We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind by Elegant Hotels

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tamarind by Elegant Hotels to your Saves list
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 429, Paynes Bay, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Paynes Bay
Merrick, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

This was our visit to barbados, we really liked the island, and would definitely return. The tamarind is between a 3 to 4 star hotel. We upgraded to oceanfront and it really made the vacation. Our room was large and a big balcony with chairs and chaise lounge where we enjoyed just looking out at the ocean.

The food was pretty bad. The included breakfast was fine. Their fruit was some melon and canned peaches. But they had made to order eggs, pancakes, etc. we had our first lunch it was a club sandwich made with processed turkey you would find in a school cafeteria, and charge 20 dollars u.s.. After that we did not eat at the hotel. Took a water taxi to sister property Colony Club higher end property and a lovely lunch overlooking ocean. Same pricing as Tamarind.

The Tamarind as a hotel is good, not great. the staff was really nice. The weather was great, water was clear. And we missed a snowstorm in New York. I would like to go back only if I get a good deal on upgraded room, like we did. If not I would stay elsewhere that is actually a 4 star property

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    170
    44
    11
    8
See reviews for
194
294
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My buddy and I just returned from a week's vacation at the Tamarind Hotel located in Paynes Bay, Barbados. Trip dates: 10/27 to 11/4/12.

The Tamarind is a lovely, upscale (but not pretentious) Mediterranean-style hotel located on the West coast of Barbados. The staff at the hotel are all lovely, accommodating and oh so sweet. They are always pleasant and friendly no matter what you ask or need. The guys at the beach are all nice as well and not intrusive in any way. The grounds are beautiful and spacious. The beach is lovely especially with all the trees under which you can bathe in the sun without getting scorched. If the surf is up, you may want to pass on a swim because the shells and rocks can be a little dangerous with the churning waves. However, when the sea is calm, you must go for a long swim...absolutely lovely water.

The rooms are very nice and have all the mod cons. The view from the "oceanview" balconies are all lovely. We were the only Americans at the hotel which was nice for a change of scenery. There were mostly families and couples staying at the hotel during our visit but this didn't bother we gals at all. There is a great adult pool if you don't want to hang with the kiddies. This pool was fantastic, clean and very serene...it was really our favorite spot. We opted for the breakfast plan and glad we did. The buffet each morning was delicious and diverse. Coffee was fab too!!! If the coffee (and rum punch) is great at a hotel, you know it is going to be a decent holiday. :) We dined out each night and this gave us an opportunity to also explore a bit of the island whilst driving to/from the restaurants on the west and south coasts. I would highly recommend the Fish Pot up north in Six Men's Bay and the Waterside Restaurant down on the South coast. Mr. Vic's across the road from the Tamarind is a nice little spot for drinks and local food...nice owners and good eats. Surfside up in Holetown is a fun place for post-shopping, beachside cocktails, decent eats and local chats. Eating out can burn a few holes in your wallet...but heck, we are on vacation after all...right? And there are so many good restaurants from which to choose. The bar and restaurants at hotel were all good too if you get lazy and want to stay local.

