We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In response to Gillian's review” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. George

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel St. George to your Saves list
Hotel St. George
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   PO Box 62372, Chlorakas 8063, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“In response to Gillian's review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Just on aeroplane back from this brill hotel.
A couple of points to Gillian's review as I don't think it is fair.
- the bus stop is SO close, maybe a 2 minute walk? The hill isn't steep? Easy with a pushchair
- the food for a 4 star was impressive and you could get omelettes and other things if you wanted them.you just had to ask
- we changed our towels - you can change them
- Paphos harbour is walkable.. if you like walking ..6k is about an hour's walk
- toilet paper in the bin is usual in Greece and Cyprus. Just because we're not used to it it doesn't mean it's wrong !
- the hotel is 4 star: not 5. So anyone concerned over silly nit picking should book a 5 star: this one delivers perfectly on its 4 star status (and feels more like a 5 star)

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGeorgeHotelPafos, General Manager at Hotel St. George, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your very heartwarming review! We are so touched by your kind words in support towards our Hotel resort. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us during you recent holiday in Cyprus.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next holiday break to Cyprus!

My best personal regards,

Marios Vassiliou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    324
    116
    37
    20
See reviews for
208
515
19
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We have been to the St. George many times and as usual the staff recognised us both, which made us feel that little bit special. we had a limited sea view room on half board, which was fine. The room had been upgraded, which was neutral in colour with a massive double bed! The food was varied and well cooked, how anyone can complain about the choice and variety didn't stay at the same place. If you don't have aircon in the room, just ask. We were both happy with the location of the Hotel, it is quiet and peaceful, if you want noisy, stay in Paphos. Most of the Hotels there are on the main road. The local buses are a short walk away and it is not a problem for travelling. Overall you cannot fault the place, it's the staff, very friendly and attentive, that keeps bringing us back time and again. Once more, thanks for a great holiday and long may it continue! Brian and Marie Russell. Chorley.

Room Tip: Side sea view rooms are fine, just ask for a high floor. 1419 is where we have stayed a few times no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGeorgeHotelPafos, General Manager at Hotel St. George, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for taking time to review our hotel resort. We are very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during your recent holiday in Cyprus. We therefore look very much forward to welcoming you both back soon and thank you once again for your kind words.

Many kind regards,

Marios Vassiliou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desborough, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We enjoyed returning to the St George for the third time. The bed rooms have been updated and were comfortable and well appointed including free Wi Fi which worked well. We always are pleased to be remembered and welcomed which occurred especially with restaurant Maitre D Andreas - nothing is too much trouble and the food selection was good and the quality excellent. We would have no hesitation in recommending the Hotel and its many facilities especially the size of the BED.

Tom & Jean Batterby

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGeorgeHotelPafos, General Manager at Hotel St. George, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear guest ,

I would like to thank you for you nice comments in your review about the St. George Hotel ;
Me personally and all staff we will be more than happy to welcome you back home at the St. George Hotel in the near future for your next dream holiday break .

Thank you so much!

Marios Vassiliou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilbirnie, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I guess you can only really review a hotel in comparison to what you expect and what you have previously experienced – this hotel falls short for me.

I think a lot of the reviews I have read for this hotel really just talk about how fantastic it is and no one is very specific with regards to any aspect – for that reason I have decided to do a MEGA SPECIFIC review that should give prospective visitors a proper expectation – that way they wont be disappointed.

Firstly – this isn’t the type of holiday I would normally book for myself – we were spending a week in Paphos as my sister was getting married there, so this is not my usual holiday experience.

Location – this hotel is situated bang smack between Coral Beach and Paphos. This may sound like a good location when in fact it is the middle of nowhere. Some reviews mention a walk into Paphos harbour – that is actually 6 kilometers away and I have sponsored people to walk less! The hotel is just off the bus route and the buses are pretty frequent – however be under no illusions that this hotel is ON the bus route. The bus stop is a sharp climb and half a mile from the reception door. There are steps that make this slightly shorter but if you have a buggy or mobility issues the bus stop my feel pretty far away in the mid day sun! The local vicinity has a restaurant, a supermarket and a bakers shop – there was also a mall area but none of the units were populated.

