We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Paradise Guest House + 2 Apartments

Save Saved
You added Palm Paradise Guest House + 2 Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palm Paradise Guest House + 2 Apartments
Lot 2b Chapel Gap #1, Paynes Bay BB24008, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 1 Paynes Bay B&B and Inns
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“great hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

stayed at the palm paradise in early March - fabulous location, great hosts what more can we say

the rooms are very spacious, one hundred and ten percent clean, breakfast in beautiful garden

just a wonderful stay - we cant wait to go back

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    14
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
28
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Loved the location, loved the people, loved the food and drink, loved the entire experience- Pat and Gilly are friendly, attentive and always helpful. I would definitely stay again and encourage people to get away from the big resorts and experience a bit of island life. Be sure and try the Bajan lamb stew- fabulous! Within easy walking distance of restaurants, beaches and bus stops. Gilly's Rum Punch is the best in the area, and breakfast out on the veranda is lovely.

Room Tip: Pink room is on the small side, but has a balcony right outside the room that is rarely used by othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

This was our first time to Barbados: direct flights from Manchester with Virgin and the promise of warm seas in February were the lure, and we wanted a place to explore. We really enjoyed our stay at Palm Paradise. It is a 5-minute walk up the hill from the coast road and the beach, past Bajan houses where local folk live, and feral hens/cockerels/chicks roam free everywhere. The house is run by Pat Brayshaw, a Yorkshire lass who moved to Barbados 15 or so years ago. Her right hand man is Gilly who speaks great English and has a wicked sense of humour, and makes a killer rum punch. Pat and Gilly made us very welcome and helped us organise our tours throughout the island.
Palm Paradise is a large house and was designed by Pat to accommodate guests both inside and out. It has a large living room where we read, watch TV or listen to calypso music and is a convivial place for socialising with other guests. It has a large outdoor balcony where we had meals, chatted the night away with other guests, and which has a great view of the sea; there is also a gazebo where we had a barbecue. Pat said she hosted weddings there, but there was none while we were there. We stayed in the Terracota room which had a private balcony and saw monkeys in the trees behind the house, and humming birds in the garden. In the evening the bats came out to feed. Pat provides meals, which are extra on top of the accommodation price, but we enjoyed the freedom to eat in or out - we mostly ate in.
Barbados’s hotels and restaurants are very expensive. Palm Paradise is an excellent place to stay, and at a budget price which makes it all the more a bargain. There are lots of excellent restaurants nearby, if you want to spend spend spend on food and wine, but there are also reasonably priced restaurants nearby in Holetown, a five minute bus journey. While there, you must ask Pat to take you to Bradees where they prepare local fare on open fires, and serve it on wood benches.
Barbados is a beautiful island and the local people we met were very friendly and polite, even the schoolchildren. The weather was hot and sunny during the day and warm and breezy at night. We saw plenty of beautiful flowers and exotic birds and other wild life. The sea on the west coast, where Palm Paradise is located, is calm and safe for swimming as long as you stay close to shore to avoid being run over by crazy jet skiers. I wish they were regulated for the safety of snorkelers. Turtles swim offshore and trips are organised to swim with them. Unfortunately, they are fed by the boatmen, and swimmers chase after the poor creatures and hold on to them. This harassment I found upsetting, again a lack of regulation, nor even a “look, don‘t touch“ practice.
Car rental is expensive, and not too available. For the first few days we used the local buses to go to the capital, Bridgetown, and to Holetown. They are cheap and plentiful and only cost 2 Barbadian dollars or 1 US dollar (c. 70p) for a trip regardless of distance: they do get very busy from 3.30 onwards when the children get out of school. The yellow buses also play loud rasta music which is novel.
For the last few days we rented a car, organised locally by Pat, to go to the parts of the island where you can catch buses, but you may hang around awhile. The south coast is busy, the north and east coasts are truly beautiful but wholly unsuitable for swimming as they face the brunt of the Atlantic. The island is badly signposted so it is easy to get lost - but thank goodness it is small so you don't get lost for long.
Only really down side to the island, and to our holidays were the mosquitoes which came out in the evening. Take citronella or use air con (extra cost)and keep windows closed.
We met a lot of lovely people. We met Val (retired teacher), Susan and David and really enjoyed their company . Also Gilly has loads of baby tortoises and I enjoyed feeding them toast and fruit. We loved our stay in Barbados but being a snorkeler and diver will probably return to Marsa Alam(Red Sea) or Maldives for the wonderful corals and sea life which was lacking in Barbados. Make sure you hire a car for a couple of days to see this beautiful island. Also take a yellow bus and enjoy the music. feels like madness but perfectly safe and they stop anywhere to pick you up.

