We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Really rather good"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Burlington Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bay Burlington Hotel to your Saves list
Bay Burlington Hotel
26-34 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN21 3YN, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BREAKS FROM JUST £79
Ranked #27 of 43 Hotels in Eastbourne
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“"Really rather good"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Well, better late than never! We organised a party of 48 from our local Church social club, St. Mary`s, Middleton, Leeds, to this hotel w/b 28th January 2013.

The holiday really started when the coach picked us up, nice trip down, very nice driver and arrived at the hotel in good time.

Can I say that if you`re looking for 5 star accommodation do not book this hotel, how-ever, if you want really REALLY good value for money this place is a must! All rooms were clean, tidy and well looked after. The food (apart from the rather thin tomato soup on the first evening) was first class. The entertainment, brilliant! excellent compere, with the best of the entertainment on the Thursday evening. Bingo. I DETEST it, but know that many many people like playing. They were well catered for every evening. All this plus 2 trips out AND 4 drinks vouchers per person every evening of our stay. I honestly don`t know how Shearings do it for £129-00 they charged per person, but I am glad they do!

All in all a HUGE "thank you" to ALL the Burlington staff including those who work "behind the scenes" Special thanks to the member of the bar staff who tried to juggle a glass (and failed!) He was a star in the making, and kept us entertained for the rest of the week!

Last comment to make, we have organised winter trips with Shearings now for many many years. This is the first one where we didn`t have one complaint about anything, and that`s a first!

Well done Shearings & well done Team Burlington, we all hope to be back in the near future.

Allan Collinson, Club Secretary, Middleton St. Mary`s Social Club, Leeds, W Yorks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Allan02, Thank you for your great review. Good to read your club outing was a success. What a lovely comment regarding the first class food and staff. Will have to start buying plastic glasses as bar staff have still not managed to perfect the Tom Cruise Cocktail thing!!!! Bingo bit like marmite but we do get a lot of guests who like marmite. The bingo is only played for half an hour or so, so hopefully those who are not big fans don't have to put up with it for too long.
Amazing to read that after all your trips with Shearings you found us to be one of the best, high praise indeed. Team Burlington Thanks you and would love the opportunity to welcome the Club back tot he hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    162
    99
    37
    34
See reviews for
79
219
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We booked a very good value 3 night half board ' party weekend ' here from the 15 - 17th of February,we knew in advance that this hotel caters for coach parties so to find that the Hotel was full was no suprise.

Our room was small but adequate for our needs, however the shower was inoperable for some reason & we couldn't open the sash windows so the room was stuffy even in February, after asking for the window to be opened someone crudely managed to do this & damage the frame in the process.

The food was also adequate & for the price we paid, sufficient in terms of quality & quantity.
Every night there was some kind of live entertainment ranging from a magician to singers to bingo - which we won on our second evening !
The staff were friendly & helpful too.

Room Tip: Choose an upgraded room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you Airmilesking, for taking the time to leave the review. The points made about the bedroom windows and shower have been taken on board. Good to read that in the main you did enjoy the short break and described your stay as a pleasant one.
Thank you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Decided a few weeks ago to go on this short week end break.
Used our own car to go to the Interchange at Stretton, directed to a parking space(plenty of them) our cases were taken of us straight from the boot of our car, and we did not see them again until they were delivered to our room later in the day.

Coach, very comfortable left on time, drivers changed over at Warwick Services while we had a break. Tony, the driver for the weekend was informative and kept us up to date what was happening and when.
Arrived at Eastbourne about four thirty, easy check in, up to the room on the third floor, via the stairs, we had already been informed there were only two lifts and the hotel cannot get permission for more as it a Grade Two Listed Building.
Less than two minutes in the room and our cases arrived
Evening Meal there was a choice of three starters, three mains and three desserts, each of the nights different Menus. Coffee was served in a separated bar,

We enjoyed all of our meals including the breakfast, where there was a full choice of whatever sort of breakfast you preferred, Full English, or a choice off the breakfast menu, cereals, fruit, eggs however you wanted, bacon, sausages, tomatoes, beans,mushrooms, No Excuse for going hungry.
Restaurant staff very efficient polite and well turned out, a pleasure to be served by them.WELL DONE

Saturday, off nice and early, 0915, coach was nearly full for the included excursion to Battle and Rye, very pleasant day with plenty of time to do what you wanted to do sightseeing, Tony had already given us a usefull commentry to each of the place we went so we had a good idea which way to head. The Church where Spike Milligan is buried in the Chuchyard is well worth the visit.

Sunday we did not go on the optional excursion, we made our own way to Brighton, bus stop about two hundred yards from the hotel, took about forty minutes, if you have a bus pass you may use these but if not, it is £6.50 return,
We visited Brighton Pavilion, the main reason for the trip to Brighton and we were both impressed, £8 each to get in, You are then given a mobile phone to walk round at your own pace and the commentry and pictures are on the phone, just punch in the number of the room and all the info you nedd comes up. Sadly the cafe was shut that day due to a change of supplier.

There was entertainment each night in the bar, which had a small dance floor, and everyone seemed to enjoy themselves.
There is also plenty of room in the small bar and in the reception area.


