We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brill hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. George

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel St. George to your Saves list
Hotel St. George
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   PO Box 62372, Chlorakas 8063, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Armagh
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“brill hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2007

stayed here with my mother and 4yr old.we had a wonderful wk.hotel and staff were 1st class.didnt need to go into resort as everything you need is at hotel.food was excellent with wide and varied menu each night.if had 1 complaint staff were bit quick to lift your plates ie child wasnt finished.rooms very clean and pool area etc cleaned every day.entertainment ok.book sea view as you wont be disappointed.great to wake up to each morning.reception staff and guy in shop were both helpful and friendly.when my mother dropped her ring down sink staff were there in minutes and got it out.all in all we had a very relaxing week at st george and wud not hesitate to go again or recommend it to anyone.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    343
    122
    40
    22
See reviews for
226
567
22
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
leeds uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2007

just got back and loved the st george .The last two postings just about summed this hotel up for us .This hotel is very well run with excellent staff .A word of warning though ! make sure you pay for the room upgrade to pool /sea view because we didnt and got a room at the back of the hotel which you really dont need ,as it had a fairley scruffy view with the smell of the bins thrown in ,so you have been warned .We changed room straight away and from them on we had a really nice relaxing time as this hotel isnt the sort that attracts the lager lout type (thank god).Long trousers only on a night for dining so take a few pairs with you .All in all i would recommend this hotel for people looking for a quite get away so young teens and groups would be better looking elseware .Thanks

  • Liked — Lack Of Lager Louts(When We Were There)
  • Disliked — No Major Probs Here
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lincolnshire UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2007

Stayed at The St George June 2007 - booked through Thomson Platinum - it is a really nice hotel and we would recommend it...there are some down sides - but good bits out way the not so good bits..!!

The service was first class, good food, although drinks at the hotel can be expensive.....public areas really impressive - we were dissapointed with the bedroom - thought it was a bit ordinary - Having booked through Thomson Platinum we expected that the room would be of a higher standard, ..room was very ordinary...yes you get wine / fruit on arrival ,,,you get the bathrobes / slippers..all very nice.. .. however the fridge was only cool / air con was noisy...
Pool area is really nice / beach is not great - only small- looks man made and is also used by locals....Location for us was fine - just a few local bars - about 10mins to either Paphos or Coral Bay by local bus which runs every 15mins- It is definatley worth a vist to the beach at Coral Bay it is really lovely.
Many people visit this hotel on a regular basis - so this is a good testimonial to the hotel - however the entertainment is pretty poor - the hotel caters for the older guest - if you like Bingo - Folk Dancing and Trivial Pursuits then you will be in heaven.

  • Liked — service and food
  • Disliked — evening entertainment
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2007

We (a 21 year old couple) stayed at this hotel in July 2007. We had read mixed reviews about the location of the hotel, but we were amazed that anyone thought it was "just an average hotel".
It is situated between Paphos and Coral Bay, both destinations an 80 cent bus ride until about 11pm, taxis vary between 6 and 8 CYP from either place.

LOCATION:

The hotel itself was about a 30min transfer from Paphos Airport. On arrival we were greeted by porters and served with orange juice and sat down for a few mins. We paid extra for a sea view room and it was well worth it. Superb views, especially in the evening when the sun sets over the sea. We also had a high level room on the top (4th) floor and this made the view even better. The other side overlooks a bit of derelict land and towards the main road between Paphos and Coral Bay, but whilst inside the hotel and pool area, there is no evidence of this from noise etc.

FOOD:

We went half board and found that the buffet options changed each night with different Cypriot and other international dishes available. There is always a good selection of meats available, and even with my girlfriend being a fairly fussy vegetarian, there was plenty of potato and veg dishes along with a veggie alternative each night. Breakfast in the morn was the usall with a choice of anything from cereal, fry up, toast, continental, cheeses etc.

STAFF:

Staff couldnt be helpful enough, from the reception to the waitresses and to the cleaners. The reception would always be pleased to answer any queries and advise us, the waitresses always served people with smiles and seemed really happy to do as much as they could to help you relax and take it easy. The porters and cleaners were really friendly and efficient,

POOL AND BEACH AREA:

Pool area was very clean with a swim up bar. Sunbeds provided but tended to get the usual towel reserving early on so I advise to get down there soon after breakfast if you intend to get sunbeds right next to pool. If not there are loads more sunbeds on grass areas along path down to beach, but these get taken up quite early as well. The Beach area is set in its own break water so although it gets fairly deep it is fairly safe for bathing in, the only thing we found ws that the bottom was a rocky concrete type surface so it was fairly slippery. There is a small beach bar and tables here as well so you dont have to go back up near pool to get drinks.

