We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value,excellent staff,David M” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel to your Saves list
Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel
26 - 34 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AN, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CLICK FOR GREAT DEALS
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Eastbourne
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good value,excellent staff,David M”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Hi,really good stay at end of May.Staff very helpful,good food,well situated Hotel.No need to
worry about putting on weight if you are on the third floor although lifts are available!!!

Overall, excellent value for the price.

Best Regards, David M

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Hi Asgoodascanbegreenfield. Thank you for posting your review. Pleased to hear the staff were helpful. Just for reference, the next time you stay and you find the room cold ask at reception and extra heating can be provided for your comfort. Thank you for posting your review and we look forward to welcoming you again on your next break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    129
    74
    38
    30
See reviews for
35
181
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Not expecting too much as very cheap holiday. Hotel was clean staff very friendly and food surprisingly good. Mainly elderly people on coach tours staying here but this proved to be a bonus as met some lonely people. Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and couldn't have asked for more even if it had been twice the price

Room Tip: Lots of stairs so request lower room if needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Hi Gerry D. Thank you for your 5 star review. Pleased to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your holiday. Good company can always make a stay more enjoyable so it is nice to hear you found some lovely people to chat to. Thank you for posting your review and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Just spent the weekend in this hotel ,the downstairs i.e reception,bar,and lounge great so you think your onto a winner here,then you open the door and climb the stairs what a differencei dont think its seen any paint for donkeys years and same goes with the carpet, we were on the first floor at the back of the hotel,our carpet looked as though it had been there for years faded and so badly soiled i had to buy slippers as i did not want to walk on it, the same goes for our window i dont think it has seen soap or water since its been built, also there was no nets and we had a house dead opposite looking in ,no privacy what so ever,but please the windows were filthfy, and it just made the room so unclean,but clean sheets and towels, and nice food and good entertainment.also our tv was so old the screen was the size of a postage stamp,we have been to most of the seafront

Room Tip: Dont go in to a back room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Hi Littleannie3.I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do have some older styled rooms and some really new modern rooms. We have a refurbishment programme for the rooms but unfortunately the room you were allocated would have been one of the older ones. On a positive note and I pleased you found the public rooms good. As all people use the public areas these areas were refurbished first in the programme. Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenfield
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights.
Staff helpful.
Room clean albeit cold.
Food Adequate and plentiful.
Drinks expensive in the extreme.
Entertainment poor.
On the whole a very pleasant stay and we have booked again.
Well done to the Staff who cared

Room Tip: Higher floors are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hi David M. Your heading is what we aim to be and I am pleased to hear on this occasion we succeeded. I will be sure to pass your comments to the team as I know they are always happy to hear from guests. Thank you for taking the time to share your review and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed at Majestic for 4 nights booked through shearing's had to pay a supplement for three bedded room asked for double or twin, tried to book over the phone no one answered said to call me back . Did not get back to me until next day then the price had gone up, On arrival given a room with three beds and OMG what a state a massive stain on the carpet looked as if someone had been sick and it had crusted over,( yuck,) bathroom in need of a good clean make over as did most of the hotel. went to reception for another room as I could not stay in that room, and a woman with a bad attitude said they had not got another room as the hotel was full and all other room came with a supplement and we could have a full refund for another hotel or go home I told her what a stupid statement as we did not know any other hotels or Eastbourne. she did find us another room a sea view to compensate i think she needs some training on how to speak to people don't know what her position was she did not have a name tag or a uniform. Bar area was ok as was the waiting staff in dining room, and Pete our driver was excellent very polite and very informative and a joy to travel with. I will think twice about traveling with shearing's I certainly will not go back to that hotel.

Room Tip: up dated rooms if you can get one
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hi David H thank you for taking the time to post your review. The lady in question was myself and I am sorry you felt I had a bad attitude, this was not my intention. I was trying to explain the situation to your wife at reception, as the hotel was full we could not move you and your wife to another room so the only alternative was to offer a refund rather than leave you in a room that you would not be happy staying in. We would have been more than happy to help you find alternative accommodation in Eastbourne if you did not know the local area. Fortunately we were able to offer an alternative by juggling the rooms around and changing the room type you had booked, your wife did come back to me later and thank me for my help so I am a little surprised to read your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

My 83 year old mother stayed here with a group of friends for four nights with National Holidays. Generally everything was ok, Room and food were fine and she enjoyed the entertainment but found the lifts very difficult to use and said they could have done with an overhaul! There was no remote control in the room which she did report to the receptionist but she never received one. All 4 ladies had paid for single rooms but these rooms were all only accessible by a set of 7 stairs which made access to the rooms difficult. They asked for help with their cases on the day they were leaving but the 2 receptionist were less than helpful saying no, you cant have any help, that would cost extra. My mums party did offer to leave a tip for help but they were still refused. Their attitude was very rude and upset the ladies. They will not be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Hi Sue4boo. I am pleased to hear your mother and her friends found the holiday in general good. All of our back facing single rooms are on mezzanine floors and therefore all of them have stairs. Although the lifts access all main floors they do access the mezzanine floors. As for the remote controls unfortunately they do go missing on a regular basis. We try and keep spares at the hotel but sometimes we do run out whilst waiting for new ones to be delivered. I apologise if your mother felt the reception staff were rude but generally reception staff try their utmost and as a rule are very good as you will see from previous reviews. Thank you for posting your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed 4 days/3 nights at Easter 2014 booked through Shearings. . Hotel in real need of some TLC. Bar area was fine, reception area fine, The lift in need of a good clean and lick of paint as are most of the doors. Room was adequate, althugh it was at the back of the Hotel, windows hard to shut, heating not good(,take a jumper to keep warm.) Dining area in the basement, not tablecloths on table, Food ok, could be a lot better, Chef's special was stew !! and full english breakfast nothing special.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajesticManager, General Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Hi WestMidlandsLadyBee. Sorry to hear you did not enjoy all aspects of your holiday. As the weather is getting warmer we do turn the heating down but if any of our guests are uncomfortable we are always happy to provide extra heaters in the room. We are constantly renewing and up grading our bedrooms and we have a refurbishment plan in place. At the present time we have refurbished 2 floors of our bedrooms and plan to do more in the coming year. Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel

Address: 26 - 34 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Eastbourne hotel’s views look out across Royal Parade towards the wide expanse of beach and the rippling sea. The Majestic Hotel is one of the best value hotels in Eastbourne and is situated in an ideal position to discover Eastbourne’s many attractions – within a few minutes’ walk of the bustling pier and picturesque Redoubt Gardens, and lying close to the heart of the town, this popular hotel is the perfect complement to Eastbourne, which has an air of tradition and charm. Taking a well earned break from sightseeing is easy at the Majestic Hotel – watch the world go by from the television lounge, or enjoy the terrace which is a perfect sun-trap. Alternatively you can have a refreshing drink at the bar... full of friendly faces, it offers a lively welcome to one of the South Coast's finest resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.