We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN York House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN York House Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN York House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 - 22 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AP, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Eastbourne
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Our room was excellent best sleep we have had in a hotel for a long while. The facilities in our room was all that was needed and more. Food in restaurant was very good quality. We didn't use the swimming pool in the end but did have a look and it was more than adequate. It was lovely to be able to sit out on the verandah and watch the sea. Everything was very close and would definitely visit again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN York House Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I'm glad you had a good sleep - so important these days.

Thank you for your comments on our current Seasonal Menu as we have had a tremendous amount of positive feedback on it.

Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    323
    77
    32
    13
See reviews for
159
597
18
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Treated my girlfriend to at night this last weekend for valentines, complete surprise to her, had roses delivered and put on the room, beautiful sea view room spacious but not too big very clean, comfy beds very friendly welcoming staff who also very informative to the things around the hotel, food was really good and the breakfast was better to what we had when we stayed in a 4 star hotel in London. I feel this one should have more stars. Weekend couldn't of gone any better. Really reasonable, clean, friendly. Thank you guys for making it go so well. Will see you again soon

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN York House Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your review

I am glad that you had such a good time.

We noticed that you were in on a 'special' weekend and you were upgraded to one of our lovely new 4 posters.

Always mention if a special occasion because if we can do something special for you we will.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My wife and I took my mother inlaw and my brother inlaw away for a weekend. We have stayed in this hotel before and new the food was good. On arrival we were welcomed by Mark who was so helpfull, as my mother inlaw is getting on a bit we asked for rooms next to each other. This was no problem, and he kept checking to make sure everything was OK. We all enjoyed the weekend very much thanks to Mark.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN York House Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I'm glad that you had another good stay with us and I am glad my staff continued to look after you whilst I was away.

I look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent uk
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed there for two nights for a family party and it was brilliant. The staff were very helpful
And friendly. Our room had a lovely sea view, it was very big and comfortable. The hotel is right on the sea front and only minutes from the pier. The swimming pool was excellent for the adults and children in our party and it was really warm perfect for the babies. We had a meal on Friday evening and the food was excellent. There isn't anything that we could fault . Excellent

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN York House Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your review

I am glad that the family had a good time and you all enjoyed our pool.

It was nice to see a family gathering for that 'special' birthday

We look forward to welcoming you back another time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Having been given a hotel voucher as a gift, and discovering we had a very limited number of hotels at which it could be redeemed, within the area we were wishing to stay, York House looked like the best of the bunch.
Rooms here go from around £50, a little more for a sea view, and you would be hard pushed to find better value than this.
I have stayed at many hotels through my job,over the last 25 years, so I have a reasonable idea of what you get for your money.
As the hotel was quiet, we were upgraded to a sea view room with no supplement and without even having to ask. The room was spacious, tasteful, had a king size bed and a balcony!

We ate in the restaurant on both nights of our stay, and although it is more of a dining room really and perhaps lacking in a bit of atmosphere, the food was really good, (particlarly the sirloin steak) and the service excellent, unhurried and friendly.

We swam in the pool which was nicely empty and very warm. A sauna and steam room would make a big difference!

Nothing was any trouble for the staff, parking was easy right outside the hotel for £1 a day, and the location good, a 10 minute stroll into town.

Overall, at many hotels I would have expected to pay double what we did for the whole weekend. The York House has a nice relaxed feel about it, a bit of character, and we came away with the general feeling of superb value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN York House Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.

Glad to hear you had a great stay and thank you for recommending us

Our sea view rooms are great and as we are the quiet end of the seafront the noise of the sea is certainly relaxing.

Buyagift vouchers are a new way of booking for us and we have had many of these vouchers used with us already.

Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights and it was fantastic.
We got a beautiful see view room , very big and modern with a lovely en suite bathroom. The best we have been to in eastbourne so far. Brilliant location right at the sea front just minutes away from the pier and town centre.
We didnt use the pool as we were staying there in summer so there was fantastic weather outside.
Theres nothing bad I could say about this hotel at the moment.

Room Tip: See view rooms are fantastic if you like sea waves gently waking you up in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN York House Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review from your August stay

I know my staff appreciate it when they get it right and a customer takes the trouble to post a review.

We look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you are in Eastbourne and the Pool is always there just in case we don't have the sunshine.

We are oficially the sunniest place in the UK - did you know?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Very friendly hotel! All the staff went out of their way to make our stay as enjoyable as possible! Situated right on the sea front with only a five minute walk to the pier and 10-15 mins to the town center.
Eastborne was very quiet as the snow had hit so lots of things closed....but would be lovely in the summer! Would stay again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN York House Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and your kind comments reference my staff which has been duly passed on to them.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN York House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN York House Hotel

Address: 14 - 22 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN York House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Eastbourne seaside front and pier, this branded hotel offers comfortable rooms for all budgets.Fully licenced bar and restaurant are open every day.Conference, weddings and other events facilities are available.Reception and room service operate 24 hours.FREE WI FI in all areas. Parking: The hotel does not have a car park. If you secure 'seaside' parking please come into the hotel to obtain a hotel permit which is £1 until 11 am the following day. Alternatively on the side roads behind us parking is currently not chargeable and is free for the duration. Blue Badge Holders can park anywhere on the metered sections with no charges, no permit is required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN York House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York Hotel
Best Western Eastbourne
Eastbourne Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN York House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.