ROOM:

Room was your typical room with the usual amenities. Twin beds, shower/bath etc. TVs had BBC1,2 and Sky News and occasionally ITV. Safety boxes in wardrobe. Air Con has its individual control box and we found that by setting it to 5 on high soon colled the room after entering it, but probs a bit noisy at night so best to set it on low.

ENTERTAINMENT:

Each night there would be a different act on between about 9pm and 11pm, before this there would be childrens shows on with sing alongs etc. The main night time acts were set in the terrace area near pool and some were better acts than others but the sort of traditional holiday entertainment.( The hypnotist was fairly entertaining).
There is also th beach bar that is fairly quiet at night but sometimes has wedding parties going on. QUite nice if you want a quiet drink by the sea at night.
The Piano bar near reception is fairly relaxing with a different singer most nights, ranging from English singers to Cypriot musicians performing their own versions of well known songs,

TRIPS/EXCURSIONS:

We only went on one trip arranged by the reps. This was the Jeep safari to the Trodos Mountains, and I would reccommend this to people of all ages. It is a fairly early start, but the driver meets up with other jeeps and introduces all the drivers. The whole day is filmed and you can buy the DVD for £12 at the end. The trip takes you to the top of Mount Olympus with various stops along the way and then a lunch stop and viewing of waterfalls on way down, ending with a drink stop and preview of DVD. The drivers make this day with their humour and knowledge and considering our driver does it 4 times a week, he didnt seem bored by it. We got back at about 5 and found that it was a great experience, whilst also pretty tiring.

Coral Bay was our favourite place during the holiday. Its a 5min/ 80cent bus journey and there is a main street with bars, restaurants and shops but nothing to OTT or busy. If you want to visit a superb beach stay on the bus until it starts to leave the main shop/bar area and there is Coral Bay Beach a short walk down a slight hill. We had to go back to this beach, we enjoyed it that much. It's not the biggest but there are plenty of sunbeds to hire. There are 2 beach bars/restaurants either side of the beach and a radio station (Point fm) broadcast live from them from 2-6pm which gave it a good atmosphere. There is a waitress service from bars with an extremely friendly waitress walking around sunbeds taking orders. There are also plenty of watersports available and the sea is very clear and fairly calm.

Paphos Harbour is a nice place to visit. We had lunch at the HOBO sitting on a sofa right next to harbour which was a nice way to relax. There are numerous boat trips on offer and although the reps offer these its just as easy to go to Paphos and book whichever one takes your fancy. Watch out for the resident Pelican who we saw standing near boats!!

OVERALL:

All in all we thoroughly enjoyed staying at this hotel. There was quite a few British people staying here and because the tables at dinner are set quite close together we spoke to lots of different people who all seemed to be enjoying themselves.
The staff helped to make this hotel what it is, and they really couldnt do enough for us.
We would definately go back to this hotel and wouldn't hestitate to reccommend it to others. The only slight bad thing about it was that it is right in the middle of 2 main destinations so although there are a handful of bars/restaurants and shops at top of road, you will have to get a bus/ taxi to and from Coral Bay and Paphos to experience the main nightlife/ restaurants in the area.
I would say this hotel is best for couples and familes. We saw several young couples like ourselves as well as older couples and families. There were a few children about but not loads, although to be honest this hotel seemed to cater for all ages.

Any questions about hotel or area please don't hesitate to message me!!

  • Liked — Staff Efficiency and the sea-view room
  • Disliked — Sun beds taken up very early on
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2007

