We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of da Vinci Eastbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added da Vinci Eastbourne to your Saves list
da Vinci Eastbourne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 - 10 Howard Square, Eastbourne BN21 4BQ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Eastbourne
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Comfy stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed one night over EAster to meet up with family Very comfy and spacious , decor nice n trendy , loved the shoe chair!
Very spacious hotel, not like lots of others in Eastbourne mostly very cramp. Staff were welcoming and gave advice on area even though visited lots time. Breakfast good selection.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmetc2006, Owner at da Vinci Eastbourne, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your review and your kind comments especially since you conclude by confirming that you would return. Regarding the corridors and stairs, I have to raise my hands and agree. It was our intention to work on these this winter but it has not been possible as we have been busy dealing with water leaks and falling ceilings. Regardless, I am on the case and will keep our social networks updated with our progress to date.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    114
    35
    8
    4
See reviews for
45
160
19
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Reception/Bar areas imaginative, friendly and efficient greeting. Grade 2 listed building. Corridors & Staircase let the hotel down. Large and bright rooms, pleasant clean and functional en-suite with plenty of hot water. Breakfast good selection, freshly cooked, service a bit disorganised when busy - go early. Overall a pleasant stay, would return.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmetc2006, Owner at da Vinci Eastbourne, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your review of the hotel and pleased you enjoyed your stay and would return. The hotel is subject to ongoing maintenance and the corridors do require some updating ...although we have been focussing on the guest rooms. We are hoping to replace all of our room doors in the not to distance future but, as these are fire doors, it is an expensive business ....so watch this space.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

just spent a night in the Da Vinci in Eastbourne. It was exceptionally cold and windy weather outside ,granted, but the room was also very cold and the windows were very draughty and rattled in the wind. I would imagine on a normal day this wouldnt be an issue. The room was very large and nicely decorated,plenty of tea/coffee/biscuits/toiletries to hand,.The art in the hotel was refreshing to see. The breakfast was perfect and huge. The service was wonderful, very helpful owners.Parking permit for the car was good.Bar was reasonably priced.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmetc2006, Owner at da Vinci Eastbourne, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and for your kind comments regarding the perfect breakfast, wonderful service and helpful; owners…was that really me???

Sincere apologies about the cold especially as we have been working hard to resolve this ….. and had plenty of practice with this recent weather too!. The hotel is full of primary and secondary heating so it should not have been a problem and the room should not have been cold.

Apologies too for the rattling windows. The hotel is a grade 2 listed building so we have to keep (and maintain) our sash windows which can be problematic given the number of sash window experts that there are around. We are hoping to systematically refurbish these as soon as my bank gives me loads of money to complete the task.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alcazares
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed at the Da Vinci hotel for 2 nights. The hotel has been given a modern feel. The bedroom is big and spacious with all one would need. There is a large flat tv screen in the room.The bed is large and comfortable. The tea and coffee supply was plentiful. The bathroom lovely and clean. Breakfast was well cooked and tasty.
The staff were very friendly and accomodating.
We went into most of the hotels on the seafront just to get a comparison to the Da Vinci Hotel. They are mainly old and tired and cater mainly for coach tours. Their clientelle is the elderly so if you are young you would feel that these hotels are more like a nursing home than an actual hotel.
Da Vinci hotel has a young feel so will attract different age group. Eastbourne does need such hotels like the Da Vinci and it has been a breath of fresh air. The location is perfect both to the seafront and to the centre of town.

Room Tip: We chose a superior double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmetc2006, Owner at da Vinci Eastbourne, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your review and your kind comments. Also thank you for taking on the role of ‘mystery shopper’ and checking out the competition for us!!!

We were delighted to read your comments and pleased that you appreciate what we are trying to offer. As some of the reviews here testify, we don’t always meet everyone’s expectations but we do try.

