We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Big Sleep Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Big Sleep Hotel to your Saves list
The Big Sleep Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Lansdowne Terrace | King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 43 Hotels in Eastbourne
brighton
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

Stayed in this Hotel last night with my partner and another friend! We paid £45 per double room. It is an excellent position right on the seafront with beautiful views of the sea and close to the Tennis and 10 minutes from the centre of Eastbourne. It is very minimalist but very clean and excellent value for money. The bedroom had an ensuite with hairdryer and the room had TV and tea making facilities.The breakfast was included which was continental and was good. Would definately recommend it and stay there again. There is a lift but was being mended when we were there. Wonderful views from our room.Also was able to park right outside for 24 hours for £2, another bargain!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    120
    72
    44
    23
See reviews for
57
140
24
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

We had a lovely time at the Big Sleep. The decor is fantastic and our room was clean and spacious, with a nice sea view. We loved the rocking chairs and furry curtains! The staff were also very polite, friendly and helpful.

The bar area is gorgeous, with lots of funky seating and a good selection of drinks. The continental breakfast was also very nice.

My only minor complaint would be that they need to invest in a bit more crockery and glassware (or do more washing up!). When I bought a gin and tonic, I had to have it in a pint glass, even though there was only one other group of people in the bar at the time. Plus we had to wait for knives and mugs at breakfast as there were none clean.

All in all, it's a great alternative to Eastbourne's rather old-fashioned selecion of B&Bs, and amazing value too.

Oh, and my boyfriend was very impressed that the room had Sky Sports - me, not so much!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

Stayed at the hotel for two nights. The room i stayed in was a single room. It was basic and clean and had a nice tv with free view for the morning i got woken up for the second time by the fire alarm. The bar area and breakfast area was really modern and had nice view.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

Stayed at the hotel for one night and was the worst experience ever.firstly a fire alarm went off at 2.30 am. And then another at 6.15 which wasn't continuous but went on for 45mins.this was blamed in somebody pushing the alarm to cover tracks.other guests had said that the 2 might before it happened 3 times also.confronted staff about it who wasn't bothered at all.white sheets had stains on and an earing was left on the floor which ended up in my foot.poor hotel.stay away

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigsleephotel, Director of Sales at The Big Sleep Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2011
The fire alarm did go off during the night and this was due to a guest smoking in their bedroom, at 7.30am in the morning it went off again and this time was found to be an activated fire point on the first floor, the fire alarm was going for some time as we had to investigate the cause of the alarm as we take safety and guests security very seriously so will not just de-activate an alarm without the cause being identified.
There are no reiorts of this happening the previous evening so cannot comment on where this information came from.
With regards to the sheets not being clean this was not reported to reception at the time of check in or any time during the stay when it would have been rectified, no guests would want to stay in a bed with dirty linen and if this is correct should have been reported immediately to reception.
The ear stud was mentioned to the reception in the morning however the guest said it was fine and did not want to do anything about it or make a report in the accident book, in line with our obligations under HSE we did complete a report so there is a record of the incident in case of any repercussions in the future.
The hotel will deal with any incidents or guests complaints in an efficient and positive way, however we cannot deal with those that are unsubstantiated once the guest has left, we would expect problems regarding cleanliness and rooms to be reported at the time.

David Nott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011 via mobile

Clean, basic, with a little colour splashed in! Lovely!
Great location, great value, we payed £40 for one night, double room, overlooking the sea and pier. Continental Breakfast included.
Can't go wrong!! :)

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

If you just want an inexpensive place to bed down for the night, this is ok. Minimalist decor verges on feeling like a hospital room (maybe it's all the blue and white).
Lift needs replacing - tried it once and wasn't going back in that again. It's also quite noisy so try get a room away from it.
Parking is a bit of a hassle. Hotel provides voucher to park around the square beside it, but good luck in finding a spot there. Seems parking along the sea front is free overnight until about 8am, and it's pretty cheap during the day anyway. I would imagine parking is harder to find during the summer months (we were there in February).
About half a dozen decent restaurants just a 2-minute walk east. High street is about a 5-minute walk.
PS. if you're looking for a nice restaurant that allows dogs, def try the Beachy Head Pub a short 10-minute drive west.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

Repeat visit to this funky and friendly B&B in Eastbourne. All the reception staff were helpful and efficient. Treated myself to a suite on the front (room 115) with gorgous views over the seafront. Modern, black and white decor was stunning.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Big Sleep Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Sleep Hotel

Address: 1 Lansdowne Terrace | King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Big Sleep Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Big Sleep Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Big Sleep Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.