We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Authentic French Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Exquis

Exquis
1 Pevensey Road, Eastbourne BN21 3HJ, England
01323 430885
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 316 Restaurants in Eastbourne
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic Authentic French Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is one of Eastbourne's little gems. It only has a small frontage and could easily be missed. However, it is always busy and you always need to book in advance, which shows it has built up a good reputation over the years.

The interior decor and atmosphere is typical of a French Bistro. The food was fantastic and is obviously prepared from scratch, featuring traditional French dishes. The pricing is amazing when you consider the quality of the food (£13.95 for 3 courses during the week) and the house wine is good quality and good value at £11 a bottle.

Would highly recommend a visit to this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    59
    8
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Don't miss out on this hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Excellent meal on Friday evening, will definitely return when next in Eastbourne, the food was exquisite and so reasonably priced and the waitress was lovely and did a great job whilst training a new french waitress who was also lovely. We are glad we saw through the facade and decor - don't judge a book by its cover, judge it by its content, you wont be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great french cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We know it doesnt look great from the outside, and lets be honest not much better on the inside,but wow the food and very reasonably priced, if you fancy a good three course lunch, its the best in eastbourne for lunch.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent meal at exquisite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

I recently visited Exquis with a group of 13 ladies. We were all impressed with the menu & the excellent service we received.we particularly liked the food choices & that for once we were not over charged. The food was hot & well presented. I shall definitely be dining here again !

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent "2nd choice"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Staying a couple days with my daughter in Eastbourne wanted to take her out but we could not get a table where we had planned to eat, so my daughter suggested Exquis French Bistro she and my son in law had eaten there a few times and always enjoyed their meals, We chose from the 3 course menu at £16.95 including canapes and red house wine, 3 very pleasant waiting staff, although one had only started the day before and could not answer my question about an item on the menu and did not offer to find out, but this was not a "critical question" and so did not affect our enjoyment of the superb food. Will look forward to eating there again on my next visit to Eastbourne

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Exquis also viewed

Eastbourne, East Sussex
 

Been to Exquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Exquis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.