We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind by Elegant Hotels

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Tamarind by Elegant Hotels to your Saves list
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 429, Paynes Bay, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Paynes Bay
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great family hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We went for an Easter break with only half my family. My 2 daughters where away with school etc, so we decided to go here with my son and have a total beach week or so.
And we all can say we had a great time.
I booked well in advance. Our booking was not all smooth.I wanted a 1 bedroom ocean suite, but for the first night we was there it was not available.So i booked just a normal room.Ok we moved the next day to what was meant to be a 1 bed ocean suite... Well i paid top USD to get the room i wanted and when we got to the room i was not happy at all.... Ok But the manager was ready for this.... He explained it was busy period and the room we had asked for was booked another 2 days..... So can after some negotiations etc etc, we went to the room we wanted 228 2 days later... Now we are talking. All the rooms face out onto the beach, waking up first thing u see is the blue sea amazing.Also we had 2 bathroom and a nice size room.
The staff where so helpful with the situation and they knew what i wanted and they did everything in thier means...
So the staff i have to say are amazing, from cleaners to the manager.The pool and beach staff are very helpful and also nice just to talk to about their wonderful country.
The food is great, we did dine out alot to try other venues but ended up eating in the hotel 3 time in the evening.
Lunch was always good a nice selection to eat at the resturant or you could just eat at your sun loungers.
The water sports team are great and always helpful. There are alot of people trying to sell thing and push u on trips, at first i found this annoying. They arent over baring and in the end we did some boats trips and massages on the beach and have to say my first views where very wrong. All the people where nice helpful and if you didnt want to buy or go on a trip they where cool about it...
The pools are nice but we tended to stay on the beach...
There is a small Spa my wife went and she said it was ok.
So overall for a family its a great place and will be trying to come back fully loaded up with my family.
So please look out for my booking Marcia....

Room Tip: Try get sea view rooms.. 128 228 and 328 are the best i feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    171
    46
    11
    9
See reviews for
196
301
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

We are just ending our stay at the Tamarind and must say this was a real hit of a hotel. The management and staff are so helpful and friendly. The breakfast is great and the ladies who make the eggs are true experts. Rooms are spacious and clean and all amenities are what we could have requested.
100% yes recommendation.
Brian& Janet Cole

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

My family and I travelled to The Tamarind Cove to celebrate my husband's birthday. We have visited Barbados on many occasions but this was our first time to the Tamarind Cove!!! It was fabulous!!! Where to begin.....

My girls aged 9 and 6 loved the kids club. The ladies were kind, friendly and engaging. The girls did craft activities, played games, they have so much fun!. As a family we went on the Turtle trip with the kids club which was brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble for the kids club ladies they were amazing!! The kids even had a sleep over on the Saturday night with all the friends they had met!!! Thank you ladies.

The rooms were lovely, very spacious and clean. At turn down service in the evening fresh bottled water would also be delivered to the room.

The hotel sits on the most amazing beach, Paynes Bay...during the day the pool team would bring round cold towels and lollies!!! The Customer Service was brilliant...drinks, lunch would be brought to your sun lounger...whatever you want!!

Food and Beverage was high quality. The breakfast buffet was fabulous...catering for everyone's taste...lunch could be casual or you could sit in the beautiful beach side restaurant!! Likewise with dinner, you could opt for a formal dinner in the fabulous open air beach side restaurant or enjoy bar food. I would highly recommend the buffet evening...amazing seafood, steaks, salads and puddings!!!

For me time is precious and especially family holiday time....the most outstanding part of our holiday was how friendly and kind the Tamarind Team were towards us and all there costumers!!! The Customer Service is some of the best I have experienced. We were made to feel very special.

Thank you so much to Kim , Marcia and all the team at Tamarind Cove you made our holiday wonderful from start to finish and that means so much to me and my family!! We will be back next year. Thank you and see you soon. Amanda, Bill, Eloise and Ava.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHGSocialMedia, Guest Relations Manager at Tamarind by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Amanda, Bill, Eloise, and Ava,

Thank you for taking the time to share your warm comments on your recent stay.

We are delighted you chose Tamarind to celebrate your birthday celebrations, and we are happy we were able to help make this a special holiday for you and your family.

It is wonderful to hear that your daughters enjoyed our complimentary Kids Club and the variety of activities we offer, especially swimming with the turtles. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to our Kids Club Team, as they will be thrilled to have been mentioned.

We are also happy that our quality of food and our variety of menu items exceeded your expectations.

Our staff consistently strives to provide friendly and attentive service for all of our guests so it is encouraging to read how our team has left such a memorable impression for you.

Thank you for your fantastic review, and we are excited to welcome you back next year!

Sincerely,

Frankie F. – Social Media/Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

First up a big thanks to Chauntel , Deon and Mark C for great service , Kim has you all well trained.

