We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Overnight.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cavendish Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cavendish Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cavendish Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4DH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 41 hotels in Eastbourne
West Sussex
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Weekend Overnight.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed here after booking at the last minute however we manged to get a large room, admittedly with a car park view but it was clean, well stocked with biscuits and toiletries and we had a good nights sleep. At breakfast we were given a sea-view and advised to avoid the post 9am rush. Didn't use the bar next door but found location to be perfect to explore area. Car Park is under the archway, don't drive around 3 times like we did.

Room Tip: 133, 233 etc seemed to be larger and at the back off the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    246
    215
    64
    20
    14
See reviews for
76
258
27
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Cavendish is a beautiful old hotel very cleverly modernised four years ago marrying the traditional grandeur of this iconic old lady with comfortable modern light spaces.
Great service, excellent bar food and amazing cooked breakfast in bed for a mere £3 extra!

Room Tip: Obviously sea views are the best but we had a corner room with a partial seaview at no extra cost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Having read some reviews I was not too sure what to expect. How this hotel got anything lower than a 4 star rating is a mystery to me.

We were part of a 50+ group and and the service that we received was second to none.

The hotel sits on the seafront with affordable parking both on the hotel premises and in parking bays outside on the street.

The staff were very helpful both on reception as well as in the bar and restarant. The drinks were very reasonably priced and the food was absolutely superb.

Our bedroom was huge and it had a very spacious modern en suite.

The hotel proved to play a major factor in what was a fantastic weekend

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

An excellent holiday, both as a single during the week and when joined by friends at the weekend.
Nothing is too much trouble for the staff who work hard and give friendly help and good service. The food is excellent and lots of it every time, from breakfasts, bar snacks, evening meals and corporate.It has the best function room for dinner and dancing I have ever been to. Self contained, it is elegant, comfortable with a lovely permanent dance floor area that is seperate and left those at the tables able to talk comfortably whilst still enjoying watching the dancing. This room is not as often happens, a converted space set up for the occasion. The dinning room and public areas are elegant and calm with good ambience.
I stayed in a corner rooom on the fourth floor with large windows, spectacular views,a double balcony and all comforts.Wonderful for waking up to super sunrises or seeing stunning sunsets.
Parking in the hotel grounds is no trouble during the week and plenty of extra space adjacent to the hotel or on the seafront at week ends,
A delightful seafront with very easy access to the town for shopping ,theatre, galleries, museums, the pier and sightseeing busses. All only minutes walk away.
Unreservedly recommended hotel for a that special getaway.

.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We have been coming to this hotel every time we visit Eastbourne. The room we had 407 had a great view of the sea and was of a good size. The staff are very helpful and the breakfast is substantial (great choice of the a la carte breakfast menu. The bar staff are friendly and very efficient. I think this is the best hotel in Eastbourne.
We will come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caterham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The Cavendish used to be our favourite Hotel in Eastbourne, but on this occasion we selected a "midweek break deal" but was disappointed.
Although we had a seaview room, the room was small, tired and lacked imagination in decoration and unfortunately the room was subject to an unsavory odour, we assume permeating from the carpet that looked unclean. It certainly did not match the 4 star rating we expected.
The staff were polite and helpful but it did take a long time for reception to answer our phone call when we had trouble closing the window.
Breakfast was good but I had a chipped cup and dirty spoon.
We hope that this is just a glitch as we thoroughly enjoyed our previous trips to the Cavendish.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Cavendish hotel is a very good three star standard or rather weak four. The venue has great potential, it is presentable enough, with large bedrooms that could look stately with more imaginative decoration and decent furniture.

As it is, our room was sparsely furnished with cheap MDF furniture that generally looked very dated. The bathroom was basic, though stocked with plenty of shampoos, soaps etc.

The room had a safe and tea-making facilities but no minibar or fridge.

Breakfast was the typical buffet fare, perhaps not up to the standard one would expect from a four star establishment. You can also have a la carte breakfast – this comes at £4.95 extra.

Dinner at the hotel’s Marina restaurant follows along the same theme: lots of unfulfilled potential. The food was tasty enough but served without any dressings or sauces: toast that came with my fishcake was bone dry and generally the main courses just cried for something extra. Yet the chef is clearly capable of great things for the prawn sauce that he hurriedly whipped up for my main course was just delicious and should really be served as an integral part of the meal. Very friendly staff in the restaurant.

Reception staff were very matter-of-fact and generally friendly enough.

Room Tip: May consider paying extra for room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Address: Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 41 hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cavendish Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian Hotel dating from 1873, offering modern comforts; business meeting facilities; restaurant; situated at the seashore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo and Despegar.com so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavendish Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.