We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend break” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Burlington Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bay Burlington Hotel to your Saves list
Bay Burlington Hotel
26-34 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN21 3YN, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CLICK FOR GREAT DEALS
Ranked #26 of 43 Hotels in Eastbourne
Birchington, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Weekend break”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

A couple of days before staying at this hotel we read some reviews on it, and were a bit concerned about staying there. On arrival the outside of the hotel looked shabby but we were surprised by how nice our bedroom was, very bright and nicely decorated. It was a shame about the cracked sink in the bathroom, the non matching toilet seat and dusty wardrobe, also the T.V in our room was very dated, with poor picture quality. The hotel needs updating. We were surprised that the steps leading to the main entrance were not lit at night especially as the majority of the guests are elderly. Breakfast was very good, although portions were small, if you asked for more you got it. Dinner was very poor, especially if you are vegetarian, there is only one choice. The vegetarian risotto looked like a plate of vomit. Our waitress maria was excellent and could not do enough for us. The hotel is in a good location, generally very clean and the staff are polite and friendly.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you Andie L for taking time to post a review of your visit .Good to read in the main the hotel was enjoyed. The comments regarding the points made about the bedroom have been passed on to the relevant people. Sorry to read the vegetarian option was not to your liking as we receive some excellent reviews regarding the food. Glad to read our waitress Maria took goodcare of you and I know she will be delighted to see her name in print.Just another point about the food choices, we are always happy to help with menu options to ensure our guests receive a great dining experience. Thanks once again for leaving a good review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    188
    107
    40
    36
See reviews for
89
248
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We went to the Burlington for a family trip. We've stayed there twice before. It is a lovely hotel in a really fab location. It is fantastic value for money. The staff are all extremely helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. The food was good. Always a choice of about 3 dishes for starter, main course and 3 selections for puddings. The entertainment was good too. It's not a 5* ritz but the location, and friendly ness of staff makes it a really lovely place to be. We'll definitely be returning.

Room Tip: If you want a special room always get a sea view. It's well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Wow thank you Saz M for leaving a fantastic review. It is always great to read our valued guests enjoyed the hotel, the staff, and all the Eastbourne has to offer. A warm welcome awaits your return. Thank you once again for the 5 star review. for the
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Lynn
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Another good value, comfortable stay at the Burlington. We stayed for a long weekend for my husbands 50th birthday in 2006, and enjoyed it so much that we have been back every year since, yes there are better hotels in Eastbourne, but I don't think you can beat the Burlington for the location, the friendly staff, the choice of food, and the comfortable room, at a very affordable price. (Upgrade to a premier room if you can) although all rooms are comfortable, and VERY clean! I can't comment on the entertainment as we have never attended.
Eastbourne is great for walking and shopping, and enjoying the seafront.

