We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to complain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. George

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel St. George to your Saves list
Hotel St. George
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   PO Box 62372, Chlorakas 8063, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Llanelli, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hard to complain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

Excellent hotel, staff at all levels freindly, smart and very efficient.
Food was good quality, breakfast covered all options, dinner was very much standard buffett, good variations, veg. not great but plenty of fresh salad, carvary meat good to a turn. Simple and frequent bus service to all parts of Paphos and Coral Bay.
Entertainment not everyones cup of tea but there was a choice every night. Lots of weddings but they didn't interfer with other guests in any way, in fact, provided some light entertainment during the heat of the afternoon. Rooms adequate, very clean (maid service every day), A/C a little noisy at night. Hotels best asset, well trained and very pleasant staff.

  • Liked — Clean, pleasent view, excellent service from housekeeping
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    324
    116
    37
    20
See reviews for
208
515
19
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
london
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2008

We grabbed a cheap week's sun to escape the weather in October and were surprised at the quality of the hotel. Its 5 miles from the main Paphos Harbour resort but its very easy to jump on the local bus outside. The man made beach and cove was excellent for wave free swinning. Plenty of sun beds and waitress service for drinks. The buffet breakfast was Ok but nothing spectacular. We didn't eat in the hotel at night so cannot comment on the food but ti did seem massively overpriced compared to the 3 restaurants on the otherside of the road. The room was adequate but ac was noisy and the fridge sounded like a truck so we switched it off. The hotel is very clean and modern and the staff were good. We went to the Venus Beach a few years back and the st george is a class above in every aspect. If you have no desire to be in the centre of paphos its a good bet.

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2008

We stayed at this hotel in June as we were attending a wedding and wanted a hotel which wasn't too expensive. Compared to other hotels in the area this was very competitively priced (half the price comapred to what my family had paid at other hotels). The main reason is, this is really far from the main resort area so if this is not a problem this hotel is a great choice. We knew the distance before we booked and hired a car, Paphos is about a 10 minute drive or there is a bus stop not far from the hotel. We stayed bed breakfast and evening meal, the breakfast service was fine, plenty of choice. The evening meal was superb, the tour operator reviews on the meal service didn't look too good so we expected to eat out alot but after trying it the first night we were very impressed. This is my second visit to Cyprus and since the introduction of the Euro it has gone very very expensive so the half board option is a great choice. There was nightly entertainment which was ok but not fantatsic. Lovely pool, good variety of daytime activity. Nice rooms (not anything too spectacular but comfortable) robes and slippers in rooms. Friendly staff. Overall a good standard hotel, would visit again. Try the st georges iced coffee it is heaven! Beautiful church in grounds too if you are getting married!

  • Liked — Pool
  • Disliked — Difficult for wheelchair users (but so is the whole of Paphos!)
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2008

Delighted to support previous reviews as just returned from holiday on 24th September. Took my elderly mother on holiday and hotel was perfect. Classy refurbishment as described in all reception areas and staff helpful, friendly but not intrusive. We were half board and enjoyed buffet selections for breakfast (fresh crepes-yummee!!) and Chef 'show cooking' and varied meat/fish/pasta/vegetable options at buffet dinner.
Lots of space to sunbathe around pool and lots of sunbeds in garden areas beside ocean. weather superb-29 degree's and cooling breeze. choice of bars for lunch and small beach bar to enjoy a drink and watch the waves. The animation team are delightful and work really hard but do not annoy if you do not want to join water polo/aqua aerobics etc. A few children around hotel but adult age group varied from the 20's to the 70/80's and was a good mixture.
Due to the parent's limited mobility had to use taxi's for transport and prices varied each time-anything from 10 euro's to 15 euro's to paphos. Not much around hotel but that was not an issue for us as taxi to pahos allowed my mum to potter the promenade and shopping area in paphos. Good selection of cafes to people watch and drink coffee.
Did one trip to monastery in Troodos mountains and again guide and coach driver really helpful. We did not realise lots of steps at monastery but coach driver got everyone else off at front door and then drove round to disabled entrance for us .
Afternoons if the heat got too much you can enjoy the numerous weddings as the hotel has a chapel just up the hill from it. (we had 7 weddings in 3 days-great to watch and admire dresses/shoes/bride/brides mums hat etc!!)

Leisurely evening in hotel passed by either watching evening programme or just perched in the elegant reception areas with drink/coffee listening to the music from the piano bar.

So summary, book hotel with confidence. Pay extra for sea view, it is worth it for the sunsets and for waking up listening to the waves. We had 1420 and it was 4th floor with pool and sea view-perfect location. Perfect hotel for a chilled out, hotel based holiday.

