We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd choice, 1st class” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind by Elegant Hotels

Save Saved
You added Tamarind by Elegant Hotels to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 429, Paynes Bay, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Paynes Bay
Jordanstown,N Ireland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“2nd choice, 1st class”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband & I ended up in the Tamarind by default. We had originally chosen the Treasure Beach next door (primarily due to the size - it only has 35 suites) but due to a water problem we were moved to the Tamarind Cove, which (co-incidentally) had been our 2nd choice.

We were very impressed with the welcome at check in, from the cold towels and rum punch to the plethora of information from the staff. There is a lovely view straight through reception to the ocean which is a very welcoming sight especially if (under normal circumstances) you have just come from the airport. The guy who showed us to our room was very thorough, pointing out where everything was located and showing us how all the lighting worked as there seemed to be several options. There was also a docking station which was useful. The room was large & comfortable with an ocean view and the loungers on the balcony were as comfortable as the sofa in the room.

The staff were friendly and helpful. On one occasion the air conditioning unit in the room seemed a little noisy, so I mentioned it to reception and it was quickly rectified. At the cocktail party, where they served some tasty canapes, the staff made a point of talking to everyone to ensure they were enjoying their stay and asking if they had any issues. I had never experienced such a pro-active approach before. More to the point, I didn't hear anyone complaining.

The hotel is in a lovely location right on the beach. There are some licensed beach sellers but they are friendly and don't hassle you. The sun loungers are very comfortable and the offer of an occasional cold towel, fruit kebab or ice lolly was very welcome. We didn't use the spa but the access to our room was past the spa pool. Although we didn't use it, this looked like a lovely relaxing, peaceful area with comfortable sun loungers.

We stayed on a half board basis. There was a good selection at the breakfast buffet although some of the fruit was tinned which may not appeal to everyone. The chef who cooked the eggs was in constant demand and did a great job turning out excellent poached & fried eggs, omelettes and every conceivable alternative simultaneously.

We had only two slight issues which bothered us -both at breakfast. When you are shown to your table, the order is taken for tea/coffee. Sometimes it doesn't arrive - not a big problem- I do have a tongue in my head. However, on our last morning it took 4 requests before the drinks arrived with the waitress explaining that they had make fresh coffee!! It doesn't quite explain how the occupants of the four tables around us, who had been seated after us, had all been served their drinks - but it is the Carribean &, to a certain extent, you just go with the flow.

The other issue - the birds. My tip - ensure someone remains at the table on bird watch as they will land on the crockery/cutlery & eat & drink anything accessible. The hotel management could help by ensuring that all vacated tables are cleared as quickly as possible - this varied quite a lot during our stay. It is not a major problem and it was much worse on a previous trip to Barbados when we stayed at a different hotel but there is no doubt that the birds are opportunists & all offerings will be gratefully received!

There were no such issues at dinner when we had friendly, efficient service and tasty, well presented food. One particular cheesecake was exquisite - & we don't usually eat dessert. We did enjoy some meals more than others but that is really down to personal taste.

There are restaurants in the area although I would be reluctant to walk to any (other than Daphnes which is beside the hotel) as the road is very busy.

All in all we had a very enjoyable stay and hope to return to the Tamarind in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    314
    157
    41
    11
    8
See reviews for
170
257
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

As this is our third visit to Tamarind since it was redeveloped , it's going to be a fair bet we enjoyed it again. Guess what, we had a fabulous time!
All the other reviews focus on the hotels facilities etc.for us the big plus that draws us back to Tamarind and really makes the difference are the management and staff of the hotel.From Kim the GM right through the team, they are polite, attentive and always cheerful,as we walked into Reception this time we immediately felt relaxed and at home.
This is never easy to achieve as everybody knows, the best example I can give is we left two sun hats last time we visited, and there they were on our return to our room!
The weather was really good too!
If this is your first time to the west coast of Barbados there are some fabulous restaurants right on the beach, but please don't expect them to be significantly less that what you would currently pay in a city centre restaurant.
We visited between the 5th and 12 th December.
Enjoy!, we will be back

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Great location, great potential but does not live up to expectations.

Granted we came over the holiday period but for the price they are asking ( some nights were close to 375 usd then others close to 650usd, including bkft, before we paid upgrade ) they could do more, much more hence the "average" rating.

