We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cavendish Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cavendish Hotel to your Saves list
Cavendish Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4DH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“great hotel highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

stayed just the one Saturday night with my two children who loved the plushness of it 'very posh 'according to them . good size room with very big kingzize and single bed , beatiful egyptian cotton sheets I slept like a log . breakfast was very good, quality meats in a buffet style in the lovely dining room , location was very central right opposite beach and pier and 5-10 mins stroll to town. arriving on a Saturday paid the hotel 1 pound and this have parking all day before checking in , a great hotel will return

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    255
    82
    30
    18
See reviews for
102
325
37
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dartford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

wow this is a lovly place to stay the hotel is very nice clean good very good lay out have nice bar area also the food is 1st class the rooms are gr8 very big everything u need they bring extra tea ext just ask they bring it up for you the spa is gr8 small but can book it just for the 2 of you wich makes it extra special ! also the spa ladys are nice if you cant have coming dont they modif treatments for your need wich it gr8 ! view from room was good to ! a gr8 night way

Room Tip: all rooms look good but ask for sea view i did not but go one was wkd !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed overnight and can not fault the service and quality of the hotel from the start to the finish. The staff make you feel so welcome, the quality of the hotel and room was fantastic from clean and tidy to stylish and well done and the food was excellent.
Thank you for your service we will be back soon and recommended.

Room Tip: Suites are lovely, large and good price
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We helped our friends celebrate their 40th Wedding Anniversary by taking them out for afternoon tea at The Cavendish Hotel in Eastbourne. What a great time we had! The setting was superb and by booking in advance we had a bigger choice of where we sat to enjoy our treat. We opted for the Library which was quieter and more intimate. We each had two rounds of sandwiches (crusts removed, of course), one teacake, one fruit scone (with clotted cream and a selection of jams) and a slice of home-made fruit sponge. Not a crumb was left! The teapot and coffeepot were also re-filled as and when required. Fantastic value for money at £9.95 each. An added bonus was the hotel staff who helped make our outing even more enjoyable. Definitely excellent value for money and a real treat. Our friends definitely felt they celebrated their Ruby Wedding Anniversary in style!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Outside of the hotel looked worse for wear compared to others in the location, but the inside is amazingly furnished and more than makes up for it. My room was huge, comfortable and had all the extras I'd expect for the star rating of this hotel.
Downside was the bar dining experience. The staff were not rude, but definitely pre-occupied and I felt as though I had interrupted their conversations by wanting something to eat. Not an overly pleasant experience for a lone travelling lady and did make me choose an alternative dining arrangement on my second night because of it.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carshalton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed overnight for a visit to the Theatre. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The room was very comfortable with the breakfast being hot and plentiful. We left feeling we wished we could have stayed for longer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

It took 2 hours to get a jug of water sent to my room on the morning of my wedding, the room wasn't cleaned, came in after the wedding to dirty cups and an unmade bed. Staff rude to my elderly parents. My husband booked his parents in for 4 nights, we were told the bill was settled at time of booking but they took it two months later out of a different account without telling us. Awful, amateur customer service. They have taken no responsibility for anything that happened. I would rather sleep on a bench than stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Address: Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cavendish Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian Hotel dating from 1873, offering modern comforts; business meeting facilities; restaurant; situated at the seashore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavendish Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.