Monday--- cases outside the bedroom doors for 0700. Breakfast 0745 until 0845 onto coach for journey home at 0915.
Two stops on the way home and back into Stretton just after 4 O'Clock, cases were soon off the coach back to our car and onwards home.

We paid £176.00 including parking for this well worh weekend break.

The Burlington Hotel was clean and tidy, rooms were looked after well by the staff.

A return trip we will be making in the Autumn.

A NICE PAT ON THE BACK TO ALL CONCERNED FOR A NICE WEEK END AWAY

Dave Shawcross

Room Tip: We were at the back of the hotel and did not require a sea view, so we were happy with the allocated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you Dshawcross for an excellent review and a brillinat overview of the weekend. It is always gret to read when a customer gives such well informed information for other guests to use. Have to agree Brighton Pavillion is stunning and the fact you get your very own personel hand set for the commentary is worth the entrance fee alone. The comments made regarding the hotel and staff are just fanastic, really good to read you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and made the most of the trips and local surroundings. Look forward to welcomng you back later in the year.
Thanks once again for taking the time to leave the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed at the Burlington hotel in room 350, on a 5 day holiday from National Holidays. The room was clean and tidy, the customer service desk was very helpful during the stay and the food was well served and presented. The menu was very varied so there was at least one dish each night that appealed too myself, all in all this is a great place to stay and was excellant value for money. I shall be going back to this hotel to see other sites in the areahich i didnt get to see on this occasion. Well Done Burlington staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Susan 2013 what a brilliant five star review. Its always good to read any review, but so much nicer to read when a guest has completely enjoyed what we have to offer, Love the slogan Three Star Hotel with Five Star Service. There have been many reviews stating just how great the staff are here and this review just confirms them all.I know the team will be delighted to read this review.Look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel so you can continue to visit the areas you didn't get to visit on your first visit.
Thanks Again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Travelled with shearings coach tours to Burlington hotel Eastbourne and would like to say we stayed in the most comfortable warm quite room 301 .we found the room clean and tidy we had no problems at all with the room.the hotel itself is very clean and kept this way throughout our 5 day stay.breakfast was excellent plenty to eat evening meal also excellent plenty of choices all staff always happy willing to help if you had any problems at all which we did not throughout our stay.shearings coach driver James was one of the best coach drivers we have had in many years of traveling with other coach companys .we would say anyone thinking of taking a shearings bay hotel break don't think twice just do it .great value breaks .fluffy Essex.








Essex.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
What an amazing tag Fluffyessex, any relation to Joey!! Joking aside, a huge thank you for the wonderful review. Always nice to read our drivers getting a mention, James will be delighted to read thie review. Great to read you enjoyed the hotel and all we had to offer and thank you for the wonderful recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

we have just returned from a 5 day stay at the Burlington, it was a little ragged around the edges, but for what we paid great value, Kevin the driver was full of information about the area, and also told some wonderful little stories, we found the food very good as was the hard working staff at meal times,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thanks David T for leaving your great short review. As stated in previous reviews the hotel will see improvements being made starting this April. Have to agree the special offers on at present are amazing and just what is needed for this time of year. Chef will be pleased to read your kind comments regarding the food as will the team in restaurant. Great review.
Thanks Again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Booked independently through late rooms.com. For three night break. We opted for bed and breakfast but did book dinner on our last evening. The hotel is a little tired in places, but the hotel is exceptionally clean. The staff are hard working and all were cheery. The position of the hotel was very good. On sea front, near to town centre and opposite pier. I agree with previous comments that the wind whistles off the seafront and in through the sash windows, but living in a Victorian house with sash windows we find this rather healthy, rather than having a stuffy overheated room. The breakfasts were good and dinner on our last night was hot, tasty and plentiful. There was evening entertainment but we were not there to see the first two nights but on Sunday, the magician and all round entertainer was very good. The only negative for us was a lack of WiFi - we are silver surfers and believe all hotels should offer free WiFi. Some people found the parking rather expensive at £5 per day, but there is plenty of on street parking. We enjoyed our stay and will return.

Room Tip: A sea view at this hotel is a bonus as it is right on the sea front
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
WOW Thank you JM for your brillinat five star review. Always good to read such lovely feedback.
It is also good to read that the hotel appeals to customers who are not shearings clientel.
The location is as you have stated second to none. We are looking into wi fi and this should be happening very soon, so you can return and surf to your hearts content .All the team will be delighted witht this review.
Thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Burlington Hotel

Address: 26-34 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN21 3YN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 43 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting Grade 2 listing status, The Bay Burlington Hotel is a grand and impressive hotel, ideally situated on Eastbourne’s picturesque seafront. The hotel overlooks the spectacular Carpet Gardens and Victorian pier and is within comfortable walking distance of the town’s wide variety of shops and local theatres as well as the seafront. One of our largest hotels, the Burlington has 159 bedrooms including many with spectacular sea views and the opportunity to upgrade to a Superior or Premier room. The restaurant has been recently refurbished and there is also a well appointed bar and coffee lounge serving refreshments throughout the day. Located at the base of the beautiful South Downs, Eastbourne has enough to keep the most enthusiastic visitor busy with abundant history, numerous scenic castles and lots of places of interest to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bay Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Eastbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Burlington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.