Room Tip: upgraded rooms with a sea view are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
From a 3 star review back in 2010 to a great 5star review this visit. Thank you very much Traceykingslynn for the review always good to read our guests can see the improvements being made over the years and this review is a great example of this.I know many a happy Birhday celebration have been spent with us over the years and long may they continue.
Thank you once again for taking the time to post the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My friends and I have stayed at the Burlington 6 times in the last 3 years,and keep coming back as it a nice hotel in a very good location, The value for money is excellent, the food is very good, always lots of variety, great and quick service, all of the staff are efficient and friendly and the entertainment is good, ok it maybe geared to the older generation but it is still good and we have taken our 40 and 50 year old children, [I am in my {young!]
70s and the rest in their 60s] and they have all really enjoyed it all too.
The hotel is gradually getting refurbished, we have seen changes in the last year, with new lounge furniture etc, ok some of the bedrooms are a little tired but given time I think these will be done, considering the age of the building its not too bad.
We have already booked again for another weekend in October.
If you want an excellent location Hotel on a budget you cannot do better than visit the Burlington Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Grecophophile thank you for your great informative review. After six visits I think its fair to say this reviewer knows their stuff and absolutely gets what we as a hotel are all about. Great staff brilliant location good food, comfortable accomodation and best of all value for money.Here's to October for that 7th visit.
Thank you once again Grecophophile for posting the review and for a great recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this Shearings Hotel. I had a single room on the top floor and couldn't fault it. Clean and warm with a seaview and the ensuite bathroom was modern and sparkling white. The food was good and the service was quick and efficient. This is a good budget hotel and I think a lot of the bad reviews are just nit picking. Three things I would pick up on although none of these are criticisms. Firstly it would be good if the hotel could put a card on top of the television in each room asking if guests would turn off their TVs between 11pm and 7am for the comfort of other guests. I have seen these in other hotels. My next door neighbor returned to his room at 11.30pm. Switched on the TV until 1am then woke me up at 5.30am with the TV again!!! I don't think some people realise that noise carries through walls and perhaps a notice would remind them. Secondly if you want a drink with your meal buy it beforehand at the bar and take it into the restaurant. There is only one wine waiter for the whole restaurant and the people on my table didn't get a chance to order a drink. Thirdly if you want to tip a waitress do it as you go along. I left it to the end and asked where to put tips so they are shared out and it seems there is no system. So I left no tip which was a shame as I would have liked to.
Thank you Shearings for an enjoyable stay. Especially nice as we had such fabulous weather over the Bank Holiday and saw Eastbourne and Beachy Head in all its glory

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you Suitcasee99 for your wondeful informative review. The suggestion regarding the TV's is great and it is certainly something we coud look into. The comments regarding the wine waiting have been passed on to the relevant department as this is something that should not be happening, as a rule there is a minimum of three wine waiters each evening to provide wine service and it would appear there may have been an issue on that particular eveing. So pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and it is always nice to read great new ideas that could be implemented at the hotel.
Once agin a huge thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaenau Ffestiniog, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This was my first stay in a hotel from the 17 to 20 of May and so this is my view that my third floor single room was clean tidy and roomy had a small TV, it was cleaned every morning by polite cleaning staff, a good choice of food at breakfast and evening meals and was served by polite helpful staff, my first stay at a hotel was a good one.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Glyn J Thank you for the brilliant, short, concise says what its does on the tin review.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you a second and even a thrid time to the hotel. So pleased to read your first experience with us a good one.
Thank you for posting the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S. Wales
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The Burlington is a large old seaside hotel owned by Shearings Holidays. We arrived for our 3 day weekend break and were disappointed with the outdated appearance of the interior of the hotel, could do with some decorating and some of the areas were not very clean, especially the public toilet(ladies) in the entertainment area. However our room was ok at the front with a seaview(bonus) and towels and bedding clean bathroom also dated but clean. Food good, plain British fare but well prepared and served hot. The service in the dining room was excellent. The service at the hotel was very good in all parts of the hotel being a plus point for this hotel. Location excellent on seafront and near shopping centre, bus stop just opposite for local areas(Brighton,Hastings etc) Although this hotel could do with some updating and TLC it is however very good value for money. We are a couple in our 60's as were most other guests

Room Tip: ask for room at front of hotel for a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Burlington Hotel

Address: 26-34 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN21 3YN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 43 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting Grade 2 listing status, The Bay Burlington Hotel is a grand and impressive hotel, ideally situated on Eastbourne’s picturesque seafront. The hotel overlooks the spectacular Carpet Gardens and Victorian pier and is within comfortable walking distance of the town’s wide variety of shops and local theatres as well as the seafront. One of our largest hotels, the Burlington has 159 bedrooms including many with spectacular sea views and the opportunity to upgrade to a Superior or Premier room. The restaurant has been recently refurbished and there is also a well appointed bar and coffee lounge serving refreshments throughout the day. Located at the base of the beautiful South Downs, Eastbourne has enough to keep the most enthusiastic visitor busy with abundant history, numerous scenic castles and lots of places of interest to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Eastbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Burlington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.