We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding family guest house” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Paradise Guest House + 2 Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Palm Paradise Guest House + 2 Apartments to your Saves list
Palm Paradise Guest House + 2 Apartments
Lot 2b Chapel Gap #1, Paynes Bay BB24008, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Paynes Bay B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding family guest house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My wife & I and our 2 children aged 8 and 12 have just returned from Palm Paradise having stayed two & half weeks. Pat & Gilly were outstanding hosts and we were made to feel more than welcome - home from home. Rooms were very spacious and clean and food excellent. The pool was great after a long day on the beach allowing the kids to play while we enjoyed a 'gin & tonic' in the garden. Truly excellent value accomodation on the best side of the island.

Room Tip: Palm Paradise suite has a double bed and two singles and extremely spacious representing an excellen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    14
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
29
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgetown, Barbados
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

It really exceeded our expectations. We were a group of 18 persons. Food - delicious and on time, atmosphere - warm and a home away from home feeling , yet a 5 star hotel experience, rooms - very spacious and clean offering everything I needed. Staff responded to our every need and there were many. Really made the weekend memorable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Palm Paradise Guest House + 2 Apartments, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
It was great having you all, hard work on the staff but well worth it as your appreciation was portrayed to them. We hope you will return individually or for another Retreat in the future. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Lovely house (designed by the owner, Pat) in a fine location. Very clean, very reasonable. A welcome change of pace from the resort scene. I loved the meals prepared by Gilly, including fresh fish, grilled at my request and deliciously seasoned. Simply furnished but comfortable rooms, with windows that open to a beautiful night sky and warm breezes.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

stayed at the palm paradise in early March - fabulous location, great hosts what more can we say

the rooms are very spacious, one hundred and ten percent clean, breakfast in beautiful garden

just a wonderful stay - we cant wait to go back

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Loved the location, loved the people, loved the food and drink, loved the entire experience- Pat and Gilly are friendly, attentive and always helpful. I would definitely stay again and encourage people to get away from the big resorts and experience a bit of island life. Be sure and try the Bajan lamb stew- fabulous! Within easy walking distance of restaurants, beaches and bus stops. Gilly's Rum Punch is the best in the area, and breakfast out on the veranda is lovely.

Room Tip: Pink room is on the small side, but has a balcony right outside the room that is rarely used by othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