This is a four star hotel with five star ambition , mainly because the staff try hard.

The location is brilliant , our third floor room was 5 metres from the sea , there are THREE pools , Watersports galore , and well serviced pool and beach sunbeds . All of the staff try hard and we felt well looked after .

Do go to the Wednesday free cocktail and subsequent BBQ.......the good is really really good if you don't mind buffet style. In fact we enjoyed the A La Carte nights too ......great value compared to , say , Daphne's ( next door , no cab needed ) .

And don't miss the Happy hour cocktails ; daiquiris to die for .

Finally , breakfast , if you like English Breakfast , you will be at home.

We will be back . Well done Kim , your team have been a credit to you .

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Have a fantastic week at the Tamarind in March. The room (232) had a new en suite, as had all the rooms at the front of the block. Pools and beach as good as ever. Staff superb, they really make the holiday special, especially in the bars!! The food was excellent. If you want a friendly hotel with great food, facilities and staff you cannot beat the Tamarind.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Tamarind is easily the best hotel in Barbados for families, and those wanting a relaxed atmosphere in a fantastic location. We have been stating there every Easter for the last 7 years. My daughters are now teenagers, and I can imagine them still wanting to join well into their twenties! I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Justin and Emma

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHGSocialMedia, Guest Relations Manager at Tamarind by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Justin and Emma,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us over Easter.

We continuously strive to provide our guests with an amazing experience so we are extremely pleased we were able to provide this once again for you and your family.

On behalf of the entire team at Tamarind, we want to thank you for your loyalty, and we look forward to your return visit next year.

Sincerely,

Frankie F. – Social Media/Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We have just spent a very enjoyable three weeks at the Tamarind, returning to Barbados after an absence of several years.

Our initial impressions were not good, as the "suite" we had booked, turned out to be a rather dark and damp-smelling room on the ground floor. However, the hotel moved us on the second day to a much brighter and more cheerful "suite" on the top floor. (Incidentally the dictionary defines a hotel suite as a "connected series of rooms" so I do not see how a single room can be described as a "suite", however nice it is.)

The Tamarind's location is excellent, being right on the beach. And although it became crowded (particularly once the UK school holidays started), there was never a problem finding a sun lounger either by the pool or on the beach.

One nice touch is that guests are given free fruit every morning and a free ice cream every afternoon, as well as ice-cold face towels.

One of the most impressive features was the standard of the food. It was consistently excellent. And although we tried all the currently trendy restaurants during our stay (The Cliff, Champers, The Tides, Cin Cin etc.), we felt the meals at the Tamarind compared pretty well. (The Sunday lunch barbecue buffet was a particular highlight).

But there are a few negatives. The housekeeping service was unreliable, with our room not being made up until 3-4 in the afternoon. However, when I complained, things improved for the remainder of our stay.

The hotel clearly has an ongoing problem with its plumbing. Hot water in our room was intermittent, and the loo either failed or flooded on a number of occasions. This is something they need to fix.

But overall I think the Tamarind is a good mid-market hotel. There are a number of posher, more exclusive hotels but these are considerably more expensive. The Tamarind offers real value for money.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the ground floor; the ones on higher floors are brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHGSocialMedia, Guest Relations Manager at Tamarind by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Victor V.,
Thank you for your nice review of Tamarind. We are glad you had an enjoyable and relaxing stay with us. Very happy to hear you were impressed by the dining options, food quality and our location. The platinum West coast has some of the best beaches in the Caribbean. Sorry to hear you had issues with your first room but glad we were able to provide another room that met to your satisfaction. Typically if a room is identified as a "Junior Suite" it is a large guest room and not necessarily a separate bedroom and living space. And lastly, we are extremely delighted you were happy with your purchase. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful property.

Sincerely,
Frankie F., Guest Services/Social Media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tamarind by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind by Elegant Hotels

Address: PO Box 429, Paynes Bay, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Paynes Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Paynes Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamarind by Elegant Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarind rests on a 750-foot crescent of premium West Coast white sand beach and is as family-friendly as it is an exclusive adult hideaway. Tamarind features contemporary guestrooms, an intimate spa and relaxation space and two restaurants. Contemporary sun loungers, day beds and decks, transform outdoor spaces into outdoor 'living rooms' providing flexible spaces for dining, drinking, relaxing and events. Complimentary features include: motorized and non-motorized watersports, daily buffet breakfast, WiFi in rooms and throughout property, fitness center and classes and water taxi to other Elegant Hotels' west coast properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. and Tingo so you can book your Tamarind by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind By Elegant Hotel Paynes Bay
Tamarind Cove Saint James
Tamarind Cove Barbados
Hotel Tamarind Cove
Tamarind By Elegant Hotels Barbados/Saint James Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarind by Elegant Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.