We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second To None.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oban

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Oban to your Saves list
Oban
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   King Edward's Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4DS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Eastbourne
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Second To None.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Review written on behalf of Mr and Mrs Lightley.
Fin and his excellent staff made our holiday the best we have ever had. Hotel has a happy atmosphere and great food with excellent service. Rooms were clean,comfortable and fresh. Fin was the perfect host, chatting with everyone with a smile and a warm greeting. Service in the restaurant was efficient and staff friendly. Theatre trip organised by Fin for our party, whoever wanted to go. Bar excellent and great entertainment and surrounded by three theatres.
We would definitely go back anytime.

Room Tip: Ground Floor room spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customerservices_obn, Guest Relations Manager at Oban, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments.
We are delighted that we made such an impression on you both
On behalf of all our staff - It was a pleasure to have been of service.
We would be equally delighted to see you both again so please do not hesitate to visit us soon

Until next time
Kindest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    36
    13
    8
    6
See reviews for
18
57
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I have been in the Hotel & Catering all my life and I have never experienced anything like this in what is described as an HOTEL
1) Pay for your booking in advance on your arrival ( £ 85 p.night)
2) You are given ONE key for the main entrance door to be used after 10.30 p.m because staff & management off duties....tough luck if you forget them in the room!!
3) Hardly anybody to be seen in the reception during the day
4) Lift not in use after 10.30 p.m to 8.00 a.m.
5) Our bed was not made untill 3.30 p.m
6) To be told by the manager ,after complaining, to leave the premises with a refund.
Sorry Tripadvisor you have to change the rating from this so called Hotel to a B&B.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a proper bathroom and shower and not like the one we were in with the basin in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customerservices_obn, Manager at Oban, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
We are always interested in what guests have to say about our hotel no matter how bemusing.

Payment - You are correct in saying payment is required in advance - We mention this in all our literature including our website

Keys – The Main front door to the hotel is closed at around 22:00hrs- 22.30hrs however 24hr access is available via the electronic door key which we provide to all our guests. We would certainly have assisted you with another key had you asked.

Staff – Had you rang the bell at reception any time during your stay, our duty manager or another member of staff would have answered you. Whilst staff may not always appear around a number of them are on duty 24hrs a day.

Lift – Lift is in service from 07:30hrs – 23:00hrs. These times are displayed in the lift itself, on the Landing floors and hotel literature which would have been in your room.

Service of rooms - Whilst you say your room was not serviced until 15:30 it was nevertheless serviced. Apologies if not done within the time you expected

Refund – At 21:30 the manager refunded you in full despite you having the full use of the room all day and evening even though there was no wrongdoing on our behalf.

Your dissatisfaction appears to stem from the fact that you consider yourself an authority on hotel management and ‘know’ how a ‘hotel’ should be run having been a bag porter for some many years.

We apologise for not having met your standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Although we only stayed for one night we were treated as valued guests, made very welcome. Our room was great, a really comfortable bed and lovely duvet and pillows.
Our breakfast was excellent, the poached eggs cooked just to our taste.
We used the bath, lovely hot water.
The staff were friendly and helpful, neither overbearing or slack. Their attitude just right.
Our friend stayed the week in the hotel while we all attended the Eastbourne Tennis Championships and the hotel kindly printed off the order of play each day for us.
We intend staying again next year.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms good. Inland room we had also good overlooking local shops and restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customerservices_obn, General Manager at Oban, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Janet
We are delighted to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us.
We are pleased that we made such an impression on you that you intend to stay with us again next year.We look forward to hearing from you and please feel free to contact us at any time.
Kindest Reagrds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights during the Eastbourne tennis tournament. All the staff took great care and time making our stay thoroughly enjoyable, nothing was too much trouble!

Location: perfect for all Eastbourne's attractions including: beach, pier, theatres, restaurants, shops (all less than 5 mins)

Room/bathroom: very clean and beds comfortable, tea/coffee facilities

Breakfast: Good choices, freshly cooked to order (perfectly cooked poached eggs!)

Lounge/Bar: Nice, comfortable setting (with huge TV!)

Parking: Just across the street (£1 a day voucher from reception)

Just to balance my review, a couple of things that could be improved: larger bath towels would have been nice, room decor and bedding is a little tired/dated.

