We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Paradise Guest House + 2 Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Palm Paradise Guest House + 2 Apartments to your Saves list
Palm Paradise Guest House + 2 Apartments
Lot 2b Chapel Gap #1, Paynes Bay BB24008, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Paynes Bay B&B and Inns
Zurich
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Clean, great food and really nice hosts. The rooms have AC installed, although one must pay extra for using it. Walking distance to Holetown, though the transit system is very convenient too. Would certainly go back.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    14
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
31
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wareham Dorset UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were reccomended to stay at Palm Paradise by some very good friends,and what a reccomendation that was.Pat and Gilly cant do enough for you and will advise on everything about Barbados with such great knowledge.Position is perfect,5 minutes walk to lovely Paynes Bay beaches and 15 minutes drive to Bridgetown. Local chickens may strutt around and you will see fire flys at dusk.You will receive a warm welcome,lovely home made food and so much better than staying at one of the resort Hotels,which I have done.

Room Tip: The Paradise Suite we stayed in was superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mamaroneck, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Rest assured Pat and Gilly take good care of you while you are here. The place is well located, a 5 minute walk to a stretch of beautiful beaches all the way up to Holetown, a nice town to dine and walk around. The people are very friendly and as a solo traveler I felt very safe walking around. The guest house is clean, welcoming and provides meals at a much cheaper rate than restaurants. It was lovely to sit on the balcony in the evening and chat with the other guests while drinking a Banks, the local beer. Some words of advice, Barbados accepts US dollars, just cut the somewhat expensive food prices in half,bring plenty of singles and fives to pay for snacks and drinks. Daphne's on the beach near the guest house has a happy hour from 5-7. You can sit there and see the sun set. The staff there are also very friendly. You can get a chair and umbrella for $10 or $15 from the guys who rent jet skis right after the hotel after Daphne's. the man there is v nice too. Pat, the owner of the guest house will set you up with very reliable people to snorkel and swim with the fish. She is very knowledgeable and gives you sage advice on what to do in Barbados. From soup to nuts, I thoroughly enjoyed my visit to Barbados and I thank Pat, Val and Gilly for making it so.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My wife and I booked to stay in an appartment at Speightstown for a 12 night stay in Barbados. Unfortunately, the appt was 'double-booked' on the first night and we had to find somewhere to stay. Quite apprehensive as not easy to secure one night only accomodation in Barbados however, my wife managed to book a room at the Palm Paradise, Payne's Bay. Almost as soon as we booked we received an e-mail from the owner Pat which was very reassuring. She welcomed us to PP and asked if we had transport on arrival at the airport on and, at our request, arranged a taxi to collect us. On arrival, sure enough the taxi driver (Keith) was waiting there to collect us. Pat and Gilly, the owners, are two very naturally welcoming and warm people. They made us feel very welcome and we were able to relax at the start of our holiday, get our feet up and have a banks or two to chill out. The food is almost 'cooked to order', the accomodation is clean, tidy and, as others have said, is very much 'home from home'. Special mention to Pat as we know that she really 'put herself out' to accomodate us and we are very grateful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from a week long stay at the Palm Paradise in Barbados and we had a lovely time.
The trip started with being collected promptly at the airport by their friendly taxi driver, Keith, who held up a sign with our names.
I was travelling with my girlfriend and her infant daughter and we stayed in the Paradise suite which was very spacious, spotlessly clean and had a modern bathroom and private terrace.
The white sand beach was only a 5-10 min walk down a quiet street and there were also restaurants and an ice cream shop nearby. I recommend the Roti Hut for a tasty, quick lunch near the beach however we took nearly all meals at the Palm Paradise and everything was delicious and made to order. I particularly appreciated the trouble they went to in accommodating my dietary request.
Overall, we had a fantastic time with Pat, the owner, Gilly and Michelle, the staff, and Val and Shirley, the longstay residents. Can't wait to come back for a few more Banks beers on the terrace and some beach time!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castries
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I only stayed there for a weekend but the time spent there was great, it was like a home away from home. The people are very friendly and easy to talk to and the food was delicious.
I slept very comfortably and felt safe.
I definitely want to go back there for my next vacation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonofsven
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Palm Paradise is located on the West Coast, 3 minutes walk from the beach and the Cliff Restaurant. Hosts Pat & Gilly are welcoming making you feel at home and have an extensive knowledge of the local area. The Blue room that we stayed in for 1 week was very clean and spacious with a large bathroom. The guest house is set in beautiful grounds with a swimming pool that we found refreshing after a day travelling around the Island. The food was excellent with a choice of English snacks and bajan cuisine, I highly recommend Gillys goat curry. This accommodation provides grea value on the West Coast and we hope to return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Paradise Guest House + 2 Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Paradise Guest House + 2 Apartments

Address: Lot 2b Chapel Gap #1, Paynes Bay BB24008, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Paynes Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Paynes Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Paradise Guest House has 5 en-suite bedrooms + 2 Apartments on the West Coast of Barbados in St James. We serve Breakfast, Lunch and Evening Dinner and have an in House Bar. Dining both indoors and outdoors on the Terrace, in the Gazebo or indoors in the Bar area and dining room. The Studio Apartment with en-suite bathroom and a Kitchenette and dining area on the Balcony. The 1 Bedroom Apartment is self contained with Full Kitchen L shape Lounge and dining area, Bedroom and bathroom. Minutes walk from the beach and bus stop in Paynes Bay. Conveniently situated to reach all parts of the Island on public transport. We have a personal laundry service and maid service to all rooms-winter season daily and summer season every other day. Apartments have a weekly maid Service. All laundry provided. We can arrange trips within the Island and car hire, taxis etc. and always ready to help plan your days spent with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HotelsClick so you can book your Palm Paradise Guest House + 2 Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Paradise Guest House + 2 Apartments Barbados/Saint James Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Paradise Guest House + 2 Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.