Rooms are quite dated and in need of an uplift. We had originally taken a standard room ( not like we were going to spend most of our time there anyway). The rooms were on the main road were you can clearly hear the honks, cars and buses passing by. Seemed like walls and doors were made out of cardboard. Rooms were very small. Looked more like a motel than 4*+ hotel. When we went back to front desk and spoke to manager, our only option was to upgrade to a junior suite at around 170USD more a night. I must say that the room was MUCH better both from quality, size and sound purposes. Still not the best way to start vacation.

The breakfast buffet for the first few days was ok. Not much variety. For example no cottage cheese or cream cheese although they had bagels.

Things did seem to improve closer to xmas. For example:

- Breakfast buffet got more choices: Smoked salmon, capers, cottage cheese and cream cheese appeared. Even got eggs benedict at some point.
-Turn down service was inexistent for the first few days but started on the 5th day and came with chocolates and small bottled water.

I would agree with most people and say that all level of staff is friendly and do try their best to make stay comfortable or fix issues.

The Tamarind is not a bad hotel. It has a great location and is close to Holetown and a few great restaurants ( Daphne -next door, and The Cliff- at walking distance). Great beach ( including few habitual hagglers including the local "pharmacist"). I reckon the value might be better off-season were the rates are not exhorbitant vs what they offer. Something to bear in mind.

Room Tip: Ask for room that does not have direct access to road. Quite noisy. Standard rooms are quite small
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We only spent two nights here and we had a great time, how can you not steps away from the beach, an amazing sunset and a burger to die for. It was our honeymoon and we had spent most of our time in a private villa so we had picked this based on it being one of the more affordable hotels, relatively speaking, on the west coast and some of my family was staying there too. They kindly upgraded us to a ocean front room and it is right on the beach. Nice layout, complimentary breakfast, ice pops at the pool and many free water sports,not jet skis though. Staff not very friendly and maid service had not shown up by 3pm, had to call. No free internet in room, but can go to bar and use. No smoking on patios and the covered areas but because we were on ground floor it wasn't an issue. Very nice beach and we had a blast snorkeling. Can't really walk into town, and pretty dead at hotel but we were there before the high season so maybe it gets more jumping at night. We loved Barbados, but I don't think we would come back to the resort, it just wasn't compelling enough to warrent a revisit but we still had a great few days while staying there.

Room Tip: Hard to say, patio doors do not lock/unlock from outside so you have to walk around but not a big pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Barbados
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Tamarind provided excellent service to my elderly and somewhat disabled mum, cousin and me as we went on a Staycation to celebrate her birthday. Guest Relations Manager was really helpful and had wheel chair ready on arrival and water sports guys helped her in and out of the sea. Beware that the beach has a dip when you go into the water so getting in and out can be difficult. Everyone was friendly and welcoming ...made us feel at home. Room looked new with bright decor and it was spacious with huge walk in closet that is great for three adults sharing a room. We had a lovely tea ....well priced with visiting friends to celebrate the birthday and tasty buffet lunch with family on Sunday with a wide range of dishes. Property is well ramped and tub was low enough for Mum to get in and out easily. Our room opened out onto a beautiful garden with mature trees and then straight onto the beach and was near pool and dining area. Lovely!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This hotel has a great location and the staff are great, however the rooms are tired looking and we felt not worth the asking price.

We moved from one room that was supposed to have a pool view but didn't, it also felt like a budget room not the four stars it has... The second room was a lot better but it still didn't feel like a four star hotel.

The room servicing was done to a high standard yet the room was never done before 1430... There was a few times we came back from a day out only to be disturbed by housekeeping to clean our room.

We will not be returning here in the future.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view rather than pool view and not on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I had a truly lovely holiday here. I could not fault the location, hotel, food or service.

I would advise a trip out on a Catamaran to swin with the turtles. Lovely experience

Since my visit - I have been hoping to return, and will be in the near future

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tamarind by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind by Elegant Hotels

Address: PO Box 429, Paynes Bay, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Paynes Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Paynes Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamarind by Elegant Hotels 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redesigned and reimagined, Tamarind rests on a 750-foot crescent of premium West Coast white sandy beach and is as family-friendly as it is an exclusive adult hideaway. Tamarind features renovated and modernized guestrooms, the addition of an intimate spa and relaxation space and two completely re-imagined restaurants. Contemporary sun loungers, day beds and decks, transform outdoor spaces into outdoor ‘living rooms’ providing flexible spaces for dining, drinking, relaxing and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Otel and Regatta Hotels so you can book your Tamarind by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind By Elegant Hotel Paynes Bay
Tamarind Cove Saint James
Tamarind Cove Barbados
Hotel Tamarind Cove
Tamarind By Elegant Hotels Barbados/Saint James Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarind by Elegant Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.