  • Liked — great reception areas and restaurant
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2008

We had a lovely time at the hotel the staff were very friendly. The food was very good and large choice, We found the price's more than in GB. Not much of a beach but penlty of sunbeds but they will go if you are not there early, the main town paphos and harbour are only a short bus ride away which only cost 1.5 euros.We hired a car for three days which we found the best thing to do to see the island as the trips out were quite expensive.The only trip we did was the flight to Egypt for the day which we booked before online at home which was a big mistake . When we wen the meeting with the reps we were informed that the day had changed from Tuesday to Thursday and that the trip was now cheaper but we would be reinbursed for this when we got home which we are still fighting to get now off thomson two months later. The trip is not all that is described by the reps for example the so called cruise down the nile was a boat virtually going round in circles so you kept seeing the same thing which was a big disapointment and for the money we paid I did not think it was worth it. Also take a copy of your passport with you if you go on this trip as you have to give your passport in when you enter Egypt and returned to you when you go back to Cyprus but they managed to lose two peoples passports who were on our trip which I think was really bad. Also there were not enough stops to be able to get safe drinking water so we ended up dehydrated a we were both ill the next day. Do not take Eqyptian money with you as you will not be able to buy anything with it only in airport as all the locals want Euros. The next day we complained to the Thomson rep at St. George she couldn't have cared less and was no help what so ever.
Please don't let this put you off the St. George because it was a great hotel it was just the reps were both so bad.

  • Liked — The friendly Staff
  • Disliked — Beach
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Lancashire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2008

Just got back from a weeks stay at the St. George and it was fantastic. It is situated about a 10 minute drive from Pafos harbour which is easily reached by either bus (1.5 euro) or taxi (15 euro).
The hotel has had a multi million pound refurb and is beautiful.
The rooms are a good size, really clean and tidy.
The reception and seating area is clean, modern, spacious and cool.
Resturants are again clean, serving quality food with very helpful staff.
Outside, the pool is a good size with no fighting for sunbeds as there are plenty round the pool and then there are lawned areas surrounding the pool with more sunbeds. this then extends down to the private beach where there are yet more sunbeds leading to the sea.
There is a chapel next to the hotel, so there are some wedding parties staying here, which wasn't a problem ( you didn't know it was a wedding party until we saw them in their suits and dresses) until a large party arrived who had no regard for anybody else. The management soon got onto them and the party calmed down from then on.
The entertainment team were amazing providing lots of activities all day including, water polo, french boules, table tennis, darts, aqua arobics and streching. In the evening there was a variety of acts.
Having chatted to other people we found that many were returning guest and have been for many years which speaks volumes.
All in all this was possibly the best week away we had and would definatly return again.

  • Liked — Relaxing, no worries, didn't feel that people wanted my money all the time
  • Disliked — the big annoying wedding party!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2008

we stayed for two weeks at this hotel and was impressed from the off. the room was quite big and the bed was a big big king size.therw was fruit,wine,his and hers white bathrobes and slippers all neatly laid out on the bed when we arrived. a kettle with tea and coffee,which was replenished every day. bed linnen changed every other day, and towels changed every day.room had beutiful outlook over the pool and out to sea.we went half board, and never ate the same meal twice. there was so much to choose from, and every single meal was perfect. breakfast was buffet, and dinner was also buffet,with an option to have ala cart for a supliment.the entertainment was average. the tv in the room was a flat screen with all the english channels. the pool area was quite large with a swim-up bar. all the staff were first class, very helpful and nothing to much trouble for them. We will definaitly go back for a holiday again

  • Liked — the food
  • Disliked — no pool attendant
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel St. George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. George

Address: PO Box 62372, Chlorakas 8063, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Chlorakas
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Chlorakas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. George 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St George Hotel Golf & Spa Resort. Enjoy a sun-filled holiday in Cyprus by booking your stay at the comfortable and attractive 4 Star St George Hotel Spa & Golf Resort. The St George Hotel Spa & Golf Beach Resort is superbly situated on 7 acres of land, one third of which are landscaped gardens, bordered by rolling hills on the one side and the Mediterranean Sea on the other. Directly on the beach of Chlorakas, and only 5 minutes from the picturesque harbour of Pafos, this is a great hotel for couples and families with modern facilities and 255 comfortable guestrooms and suites. Guests of the St George Hotel Spa & Golf Beach Resort can discover delightful beaches and explore charming little villages with a variety of restaurants and bars and relax in front of the most beautiful sunsets nature has to offer. For an affordable holiday in Cyprus this hotel makes the grade! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel St. George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St. George Cyprus/Chlorakas
St George Paphos
St George Hotel Paphos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.