We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give praise when its due” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hydro Hotel Eastbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hydro Hotel Eastbourne to your Saves list
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mount Road, Eastbourne BN20 7HZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 43 Hotels in Eastbourne
East Sussex
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Give praise when its due”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Many friends and acquaintances had spoken highly of this hotel, and we weren't disappointed on our first and certainly not the last visit!.
Yes it is a little staid, but what's wrong with an long established hotel that has identified its market and aims to meet and exceed those expectations.
The bedroom was of a good size, very clean, with super comfortable beds and the 'private facilities' were excellent with generous toiletries supplied.
The public rooms are very spacious, with plenty of comfortable seating and the dining rooms provide good sized and spaciously placed circular tables. Food for all meals was well presented, and well cooked. A small, almost insignificant comment would be that the table knives we had were a little on the blunt side when cutting even tender meat.
All the staff were well trained, polite and efficient without ever being obvious. Their attention to detail and requirements at table was first class

Room Tip: Pay a modest supplement to have an uninterrupted sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    113
    43
    22
    9
See reviews for
80
85
14
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CHELTENHAM
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

A good old fashioned traditional hotel. Excellent standards of cleanliness & service .Room (superior sea view) was clean & roomy with panoramic view of sea.
Food was wholesome & tasty with plenty of choice. Genteel atmosphere , tasteful décor.
We visited ten years ago & standards had not dropped at all.
Only thing I would point out is the overhead lighting in public areas & also the bedroom is a little stark & the ambience therefore could be a little cosier. Also no waiter service pre dinner.
However overall enjoyed our stay thoroughly & will stay again when in the area.
.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Nice clean hotel but definitely aimed at the older generation. Room was fine, no complaints at all, breakfast was pretty shoddy - full English had obviously been plated up and kept warm a fair while. We didn't have dinner as husband unwilling to wear the tie required. Definitely stuck in an earlier era, quite quaint really if you like that sort of thing and the clientele are, almost exclusively, very elderly.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Just had two nights at the Hydro in a party of 10 while attending the Rotary District 1120 Conference. All 10 agreed that dinner at the Hydro both nights was great food, and the service all weekend was quick, professional and friendly. Not a modern building, the floors do creak, but my only real complaint was the power saving lighting which was not sufficient to read at night. Large lounge area, all well furnished. Clean and well maintained. Small car park, but plenty of unrestricted on-street parking.

We have stayed at the Hydro several times, and always recommend that we return to the Hydro, never been disappointed yet.

Not a cheap hotel, but we will be back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

A well run hotel with pleasant rooms and excellent restaurant service
You may be put off by the location on a hill but the hotel is the best value for money of all the hotels I have stayed at in Eastbourne over the last 6 months

The food in the restaurant which ever meal is excellent as is the attentive and personal service from the waiting staff

Meals are cooked fresh and brought to your table

I would recommend the hotel for the food alone
Its very good

Room Tip: The sea view is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I recently spent three days two nights at the hydro hotel Eastbourne. I found the hotel reception area very comfortable clean and uncluttered, The staff were on hand to help and my case was taken to my room straight away. Parking was easy with problem and a short walk to the hotel. The evening meal was excellent with a good choice of starters, main course and sweet. The room was spacious with a comfortable bed and good bathroom and shower.
breakfast was buffet service for cereal fruit, etc. The cooked breakfast , of which the choice was wonderful was served at the table as was tea and coffee.
All in all a great stay

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

There is a wonderfully old fashioned style about this hotel, with the staff being more than efficient and polite.
We were a party of twenty, holding a yearly re-union and the management even provided a separate dining room for our dinner on Saturday evening. The food and wine were excellent and the service was 'second to none'.
The bedroom my wife and I shared had a sea view and overlooked the Croquet Lawn. We had a huge 'king size' bed that was most comfortable.
The weather on Saturday afternoon was warm enough for us to swim in the heated outdoor pool, excellent!
We hope to have the opportunity to return at a future date

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hydro Hotel Eastbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hydro Hotel Eastbourne

Address: Mount Road, Eastbourne BN20 7HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 43 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hydro Hotel Eastbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hydro is Eastbourne's finest 3 star hotel. From its clifftop location, 121 feet above sea level, the hotel features magnificent views of the sea and the cliffs of Beachy Head. With 83 bedrooms, two restaurants and five function rooms, it is ideal for both business and leisure travellers. Plenty of free parking on site and surrounding the hotel, friendly and professional service, excellent cuisine, newly refurbished bedrooms and Wi-Fi included in the accommodation rate. The Hydro is the perfect choice for your next stay in Eastbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Hydro Hotel Eastbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hydro Hotel Eastbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.