This was our first time to Barbados: direct flights from Manchester with Virgin and the promise of warm seas in February were the lure, and we wanted a place to explore. We really enjoyed our stay at Palm Paradise. It is a 5-minute walk up the hill from the coast road and the beach, past Bajan houses where local folk live, and feral hens/cockerels/chicks roam free everywhere. The house is run by Pat Brayshaw, a Yorkshire lass who moved to Barbados 15 or so years ago. Her right hand man is Gilly who speaks great English and has a wicked sense of humour, and makes a killer rum punch. Pat and Gilly made us very welcome and helped us organise our tours throughout the island.
Palm Paradise is a large house and was designed by Pat to accommodate guests both inside and out. It has a large living room where we read, watch TV or listen to calypso music and is a convivial place for socialising with other guests. It has a large outdoor balcony where we had meals, chatted the night away with other guests, and which has a great view of the sea; there is also a gazebo where we had a barbecue. Pat said she hosted weddings there, but there was none while we were there. We stayed in the Terracota room which had a private balcony and saw monkeys in the trees behind the house, and humming birds in the garden. In the evening the bats came out to feed. Pat provides meals, which are extra on top of the accommodation price, but we enjoyed the freedom to eat in or out - we mostly ate in.
Barbados’s hotels and restaurants are very expensive. Palm Paradise is an excellent place to stay, and at a budget price which makes it all the more a bargain. There are lots of excellent restaurants nearby, if you want to spend spend spend on food and wine, but there are also reasonably priced restaurants nearby in Holetown, a five minute bus journey. While there, you must ask Pat to take you to Bradees where they prepare local fare on open fires, and serve it on wood benches.
Barbados is a beautiful island and the local people we met were very friendly and polite, even the schoolchildren. The weather was hot and sunny during the day and warm and breezy at night. We saw plenty of beautiful flowers and exotic birds and other wild life. The sea on the west coast, where Palm Paradise is located, is calm and safe for swimming as long as you stay close to shore to avoid being run over by crazy jet skiers. I wish they were regulated for the safety of snorkelers. Turtles swim offshore and trips are organised to swim with them. Unfortunately, they are fed by the boatmen, and swimmers chase after the poor creatures and hold on to them. This harassment I found upsetting, again a lack of regulation, nor even a “look, don‘t touch“ practice.
Car rental is expensive, and not too available. For the first few days we used the local buses to go to the capital, Bridgetown, and to Holetown. They are cheap and plentiful and only cost 2 Barbadian dollars or 1 US dollar (c. 70p) for a trip regardless of distance: they do get very busy from 3.30 onwards when the children get out of school. The yellow buses also play loud rasta music which is novel.
For the last few days we rented a car, organised locally by Pat, to go to the parts of the island where you can catch buses, but you may hang around awhile. The south coast is busy, the north and east coasts are truly beautiful but wholly unsuitable for swimming as they face the brunt of the Atlantic. The island is badly signposted so it is easy to get lost - but thank goodness it is small so you don't get lost for long.
Only really down side to the island, and to our holidays were the mosquitoes which came out in the evening. Take citronella or use air con (extra cost)and keep windows closed.
We met a lot of lovely people. We met Val (retired teacher), Susan and David and really enjoyed their company . Also Gilly has loads of baby tortoises and I enjoyed feeding them toast and fruit. We loved our stay in Barbados but being a snorkeler and diver will probably return to Marsa Alam(Red Sea) or Maldives for the wonderful corals and sea life which was lacking in Barbados. Make sure you hire a car for a couple of days to see this beautiful island. Also take a yellow bus and enjoy the music. feels like madness but perfectly safe and they stop anywhere to pick you up.

Room Tip: Try and book the Terracotta room. A chance to see monkeys in the trees behind the house, and watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We stayed at the Palm Paradise for 2 weeks in January 2012. We are regular visitors to the island and can honestly say this is the best place we have stayed in. It is conveniently located and within easy walking distance of the beach. We dined with Pat and Gilly most evenings and the food was first rate and excellent value for money. Just before we came home Gilly cooked a barbeque and it was probably the best we have ever eaten ! In our two week stay we only dined indoors once and even during the occasional rain shower it is still possible to eat outdoors under cover. We stayed in the Paradise Suite which had wonderful sea views from its own private balcony. Pat and her team really look after you and make you feel welcome. We cannot wait to return. Anne and David.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Paradise Guest House + 2 Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Paradise Guest House + 2 Apartments

Address: Lot 2b Chapel Gap #1, Paynes Bay BB24008, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Paynes Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Paynes Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Paradise Guest House has 5 en-suite bedrooms + 2 Apartments on the West Coast of Barbados in St James. We serve Breakfast, Lunch and Evening Dinner and have an in House Bar. Dining both indoors and outdoors on the Terrace, in the Gazebo or indoors in the Bar area and dining room. The Studio Apartment with en-suite bathroom and a Kitchenette and dining area on the Balcony. The 1 Bedroom Apartment is self contained with Full Kitchen L shape Lounge and dining area, Bedroom and bathroom. Minutes walk from the beach and bus stop in Paynes Bay. Conveniently situated to reach all parts of the Island on public transport. We have a personal laundry service and maid service to all rooms-winter season daily and summer season every other day. Apartments have a weekly maid Service. All laundry provided. We can arrange trips within the Island and car hire, taxis etc. and always ready to help plan your days spent with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Palm Paradise Guest House + 2 Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Paradise Guest House + 2 Apartments Barbados/Saint James Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Paradise Guest House + 2 Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.