We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Valentine's treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belle Tout Lighthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastbourne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Belle Tout Lighthouse
Save
You added Belle Tout Lighthouse to your Saves list
Beachy Head, Eastbourne BN20 0AE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 75 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hemel Hempstead
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Valentine's treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had high expectations having read previous reviews, and we were not disappointed. Ian greeted us and made us feel so welcome. The room was really lovely - i could have spent the whole of our 3 days indoors! We arrived at just around 5 o'clock so went up to the lounge to have drinks and nibbles with the other guests. Ian showed us the lighthouse light room which is kitted out with comfy seats and binoculars for guests to use. The views from there are breathtaking. Our final day was Valentine's Day, and we were treated to heart shaped choccies and a bottle of fizz in our room. The breakfast tables were laid with rose petals and red roses in the vases. The breakfast was gorgeous - fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurts, etc. and expertly prepared cooked food. It was perfect in every way, and i would have loved to stay for more than 3 days - maybe next time...

Room Tip: The Old England is a lovely spacious room, with gorgeous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belletoutmanagement, Manager at Belle Tout Lighthouse, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Hi LynnHemelHempstead,
Thank you for your wonderful review. I am so glad both you and Shaun enjoyed your time with us. I think you experienced every weather possible while you were here apart from a raging storm! Maybe on your next visit?? It was a pleasure to host for you both and i do hope you return to stay with us again soon.
Kind Regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
253
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Zingem, Belgium
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My wife booked us three nights at the Belle Tout lighthouse as a surprise for my birthday, and what a surprise it was! The location, the rooms, the atmosphere, and of course: the breakfast - it was all excellent and perfect!
We were very heartily welcomed by Shirley, who showed us around, and were pleasantly surprised by the complimentary drink in the cosy lounge, which was a very good place to meet other guests.

The room (we had "New England") was very clean and although our room didn't have sea view, it was still great, with splendid views of the surrounding fields.

As written by others, the breakfast are more than a treat, with Ian doing a special every day - the flavours are great and the presentation superb.

The lighthouse is a good start for those who like walking, but with a city like Eastbourne very near (and others, like Brighton, easy to reach by car or bus), it's well suited for anyone who likes the sea- and countryside.

Thank to Ian and Shirley (and my wife, of course :)) for the perfect stay - we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belletoutmanagement, Manager at Belle Tout Lighthouse, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Hi Bjorn1976,
Thank you for your kind words. Both myself and Shirley really enjoyed hosting for you and I am so glad both you and Marleen enjoyed my breakfasts, especially pancake day!! If you find yourselves in the UK again soon and you would like the same experience we would love to see you again. Have a great 2013.
Regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights recently, superb location & our room New England was lovely.

Very warm & welcoming staff & the breakfast was plentiful & hearty.

The lounge area was very inviting with wonderful views both out to sea & inland, the added extra of complimentary drinks at 5 pm each evening made it all the more special.

Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belletoutmanagement, Manager at Belle Tout Lighthouse, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Hi Trishia B,
Thank you for your kind review. High praise indeed!! Perfect! I am so glad that you had a great time with us, we would love to see you again in the future!
Kindest Regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have just stayed 3 nights in Belle Tout and the whole experience was absolutely lovely,
The setting is wonderful ,our room Old England very warm and comfortable and very well thought out with proper bath and excellent shower,
A nice touch was. complimentary drinks at 5.00 which got everybody talking about their days experiences.
Excellent breakfast.wonderful building and great staff,what more could you want,

Room Tip: Old England is I think the only one with bath and shower. It has lovely views across the countryside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belletoutmanagement, Manager at Belle Tout Lighthouse, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Hi jimpatco,
Thank you so much for your wonderful trip advisor review!! You were both a pleasure to host for and I look forward to maybe seeing you again soon. Once again, many thanks!
Regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

An excellent bread and breakfast experience! The welcome was spot on, the rooms were all indidually decorated with views you would except from a landside lighthouse, i.e. some seawards, some coastal, some inland. The Breakfast/evening lounge area was superbly decorated, in keeping with the character of the location.
Breakfast - the range of options could not be faulted, from cereal to full english plus a daily special.
The chef/manager and his staff are to be complemented. We have already booked a return visit and are taking relations.