Looking forward to your next visit and hope you won’t be trying out any of those other hotels ….even for comparison purposes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Late booking and not my usual hotel. Arrived late which was no problem. Given a free parking permit to avoid early morning warden problems ! Room was very warm and comfortable. Lovely shower and facilities. Free wifi.
Full English breakfast in morning was great. All staff were very friendly and helpful. Will now make this my usual hotel.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmetc2006, Owner at da Vinci Eastbourne, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and lovely comments. So glad to hear that you will be staying with us again. I have reminded the staff that we need to hold onto guests like yourself so please let us know if we fail to meet your high standards when you next visit. We will look forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed in a large double on the fourth floor which had been fitted out to a fairly high standard, the two bright lime green walls and two white walls were a bit of a surprise. Lots of bright but fairly pedestrian art throughout the hotel whcih was fun. Good bed and smart modern TV. Here and there you can see that the current owners are trying hard to bring the hotel into the 21st century, however they seem to have given up when it came to the bathroom which has had a cursory make over. Trendy chrome towel stand did not look good with rust finish and shower was a very cramped cubicle. Large bright common areas on the ground floor.

Breakfast was disappointing. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Good position, easy to walk the short distance to the beach front or shops and local restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmetc2006, Owner at da Vinci Eastbourne, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your recent review and your kind comments about the friendly staff and the good position. Regarding your other comments, room 307 has only one, not two, bright green walls – sorry about that but we did promise bright colours on our walls and you must have seen the pictures.

Not sure I agree with you over the ‘’fairly pedestrian art’ and I am fairly sure the local artists contributing to the art displays would not agree either. We are lucky to have some excellent art work adorning our walls at present featuring exceptional artists such as Ben Eccleston, Gillian Toft and Paul Jordan.

I have checked the chrome towel stand and, as we speak, the manager is checking the others. You are correct that they don’t look so good with a rust finish and, in spite of them being less than a year old, I shall be replacing them as soon as I can find a suitable replacement and certainly by the end of the week.

Again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again when you next visit Eastbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Small room with small double bed which had a lot of dust under it and was on bricks one end. The en-suite was a bit grubby and tight for space. Room 101 which we stayed in is right above kitchen so a lot of noise from early around 7.50 it was a pain. General decor poor and shabby.
All of this can be sorted location is great so raise your game

Room Tip: don't get put in 101 its above the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmetc2006, Owner at da Vinci Eastbourne, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am so sorry to hear that you did not seem entirely satisfied with your stay. In particular, I have checked with the manager who, rather sheepishly, tells me that he had placed two bricks under the frame of the bed as a precautionary measure. On further enquiry, it transpires that some of our guests like to bounce up and down on our beds and it is the bed legs that are most likely to give way first.

I can fully understand his motive although I am at a loss as to why guests might want to trampoline on our beds. Regardless, I have asked him to replace the bricks by something more in keeping with the status of the hotel at his earliest possible convenience. In the meantime, guests are invited to look at the bricks but only if they want to go to all the effort of pulling the bed away from the wall and lifting it in the air – why should they?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to da Vinci Eastbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about da Vinci Eastbourne

Address: 9 - 10 Howard Square, Eastbourne BN21 4BQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#11 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — da Vinci Eastbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The da Vinci is ideally situated in Howard Square just off the sea front and just around the corner from the Devonshire Theatre, the Congress Theatre, the Winter Gardens, The Birley Centre and Eastbourne's new arts centre. We are a short walk to the town's shops and a lot of excellent restaurants which we are happy to recommend. The da Vinci has 20 en-suite rooms which each feature a well known (and not so well known) artist. The rooms have all been refurbished and redecorated to a very high standard and each of the rooms is unique so that no two rooms are the same. On the ground floor is the hotel art gallery featuring original art work by local professional artists as well as a resident's lounge (with full licensed facilities), two breakfast rooms and a conference room (which you can hire). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your da Vinci Eastbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Vinci Eastbourne Hotel Eastbourne
Da Vinci Hotel Eastbourne
Eastbourne Da Vinci Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage da Vinci Eastbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.