Last but not least, do hire Livington if you want a great driver for the week. He is a lovely, honest man who we would highly recommend to any traveler who would prefers the convenience of taxis for the week. Just tell the receptionist at the hotel that you would like Livingston as your driver. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Myself, my wife and 3 children have just returned from a one week stay in room 228 and found it a fantastic holiday. The food has improved significantly since our last visit 6 years ago. The staff are very helpful and friendly and we felt it was a safe and happy place to take our children, aged 4, 6 and 12 years. The location of the hotel is fantastic for being central to the high quality restaurants on the West Coast, and with a beautiful beach this well run hotel is an excellent package for families and couples alike.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Staff are very nice and accommodating however the property itself does not look like the pictures on website in reality. Needs a little updating. Can't swim in front of the property, have to walk down further due to a coral reef that will cut your feet and makes the water rough. The water sports are nice, see Ovie for that. Definitely recommend swimming with the turtles and renting a car for the day to go to easy coast. Stunning views. Resort is kid friendly so if you're trying to escape your own them don't stay here at high seasons or on holidays and if you do ask for a room away from Raikas bar which is where the kids hang out most. On the other hand if you ate bringing your kids then great property for them. They have activities for them. To get around town I recommend the yellow bus AKA Reggae Bus. Taxi's are a bit pricey. Hole town for shopping and going to Limegrove for a bar scene. Right across the street from hotel is Mr. Vic's. a must to have dinner one night. Very homey and casual and the good is great!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Great family hotel ,lots of water sports activities. Amazing views ,amazingly helpful staff all polite.
great fun for all the family. Food was great and a great pool temp.It is so relaxing you could fall in love .Considering we were only there for 8 days it wasa great family holiday.Westayed in roon 314,great views.would definatley come again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed at the Tamarind for 3 weeks during October 2012, and got married at the Hotel.
Every thing about the Hotel and the service is first class. A huge thankyou to Sophia the wedding co-ordinator. If you are considering getting married at the Tamarind, you will not be dissapointed. The whole process is stress free due to Sophia's organisation and calm professional manner, nothing is too much trouble. The resident photographer Bill, took some amazing photo's, and would highly recommend him.
Kim the General Manager is very attentive to all the guest's and always had a big smile for you.
Arden at the 246 Bar is one hell of a guy, make sure you ask him for one of his special cocktales. All the staff are really friendly and helpful, which made our stay very special.
The hotel, rooms and grounds are kept spotless all the time, with plenty of sun loungers and fresh towels. During the day you are treated to ice cold towels, fresh fruit and ice creams, and a great bar service, all from the comfort of your sun lounger.
If your on the beach, enjoy the free water sports. At some point you will be greeted by Ovy, top guy that rents his jetski. You will also come across the beach sellers, selling everything from hand made jewellery to foot massages. If your not interested a simple "No thankyou" is enough, be nice, they are just trying to make a living.
If you fancy eating out, there is the great Mr Vics a short stroll up the road, or scarlets which is a real Gem.
We will be back next year, It's too good to miss.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lifton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We only had a week here but immediately felt relaxed when we arrived. Hotel rooms nicely furnished, well appointed with fridges for personal use, great air conditioning and spotlessly clean. Fab views of the ocean & spectacular sunsets from the balcony. Staff and management extremely friendly and helpful. Great buffet breakfast, delicious baking. Sadly the service at lunch and dinner didn't match the rest of our experience - it was too slow and food, though OK, was overpriced. So much so we opted to eat out at local restaurants (of which there is a great choice) for most of our stay. That said, on a B&B basis, it's a great place for a family holiday, great pools, garden and proximity to beach for the kids. Excellent watersports facilities, all in the price (including motorised) which was a real bonus. Great location for visiting other parts of the West coast - bus stop for the 'reggae taxis' right outside. Would love to return ...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tamarind by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind by Elegant Hotels

Address: PO Box 429, Paynes Bay, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Paynes Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Paynes Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamarind by Elegant Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarind rests on a 750-foot crescent of premium West Coast white sand beach and is as family-friendly as it is an exclusive adult hideaway. Tamarind features contemporary guestrooms, an intimate spa and relaxation space and two restaurants. Contemporary sun loungers, day beds and decks, transform outdoor spaces into outdoor 'living rooms' providing flexible spaces for dining, drinking, relaxing and events. Complimentary features include: motorized and non-motorized watersports, daily buffet breakfast, WiFi in rooms and throughout property, fitness center and classes and water taxi to other Elegant Hotels' west coast properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Regatta Hotels and Tingo so you can book your Tamarind by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind By Elegant Hotel Paynes Bay
Tamarind Cove Saint James
Tamarind Cove Barbados
Hotel Tamarind Cove
Tamarind By Elegant Hotels Barbados/Saint James Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarind by Elegant Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.