Local walks and places to visit galore. The local Thai restaurant is well worth a visit.

The view, in good weather from the "Light" floor superb. Lots of binoculars available and a sound system.

Room Tip: Ground floor ease of access for car park, steps to climb to breakfast room and observation tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belletoutmanagement, Manager at Belle Tout Lighthouse, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Hi spyder02,
Thank you for taking the time to post such a great review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your few days with us and would love to see you again in the future. Have a wonderful 2013.
Regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Set on lovely white cliffs of the seven sisters at Beachy head, these cliffs where used in the P&O adverts, Obviously P&O ports in Devon but the Chalk cliffs are not as white.
The light house is of high standard, the staff are very friendly and offer knowledge of places of interest and local info.
The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The breakfasts are lovely, they do a full English, a different special every morning, mix fruits, yogurts, muffins, cereal, juices, tea, coffee.
The views from the top of the light house are amazing, you can sit and relax up there, or you can sit in the lodge area where you can start up the log fire if you wish to.
A great stay and would go again.

Room Tip: We got to look around all the rooms, all are very high spec, the one that was tiny was the original...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belletoutmanagement, Manager at Belle Tout Lighthouse, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Hi AxleMaxwell,
Thank you for your kind review of our lighthouse. Here at the Belle Tout we pride ourselves on giving all of our guests the break from the hussle and bussle of everyday life they deserve. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, I'm glad you have taken some wonderful memories away with you and you are welcomed anytime you wish to return. Once again, many thanks.
Kindest Regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Over a 100+ excellent reviews tells the story I think ... Its been a while since we have been to a place where you felt so comfortable and so welcomed. I don't think you could call this just a hotel or b&b stay, its more of a romantic experience that you get in a scenic, full of charm lighthouse. What's immediately obvious is that this place is very well looked after with great decorations matching the theme. Its also very clean. The lounge areas are excellent and there's a fireplace that you get relax to in the evenings. All the rooms are themed as well, hence its good to have a look at the pics and see what you like. Additionally, the middle level rooms seem to have better views as well. We chose Shiraz and it was just as pretty and cosy as the views from it onto the coast and white cliffs.
A special mention here must be the hosts. Very chilled, relaxed and welcoming. Actually, its been a while that we felt more like house guests rather the hotel guests, free to roam around, explore, put on the music in the lounge, start the fire in the fireplace ...
It is hence not surprising that the breakfast was 5 star as well. You don't expect it from such a a small place, but Ian cooks the breakfast on the spot and its just great. Additionally, you get the continental buffet ( and this actually has some quality in it - not your standard b&b buffet).
It may be one of the most expensive of b&b's in the country, but its worth it all the way and it really needs to be highlighted that this establishment has managed to create a truly unique sense of experience, which these days is so difficult to find and master, and for that its a 5 stars all the way.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belletoutmanagement, Manager at Belle Tout Lighthouse, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Hi paul658,
A big thank you for such a perfect review. I think you have hit the nail on the head of what we are trying to achive here. Comfort, relaxation, romantic, peaceful, charming, scenic, pretty, cosy, chilled, welcoming, unique experience. These are the key points that we try to offer so thank you for recognising them. Have a wonderful 2013 and I hope we see you both again in the future.
Regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belle Tout Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle Tout Lighthouse

Address: Beachy Head, Eastbourne BN20 0AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Belle Tout Lighthouse at Beachy Head is a hotel with a difference. Built in 1832 and decommissioned in 1902, a tea-shop, a home, part-destroyed during the second world war and lovingly rebuilt in the 50's. Owned and filmed by the BBC, moved due to erosion - and now, beautifully restored and renovated.With 360 degree views of the English Channel, beautiful landscape, countryside and the enigmatic Seven Sisters, Belle Tout is a remarkable place to stay.With themed rooms such as 'The Captains Cabin', 'Old England' and 'Keepers Loft', the accommodation and facilities will ensure a comfortable and memorable break. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Belle Tout Lighthouse Hotel Eastbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belle Tout Lighthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.