mins to FILL!!! we found it funny and the fact its really not a jacuzzi just blows out water there are no jets,.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

How looks can be wrong. Looks great from the outside, the owner is very rude, had workmen outside our window, when we asked how long they would be there for, were told if you dont like it close the curtains, Breakfast was very poor, the cheapest food available, would never stay here again, Checked out and went to another hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

Really unpleasant room - smelled, had old, chipped non-matching furniture. Was half of badly converted first floor room (could hear next door's snores!) Everything very sticky - not wiped down. "Bathroom" - shower with grouting turned yellow and loo (with macerator) - was where the "sea view" was - seen through a manky lace curtain on a rotting window frame. Shower pressure (through mouldy showerhead) almost non-existent. Half a roll of cheap loo paper provided. Breakfast was grotty - one cup of weird tasting coffee - no top ups offered - disgusting perfect oblong-shaped sausage (cheapest possible) and one rasher of v salty bacon. This was 3*, £70 thro Late Rooms so already paid for. We arrived late in rain or would have left immediately. Mind bogglingly bad,

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

we booked a double room,when we got there we were told that we had two single beds as thats all that was left, we walked into the room it was neat but small with very dirty windows, the carpet in the bedroom was dirty it needed a wash,The staff i found could of been a bit more polite to each other,

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to East Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Beach Hotel

Address: 23-25 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AN, England (Formerly Weyanoke Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your East Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Beach Eastbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.