I stayed at the St George Apartments - part of the St George Hotel with my partner and 7 year old daughter. On arrival the front of the hotel looked quite small, but the special bit of this hotel is at the back. As you walk into reception there is a terrace which is part of the bar and you can sit out there anytime with views over the sea. The reception staff were friendly & couteous, the porter took our bags to our room (1 floor down!) Showed us how to work the air conditioning etc. Even though the bar was above us we never had any noise issues. We booked self catering but after sampling the food in the hotel restaurant we upgraded to all inclusive. There was a buffet for breakfast & dinner each evening with snacks being served by the pool. It was my daughters 8th birthday while we were staying and the hotel provided a very nice chocolate cake, birthday card & bottle of champagne (for the adults of course!) The room was basic but comfortable and clean with good clean kitchen facilites (even though we didn't use them in the end!) and excellant air-conditioning that was much needed. The sea view was well worth paying the suplement for as Cyprus has some fantastic sunsets. We also overlooked the hotels beach and gardens. The pool area was clean and very child friendly with a baby pool and jacuzzis in the main pool with no problem getting a lounger in the day. My daughter also went to the kids club a couple of times and enjoyed it very much, they all made her cards on her birthday. We also enjoyed the hotels entertainment at the adjoining St George Hotel in the outside bar area, I don't think I've ever laughed so much at Bingo!! The entertainment team were also around during the day (mainly at The St George Hotel) but they did encourage everyone to a game of water polo one day which was good fun. The Apartments also had an indoor swimming pool, sauna and gym which we didn't sample as the weather was too good outside! I would have no problems in recommending these apartments to anyone with children and cannot fault my weeks holiday except that I wish we'd stayed longer. We booked with Olympic holidays although didn't see a rep there until the departure day, we will definatly return!

  • Liked — Very relaxed apartments only 10 mins from touristy bits of Paphos, right on beach!
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2007

From the moment we arraved to the time we left, we were treated brilliantly. On arrival you enter the reception area which was absoloutly stunning. Check in was quick and dealt with by very freindly staff. The rooms were very clean and the bed was comfortable and massive. There was fresh fruit and a bottle of wine to greet us. Also there are slippers and dressing gowns in the room. We arrived late and was offered dinner. The resteraunt was large, clean and well set out. Next was our first experiance of the fantastic menu. There was so much to choose, from soup and salad for starters to a large selection of main meals and a cavery. Then there was the puddings which were amazing, and plenty of variation. Each night it was different but with the same variety. Breakfast was the same, English or continental, with plenty of choice and fresh fruit.. I would also like to comend the resteraunt staff who were freindly and helpfull and kept the tables clean.
There are 3 different bars, one for relaxing with live easy listening music, an open air bar where there is entertainment each night, we only stayed at the hotel 3 nights and found the entertainers very good, and a beach bar where most families with children went. At each of the bars there was waitress service, which was quick and all waitresses were very freindly.
The hotel grounds were spacious and weel kept with plenty of sun loungers.
There are 5 bars/resteraunts within easy walking distance from the hotel if you want a change of scenery.
Paphos is a 15 minute bus or 5 minute taxi ride away.
We had a brilliant stay and could not fault this hotel and I can't understand anybody giving any negative feedback of thei hotel.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2007

Just returned from a last minute booking at the St George,as the other comments have stated this hotel is far from a 5star. The entrance is very nice,the rooms are the smallest we have had in any Platinum rated accomodation and we have been to many.The food is very average with the dining room becoming very crowded at popular times. The pool area was not cleaned on a regular basis and on one occasion i noticed a family request the removal of a dead bird.The hotel is pricey on snacks and drinks,a toastie and a club sandwich with two soft drinks was £13.20. A coke at the pool bar was £3.50. If i had paid the full price for this hotel i would not have been very happy,it would appear Thomson have rates varying from £385 to £600 per person per week SHOP AROUND BEFORE BOOKING

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel St. George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. George

Address: PO Box 62372, Chlorakas 8063, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Chlorakas
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Chlorakas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. George 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St George Hotel Golf & Spa Resort. Enjoy a sun-filled holiday in Cyprus by booking your stay at the comfortable and attractive 4 Star St George Hotel Spa & Golf Resort. The St George Hotel Spa & Golf Beach Resort is superbly situated on 7 acres of land, one third of which are landscaped gardens, bordered by rolling hills on the one side and the Mediterranean Sea on the other. Directly on the beach of Chlorakas, and only 5 minutes from the picturesque harbour of Pafos, this is a great hotel for couples and families with modern facilities and 255 comfortable guestrooms and suites. Guests of the St George Hotel Spa & Golf Beach Resort can discover delightful beaches and explore charming little villages with a variety of restaurants and bars and relax in front of the most beautiful sunsets nature has to offer. For an affordable holiday in Cyprus this hotel makes the grade! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel St. George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St. George Cyprus/Chlorakas
St George Paphos
St George Hotel Paphos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.