Overall: Excellent Value, I would highly recommend it to anyone and I will be booking again next year.

Many thanks to staff and management for looking after us so well!

J Petchelco (room 16 - 22/06/13)

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have a prettier view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customerservices_obn, General Manager at Oban, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear J Petchelco
Thank you for taking the time in placing your review.

We like to think we offer value for money and are pleased when guests genuinely feel the same

There are a number of improvements in the pipeline for the not too distant future which we are confident all our guests will be pleased to see. Until we see you next year, thank you again and take care.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Before visiting friends England I discovered I had a couple of days to spare so decided to go and see the tennis at Eastbourne - and the Oban was the most convenient hotel available.
The hotel is in a great location, less than a ten minute walk from the town centre and right on the sea front. I had a rear facing room (this didn't concern me I grew up beside the sea and know what it looks like) but I suspect the views from the front of this hotel would be very good indeed.
The fact the bathroom was quite small and the plumbing a bit creaky didn't concern me much either - in my experience that's pretty much as standard in an older building. However beyond this I did think the room looked tired and in need of refreshment.
But everything was clean and the bed comfortable.The lounge/bar area of the hotel looked well and was relaxing. I enjoyed a decent breakfast and the staff were both friendly and efficient.
Overall would certainly stay here again if in Eastbourne.

Room Tip: If you want a good view remember to specify the front of the hotel when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customerservices_obn, Guest Relations Manager at Oban, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Strevor,

Thank you for your comments.
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us enough to want to return.
We certainly look forward to seeing you again. Please call us the next time you intend to stay in Eastbourne and we'll see what we can do in terms of reserving you a Sea View room.
Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Please do something about your website. This place was a nightmare but I do not see my review, ie hot water turned off at 10.30 am so now showers available. Turned on and waited an hour no apologies. Unspeakably terrible mattresses causing spinal problems. Rude management and staff. Terrible breakfast of two overcooked fried eggs and half a tomato. Would never recommend and never stay. Please look up my original review. It was clean and pleasant to look at. What hotel charges for left luggage at £10 per hour after 1 pm?!! Do your job tripadvisor. I do not recommend this place.

Room Tip: The double rooms are single size - if you like something poky - OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customerservices_obn, Guest Relations Manager at Oban, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Mr and Mrs Little,

Thank you for posting your review
We take all complaints seriously and are certainly concerned about the issues you have raised.
In answer to your complaint, please see below.

Hot water – Front Desk Manager had thought the Hot water system had failed having checked it we found all was well and sufficient levels of hot water throughout the hotel
Could the problem have been you were unfamiliar with the shower controls and didn’t set the heat levels appropriately?

Mattress – All our mattresses are medium to firm and for some this may not be to their liking.
We will certainly take on board your comment and should we receive any further comments we will look to replace the mattresses in question

Breakfast – It would appear whilst you now complain about the breakfast, we heard nothing from you about this until the day you left. Had you let the staff know as soon as you received your breakfast and we would certainly have replaced it to something more to your liking.

Rude Staff – We find this comment of yours quite surprising. Whilst we endeavour to please all our guests we know there are times when this is not achievable due to reasons beyond our control. Our staff will do all they can to remedy any justified problem or issue that arises from a guests dissatisfaction. However our staff are not at the guest’s disposal to be barked or insulted at. I can’t imagine any establishment accepting this manner of behaviour from a guest.

Whilst you were obviously frustrated at some aspects of your stay, we would have done everything we could to have remedied the situation had we been given the opportunity.

We are sorry we could not have assisted you more however, should you want to discuss the matter any further then please do not hesitate to contact me
Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The Royal British Legion Shawbury Womens department would like to thank all the staff at the Oban hotel for their excellent service during our visit. The food and service in the restaurant was excellent. The rooms were very clean and comfortable.We look forward to visiting again soon.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customerservices_obn, Front Office Manager at Oban, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Pauline,
It was certainly good to see you all again and a pleasure to be of service!
We were pleased that this year’s event was again a great success and look forward to seeing you all In 2015. Please pass on our best wishes to teveryone that visited. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oban

Address: King Edward's Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#9 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oban 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Oban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oban Hotel Eastbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oban, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.