Room Tip: Try and book the Terracotta room. A chance to see monkeys in the trees behind the house, and watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We stayed at the Palm Paradise for 2 weeks in January 2012. We are regular visitors to the island and can honestly say this is the best place we have stayed in. It is conveniently located and within easy walking distance of the beach. We dined with Pat and Gilly most evenings and the food was first rate and excellent value for money. Just before we came home Gilly cooked a barbeque and it was probably the best we have ever eaten ! In our two week stay we only dined indoors once and even during the occasional rain shower it is still possible to eat outdoors under cover. We stayed in the Paradise Suite which had wonderful sea views from its own private balcony. Pat and her team really look after you and make you feel welcome. We cannot wait to return. Anne and David.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

I stayed for one week and was amazed at how clean the place was, especially the rooms. I felt so much at home and the food was so good that I never dined out one day. Pat and Gilly can cook. You can always find a quiet corner to read a book or just chill out.

I have to return to Barbados twice this year and have not even looked at any other accommodation. Very reasonable prices. I have booked already and can't wait to get back.

Room Tip: The 'Green Room' is very breezy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011 via mobile

Had a great stay with lovely people pat and golly can't do enough for you would certainly return andy Niki

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a few nights. The room was clean, cute and offered everything that we needed. There was also a very nice balcony space right near our room where we could sit to relax, have a beer, read a book, or whatever. Once we even saw a group of monkeys while sitting out there.

Pat and Gilly were very friendly and not only provided great food (at good value--food for tourists in the area was very pricy!). One night they even drove us to a local place in the next town over to sample some local cuisine!! They have created a very homey atmosphere.

The guest house is located a short walk up a hill from the beach in a residential neighborhood. The closest beach to Palm Paradise is also probably the most beautiful of all the beaches in the surrounding area and very quiet. While Palm Paradise is a bit out of the way of the main strip of hotels and resorts we were able to get around both by foot and by public transportation. The buses are easy and cheap and a great way to get to town.

Highly recommended if you want a quiet vacation for a good price in a beautiful place!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palm Paradise Guest House + 2 Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Paradise Guest House + 2 Apartments

Address: Lot 2b Chapel Gap #1, Paynes Bay BB24008, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Paynes Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Paynes Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Paradise Guest House has 5 en-suite bedrooms + 2 Apartments on the West Coast of Barbados in St James. We serve Breakfast, Lunch and Evening Dinner and have an in House Bar. Dining both indoors and outdoors on the Terrace, in the Gazebo or indoors in the Bar area and dining room. The Studio Apartment with en-suite bathroom and a Kitchenette and dining area on the Balcony. The 1 Bedroom Apartment is self contained with Full Kitchen L shape Lounge and dining area, Bedroom and bathroom. Minutes walk from the beach and bus stop in Paynes Bay. Conveniently situated to reach all parts of the Island on public transport. We have a personal laundry service and maid service to all rooms-winter season daily and summer season every other day. Apartments have a weekly maid Service. All laundry provided. We can arrange trips within the Island and car hire, taxis etc. and always ready to help plan your days spent with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Palm Paradise Guest House + 2 Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Paradise Guest House + 2 Apartments Barbados/Saint James Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Paradise Guest House + 2 Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.