We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generous Rooms & Meals” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gables Bed & Breakfast

Gables Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastbourne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gables Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Gables Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
21 Southfield Road,, Eastbourne BN21 1BU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 75 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Generous Rooms & Meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

As part of a group of 6 we had 3 rooms, and stayed one night. The rooms were very nice and each had a private ensuite which looked like they had been updated fairly recently. The hosts were very friendly and we had an excellent breakfast. If you are going out on foot there is not too much to see nor many dining options in the immediate area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
22
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

I have never reviewed a hotel before but I was so impressed by the friendly personal service provided at the gables I felt compelled. My friend and I were warmly welcomed. The room was very clean (a little dated) but the finishing touches of chocolates, water and toiletries was far and beyond what I expected for the price. The bed was comfortable and we slept very well. However the crowning glory was the breakfast which was delicious with all the little touches of decent salt and pepper, cafetiere of coffee and good quality bacon and sausages with attentive service. I highly reccomend this b&b if you find yourself in eastbourne for the night.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Second time we have stayed at The Gables and both times have been great. A very warm and friendly welcome, nice rooms and as good a breakfast as you will ever get. Will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

Room was clean, light, airy, spacious and tastefully decorated.
En suite was pristine with water hot - even a heated towel rail!
Bed was clean and very comfortable.
Breakfast menu was varied and appetising.
Best of all Chrissy and Andy were helpful, very hospitable and had clearly thought of their guests' convenience.
Location was within easy reach of centre and parking no problem.
I have no criticisms, it was truly a five star experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

It's not very often that I find a place that makes me think, "I must come back". For a change, my experience matches what other reviewers have said - friendly and welcoming hosts, lovely homely interior, with good sized comfortable rooms. The hosts were really flexible with check in and out times too which helped us out. Very clean and good range of drinks and snacks available. The guest house is down the road from the station and shops. A nice walk down to the beach and over to Beachy Head. We only stayed one night but next time it will certainly have to be for longer.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortrijk, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

Very friendly hosts, rooms comfy, near centre, resto near by.
Good tips on bus line & walks, walking maps available.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

We are a young couple 23 and 18 years old, we went fo a weekend break, we found the place with ease. Very friendly upon arrival and nice comfortable room. The location is good as it is only 2 mins walk to the town centre and there is a taxi rank 1 min walk down the road if you need one. The b&b food was great, very helpfull and good knowledge of the town. I would recomend to go and see Beachy head but it can get quite windy up there, there is a pub up the top so you can have a nice beer and some food, the food is good there. For bars to drink in i would recommend slaters and there are another 3 or 4 bars along the same road that are good. Beach is clean and water looks good. All in all the tay was good.

Dan and Vicky

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gables Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gables Bed & Breakfast

Address: 21 Southfield Road,, Eastbourne BN21 1BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gables Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.