We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place - friendly and pretty.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bassets House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bassets House to your Saves list
Bassets House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   72 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 75 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place - friendly and pretty.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stayed here for two nights during a bank holiday weekend with my wife. We both had a fantastic experience - great breakfast, spacious clean rooms, very friendly and helpful owners. Very nice location - the pier in one direction, princes park in the other. Plenty of attractions and places to go for eating. If you want to be absolutely confident of a great place to stay during your visit to Eastbourne, look no further than this place -- Simon

Room Tip: We were shown all the rooms - we would have been happy to stay in any of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
54
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We came across this B and B last year by accident and thought it was lovely. We booked to stay again this year and found it was under new ownership. The new owners immediately made us feel like we were friends rather than guests.

The rooms are immaculately clean, cosy, light and beautifully decorated. The breakfast is the best you could get anywhere. The B and B overlooks the sea, our room had a balcony, what more would you need.

We frequently go to Eastbourne and from now on will only ever stay here.

Colin and Ann

Room Tip: Rooms 2, 4 and 6 are the BEST
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Mayo, Ireland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Bassets house a real Gem ..My family and I have just arrived back from a short trip to Eastbourne where we stayed at Basset's House.
This really is an exceptional place to stay and delivers far more to satisfy and stimulate the senses than merely a high quality B & B.
Catherine & Howard have created a very warm & welcoming home from home !!!!Every last detail has not only been meticulously carried through with care and charm but also with a stylish eye for what makes everything feel just so 'right'.
Do not miss out on this special place !

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view on booking as the views from the front facing bedrooms are simply spectacular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

I booked Bassets for mine and my wife's wedding anniversary and could not have been happier with this guest house or the owners, Howard and Cathy.
We were so happy to be met with a warm welcome and were encouraged to relax in the front lounge whilst reading the papers/a book.
Our room was very luxurious, spacious and the bathroom in particular was of such a high standard. This guest house is right on the seafront and benefits from stunning views as well.
Beautiful home and very friendly owners - can't wait to come back!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Bassets House is a beautiful,warm and extremely comfortable and welcoming place to stay.
Howard and Catherine are superb, not only genuinely friendly hosts but lovely people and make all guests feel relaxed and welcome as soon as you arrive until the time you leave.
Spotlesssly clean and beautifully furnished throughout,with luxuriously comfortable beds, it offers truly 5 star experience.
Howard and Catherine make the whole experience perfect, nothing is too much trouble for this kind, and genuine couple who really care for their guests in a way that is second to none in my experience, (Having stayed in quality hotels and accommadtion for business for many years this is praise indeed}
I would warmly recommend to all who are looking for the very best accomadation and looking for a truly relaxing stay, lovely hosts and a perfect position on the seafront in this beautiful town, it also offers amazing value for money.
Breakfast is lovely, food is superb and all guests are welcomed and made to feel like old friends.
Those who stay here will always want to come back, as the other reviewers say book early as places like this are very hard to find,

Room Tip: All rooms are beutifully furnished and extremely clean and comfortable. Best views are from rooms 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solothurn, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We spent a week over Easter 2014 in this guesthouse.
It was the third time we came here and we remembered the high standard before December 2013 and we can still highly recommend it!
The new owners, Howard and Catherine, are very charming, friendly and helpful and they let us feel at home at once. Nothing is too much for them to help and support, whatever you need. The breakfast is excellent and you can choose every morning what you want.
The rooms are beautiful. We had room 4 and room 6 ( which used to be 7) with the best seaview we ever had. The whole house is absolutely clean and tidy.
Whenever we are able to come back to Eastbourne we will return to Bassets House: no other B&B will do!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Howard and Catherine have only recently taken over this lovely sea front hotel just outside the main town some 10 minutes away. We were welcomed warmly on arrival. There were 10 of us on a weekend away. All bedrooms first class with excellent en suite's. Breakfast tested Howard but he rose to the occassion. Both are superb hosts and Catherine joined in the banter with grace. Go there as when word gets out about this gem it will be hard to get booked.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bassets House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bassets House

Address: 72 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bassets House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent privately owned Bed & Breakfast Guesthouse situated to the east of the pier with direct access to the promenade and view of the beach and shoreline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Bassets House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bassets House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.