We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Family Atmosphere - Great staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   King Edward's Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EE, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Moscow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Family Atmosphere - Great staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

I have been staying at the Lansdowne on and off for more than twenty years and it has been in the same family for generations. The proprietor, Mr. Edward Lewis, watches over the management with great care and is always attentive to his guests. His management staff are excellent. It is a pleasure to return. The restaurant is excellent and the wine list reasonably-priced and features some excellent French clarets I am surprised to read some of the negative reviews on this site and can only think that they are rather strange people who have written them. The hotel is well-known in the area as a place for business and other gatherings and I would recommend it to anyone who is civilised!

The spacious lounges are a great feature of the hotel: wonderful for taking afternoon tea or just relaxing!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    134
    50
    19
    8
See reviews for
60
136
30
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

We stayed at this hotel during a walking (without the aid of zimmer frames) weekend on the South Downs. The service of the staff was superb and the evening meal was outstanding; although the rooms may be a bit on the small side the Lansdowne has many different lounge areas to relax in. Don't be put off by the ageist remarks of other reviewers, there was a cross section of people staying at this hotel, including visitors from other European countries. People booking hotels in Eastbourne should know that the town in general targets a very specific type of market, and it does it very well. If you want a hen or stag party stay in brash Brighton and if you want something to complain about stay in horrible Hastings!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

Stayed here for two nights in a seaview and was not really impressed. Rooms are very small and when its hot the rooms are boiling, the only way to cool them is to have the windows fully opened which means it gets very noisy. On the plus side staff are friendly and helpful and breakfast is ok, overall it not very good value for £110 per night.

This is also definatly not a hotel for younger people as the average guest age must be 75-80!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2009

My husband and I still chuckle that my dad booked this hotel for us and members of our family for the two nights before and after our May wedding. It was an absolute disaster...we arrived to the smell of kippers and the sight of 10 zimmer frames lined up along the walls. My mother-in-law needed to park her car in the hotel carpark and was given a key and told by the disinterested reception staff to make her own way there. The carpark was under the hotel and had no lighting so after fumbling about in the dark for 10mins she came back and asked for help which was very begrudgingly given to her.
My bridesmaids' twin room was like something out of a '40s boarding house. Overheated, chintzy, miniscule beds and a poky bathroom might just have been acceptable if they weren't paying £80 each to share the horrible place.
The hotel didn't have a 'bridal suite' but they gave my husband and I a big chintzy seafront room - views were nice but the very elderly guests coughing all night through the paper-thin walls put paid to wedding excitement. The tiny little bathroom had slip-mats and safety rails everywhere - not particularly sexy. My mother-in-law's room was basically a cupboard, just enough room to climb in and out of the child-size bed.
When we arrived home from the wedding at about 2am, still dressed in our finery, we were greeted by a very angry night receptionist who tutted about the time as he let us in. Didn't ask us how the day had gone or congratulate us!
There are plenty of lounge rooms downstairs but every one featured between 5-10 walking sticks and zimmer frames and the kind of ugly high-backed, grease-stained chairs Father Jack from the comedy show 'Father Ted' would have been content in.
The chintzy, old-fashioned, swirly-carpet decor of the place would have been passable - it was the rudeness and terrible service that makes this an awful place to stay. The cost is unbelievable for what you get - I don't know how they get away with it! Please don't stay here - they made my wedding night so awful, I don't want them to keep taking people's money!!!

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clairepj, Sales Manager at BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2009
We were more than a little surprised to read the comments placed on the review site concerning your visit to this hotel in 2007!

The Best Western Lansdowne Hotel is marketed as a traditional, family run hotel and the rooms are decorated accordingly. We do not publicise ourselves as modern or trendy, as can clearly be seen from our various websites. With regard to the comment concerning noise from other guests, the building is 150 years old and therefore not purpose built and the walls will inevitably be rather thin.

With regard to the poor service you received at the time, we obviously belatedly offer our apologies. However, in the two years since your visit, there has been major refurbishment of the entire hotel and an enormous change in staff.

We must admit that we do not understand why you did not make your feelings known to the hotel management at the time and why, after two years have passed, you chose to comment on a review site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2008

I arrived and struggled to get into the building the doors didn't revolve and were too small for the suitcase.
I was hit by the smell of cabbage. The dining room at 6.30 was full of old people. Staff on reception weren't great a bit slow didn't give the confidence that they knew what they were doing. The rooms are small and very dated must be 30 years since they were decorated. I was surprised that in September the heating was not on in the room a call to reception solved the situation.
No internet access and digital tv.
Would I stay there again, definitely not.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harefield
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2008

My wife and I selected this hotel from previous reviews and we were not disappointed. Although three star, it had all the trappings of a four star in quality and service. Several hotels were fully booked with Rotary guests. The Landsdowne was similar, but non-rotarians were carefully shepherded away to other parts of the dining area and privacy was maintained. We found the staff particularly helpful anbd considerate from reception room staff and waiters; everyone was dedicated to ensuring that our stay was comfortable. Our room was spotlessly clean with an inland view, and I think when we return we shall opt for the sea view as the outlook was rather dingy, but 'pays yer money...'
We shall definitely be returning and commend this hotel as one for quality of service and value for money.

John & Josie: Harefield, London

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2008

A professional well-run hotel at the quieter more scenic end of town. Previous reviewers criticised the inland bedrooms and said how much better the sea view rooms were. But I deliberately chose an inland room as it was away from the road – I’m very noise-sensitive! Besides the tranquillity, an added bonus was that the room kept cooler, not getting a lot of sun, and was a good temperature to sleep in. (My companion had a lovely light spacious sea-view room but it was decidedly warmer.) The bed was very comfortable, I find a lot of hotel beds too hard but this one wasn’t. The room also had great details like blackout curtain linings, a variety of lighting, plenty of cupboard space, and attractive old furniture. The bathroom was a good size, very clean and well fitted out. The housekeeping was excellent and the hotel had a generally high standard of service. The lounges were gracious, with elegant decor with lots of comfortable furniture. I would be happy to return.

  • Liked — Scenic location. comfy bed, peaceful room
  • Disliked — Breakfast ending at 9.30 during the week and not at 10 like weekends
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel

Address: King Edward's Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#8 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Lansdowne Hotel is privately owned and has been in the same family ownership since 1912. It is this that has given the hotel a personal touch that is still very evident today. The Hotel occupies a premier position on the uncommercialised seafront overlooking the Western Lawns and Wish Tower with splendid views of Beachy Head and the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Eastbourne
Eastbourne Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.