We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Wilmington Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added New Wilmington Hotel to your Saves list
New Wilmington Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 - 27 Compton Street, Eastbourne BN21 4DU, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Eastbourne
southampton
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“nice break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

we went on a short break ,great hotel near to town and all entertainment , hotel clean ,food very good ; excellent value. staff was helpful and friendly any requests were dealt with no fuss. i would recommend the hotel .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the New Wilmington after your stay. We are so glad your experience was a good one and will share the feedback with all our staff members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    101
    27
    4
    2
See reviews for
73
177
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
nibblesoflgw
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Only stayed for one night on B&B but was impressed by the excellent breakfast and friendly staff, comfortable pleasant bar and hotel seems to be well run and clean, excellent location for theatres and seafront, hope to return later this year.

Room Tip: standard plus room recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with others on TripAdvisor. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again. Remember to join our guest club, it's free and we reserve our best discounts for members only on special offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I recently stayed at the New Wilmington Hotel with my 81 yr old mother, for a short relax and break for us. On arrival, and after a friendly welcome and easy check in, my mum asked if the hotel had a walking stick that she could borrow. There was, and handed to her with a joke and a chuckle, all in good fun but more importantly put my mother at ease for the stay. Although we were on the third floor, we found our room exactly as I had asked for when I initially rang to book the hotel. It was clean, comfortable and as my mother said, 'home from home'. The only problem was the view from our window as we were at the back of the hotel, but I guess someone has to have the back rooms! Apart from all staff being very friendly, one waiter, struck us as being, for me, the most friendly, helpful, and cheerful waiter I believe I have ever encountered. Liam, thank you for helping to make our stay even more enjoyable.

So why was I refreshingly surprised? After being told that Eastborne is a place where mostly the more mature people tend to visit (as it's flat and easy to access most things) I found that the New Wilmington had a wide variety of clients from all different age groups, which changed my opinion of the place and Eastbourne itself. The 'Congress theatre is just over the road and we were lucky enough to catch a show.

The food was fab. The staff very friendly and helpful. The room was cosy! Would I stay again? Yes!

Room Tip: Our room didn't have a great view because it was situated at the back of the hotel. Room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Jane S

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are over the moon that you enjoyed your stay and have shared your comments with all hotel staff. Liam has been shown the review and sends his regards, he was delighted.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My cousin and I recently stayed at the New Wilmington Hotel and found the staff most welcoming and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. We had single rooms which although compact were a good size and spotlessly clean. Food was very good both for breakfast and dinner so all round a very enjoyable experience. I would definitely recommend the hotel and hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Lindy M

Thank you for your review. We will let the staff and the kitchen team know about your review.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cas Vegas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I along with our 4 month old son recently returned from a 3 night stay at the New Wilmington hotel. During our stay, we found every member of staff that we encountered (from front-of-house, to breakfast & housekeeping staff) were refreshingly friendly, helpful and always ensured our requests were dealt with efficiently which made our stay an enjoyable one.
We had to move rooms twice during our short stay due to a lack of information provided through the booking website we used (if you have a particular preference for double/twin and bath/shower configuration it may be worthwhile contacting the hotel directly prior to arrival as facilities vary between rooms). However, the moves were handled with as little fuss as possible and we really appreciated how our requests were accommodated during a particularly busy week of the summer holidays.
All three rooms we stayed in were immaculately clean and tastefully decorated. The rooms were a little too warm (not much that can be done about that during a heatwave) and beds were a little too soft & springy for me but that's just a personal preference. Breakfast was delicious; eggs cooked to perfection, full English for hubby and even catering for an awkward veggie like me! Location wise, the hotel is a short walk from the beach front and not far from the town centre so is an ideal place to explore from. Overall, our impression was extremely positive and we would be happy to return or recommend this hotel in future.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Cas_Sprite

Thank you so much for your review. Indeed, the problem with a lot of these booking sites is they do not have as much flexibility in what they offer as we do. We have to provide so many different options to cater for guests wanting walk in shower, shower over bath, first floor room etc. It is always best to check directly with the hotel, plus allocation to booking sites is usually to sell the last remaining rooms so options can be limited. I am glad our staff were able to get everything sorted for you and gave you a service good enough for you to take the time to review us.

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We secured our room on a special rate and paid around £50 on a bank holiday weekend so in terms of value for money, we can't complain. The breakfast was good considering it was included in the price, and the location of the hotel was good.

Overall, our experience was let down by the poor customer service. When we arrived, we waited over 10 minutes for a parking voucher while the lone receptionist was on what sounded like a personal call. I stood at the desk during his call, and he didn't even acknowledge me. The breakfast service was stuffy and slow. The one exception was the helpful lady at checkout. Customer service makes such a difference...

Our room was fine. Again, it's hard to complain given the price we paid. The room was clean, and just let down by the stale smell of smoke.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear jn117

Thank you for your review. It is a shame you have reviewed us almost 3 months after the last bank holiday weekend, as this makes it very difficult to handle your concerns about our receptionists customer service. Jon is our only male receptionist and very popular with guests, he may have met a regular customer so many times over the years that they have a catch up which sounds very familiar. If however you were not acknowledged then please accept our apologies, as we expect our staff to politely wrap up the call by explaining they have a guest to check in. We are sorry your experience was not 100% positive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham,Hampshire, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

From te very start of our stay we had an excellent experience! Very welcoming staff, superb room with en-suite shower room, all modern amenities wi-fi, flat screen TV, tea & coffee making facilities, beautiful decor throughout having had a recent refurbishment with very tasteful colours and quality furnishings and finish. The restaurant was superb, great food cooked to perfection and real fun service with a caring and empathetic staff. Big shout out to Waiter Liam for his fun attentive service and of course the Chef and other Staff Lyn on Recption and other duties. We would highly recommend this hotel ! Thank you from John & Soussan

Room Tip: Room 109 superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear John & Soussan

Thank you for your review. We are so glad you had a wonderful stay. Congratulations to you both, Lyn, Liam and Sue all send their regards and we hope to see you again sometime.

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to New Wilmington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Wilmington Hotel

Address: 25 - 27 Compton Street, Eastbourne BN21 4DU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — New Wilmington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The friendliest welcome in Eastbourne ... The New Wilmington is an AA 3-star hotel, close to Eastbourne’s seafront, town centre and theatres. Hotel facilities include: 40 en-suite bedrooms, including lift level and ground floor rooms; free, unrestricted on-street parking; secure garages; a private lounge and bar and an 80-seat restaurant serving traditional home-cooked dishes.The hotel provides regular entertainment in the evenings, including live music in the bar lounge up to 4 nights a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your New Wilmington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Wilmington Eastbourne
Hotel New Wilmington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Wilmington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.