We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel very friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Alexandra Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Alexandra Hotel to your Saves list
The Alexandra Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Alexandra Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   King Edward's Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4DR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 41 hotels in Eastbourne
Polegate, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel very friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Great Hotel . Winston and his staff were very friendly and willing to help. Had nice single room overlooking the seafront . Would recommend this hotel to anybody who would like to stay in Eastbourne as in good location for seafront and pier and only short walk into town .

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    16
    12
    1
    6
See reviews for
14
23
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I've stayed here a couple of times (and have reviewed it here before).

It's under new management now - but things are pretty much the same.

The rooms are very basic, but clean and fine for a 1-2 night conference stay.. somewhere to get a few hours sleep and store your bags.

The televisions have been upgraded to LCD flatscreens with Freeview - a major leap forward. Also , there's wifi throughout the hotel - but hasn't been implemented very well - with each access point having its own name (so you have to join each one individually) and the signal is patchy and the speeds slow (probably the whole hotel sharing one ADSL line).

My bed mattress was a bit weird - seemed to be on a bit of a slope. Also, the sheet and blanket routine is a bit 1960's - they could learn from Holiday Inn/Travelodge with crisp white sheets and duvets.

The breakfast remains the same - good fryup.

The bathroom extractor fan is really annoying - better off using the bathroom in the dark/by mobile phone light - just to avoid the noise - especially when you're trying to get to sleep.

At the end of the day - it's a cheap way to stay in Eastbourne near the conference centre/theatres.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights in November,the hotel was clean and warm,the food was good and the staff friendly and helpfull,what more could you want? For the price we paid we thought it excellent value and would be happy to stay again,

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My self my husband and our 8 yr old daughter stayed here 27th aug till 30th aug and we have for the last 3 years and to our delight nothing has changed even though it has changed hands! Winston is the perfect host and couldn't do enough to make our stay a perfect one! Yeah it's not the Ritz but its clean and tidy and met our needs perfectly! We will definitely be back next year even though we will have to pay for our now 9 year old daughter (kids under 9 are free) highly recommended! Winston your a star!! Anne-Marie and Gary Lee and Emma x

Room Tip: We had a rear room and suited us fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

A little dated hotel,beds are clean, showers quite grubby. If your not expecting to much then this is fine,the food on a half board basis was ok,the staff were very nice,mainly foreign students,the lounge bar was about the size of a wheelie bin,as was the lift,but as we only stayed for the weekend it wasn't really a problem.As there were four of us matures it was ok,not recomended for youngsters or lovers

Room Tip: Great views from more expensive rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

As a family we enjoyed this hotel very much, the staff were very kind and helpful, the 3 course breakfast and dinner was delicious, and the rooms were nice and clean and comfortable and we would like to go again. This hotel is highly recommended. Thank You Winston :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have just spent a lovely weekend at the Alexandra Hotel, our first with the new owners. The staff were very helpful and attentive Nothing was too much trouble for them. The hotel is clean and comfortable. Meals lovely with satisfying portions, not a large menu, but quite adequate. We will definitely be booking again and are very happy to recommend it to our friends. J & H Kent

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexandra Hotel

Address: King Edward's Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 41 hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Alexandra Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Alexandra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.