Service – This hotel is a “Thomsons Platinum” hotel and it is very clear that Thomsons customers are the priority. We were in the middle of checking in when a Thomsons bus arrived – we were literally ignored (standing right there at the desk) while the Thomsons customers were checked in. There were given full priority over us and given welcome packs and a brief orientations explaining where breakfast was etc were. They were offered a bell boy and shown to their rooms. Once they were finished, we were checked in, given a photo copied information sheet and had to make our own way to the room. We had booked a sea view room and our room was on the side with a very restricted sea view. Our actual view was off the apartments next doors satellite dishes and wheelie bins. We were told by another guest (with a similar view) that the front facing rooms were reserved to Thomsons guests. So you might be thinking best to book with Thomsons??? You would be wrong – we paid less that half the best price they had on offer. Service was very basic at this hotel – no concierge, no trip or travel information. We asked if we could withdraw cash at reception and were treated like beggers (no cash facilities or BdC)

Room – I will give you the positives. Very clean and very modern – tastefully decorated. Recent refurbishment and all very neutral. Plenty of storage and seating was comfortable. Good mirror and good lighting. Tea and coffee facilities. Bathroom was OK – shower pressure good and adjustable shaving mirror. Drying line for towels etc,. Maid service was great – very flexible, so even when you were late getting up your room was always made up. Fresh towels and bed linen as required.
Room – negatives. No air conditioning!!! We were here last week in April and the was 27degree in the room over night – uncomfortable and unbearable. Apparently they switch on 1st of May (policy over guest comfort??). Unable to flush loo roll down the toilet!!! So.. I know that the plumbing in Cyprus is grim but surely they can use some of the money they have invested to make some changes! The bin in the loo was a standard small pedal bin and no nappy bags etc had been provided. View was awful – Back end of the next door apartments – supposed to be sea view! Balcony was small very basic. Noise in the hotel was very bad. Every single movement the neighbours made, we heard it. Every flush of the loo, every baby with sunburn – very noisy. Although the rooms are modern and clean they are very clinical – no atmosphere at all and certainly not very Cypriot.

Food – All food is buffet and seriously lacking in imagination. Breakfast has cereals, continentals, bakery and some hots… so exactly what you would get in a travel lodge or motel. No local cuisine, no fish, no porridge. Egg station fried eggs but offered no omelettes or poachers. No a la carte option at all for breakfast – not even at cost. Lunches and dinners were very similar. Salad options were good but hots were very basic. All the food looked the same – very grey and lacking in taste. A la carte options were available at an additional cost and were not part of the “all inclusive” menu. Carvery and Hot Wok station were better than the main buffet – but really quite random combinations that didn’t make sense – for example Italian night had stir fried bean sprouts?? And continental night had no theme at all. A lot of pork and chicken and very little of anything else. “all inclusive” guest got one go on the a la carte menu – so we booked that up. We had to pick our menu (at the reception desk, from a photocopy reduced menu) 2 days before our dinner.,,,, so we basically had to guess what we would want to eat in 2 days time. Starters were either salmon or soup. Main was chicken or pork! To be fair the a la carte food was much better than the buffet. Tasty and well presented. After 3 days of buffet we were ready to come home – so we deliberately missed the meal times to try the “bar snacks” – much better than the restaurant! Beef sandwich is in fact a steak Panini with French fries – and the burgers where good to! Do yourself a favour and miss more meals!

Bar Drinks – All inclusive means all included? Right? Wrong! There is a separate bar list with the all inclusive drinks. Cocktails were sadly lacking! No daiquiris, no mojitos, no cosmos – surely these are fundamentals! Random made up cocktails using local drinks but nothing with crushed ice. House wine was yuck… but the house cava was ok! Go for the fizz with dinner. Also local beer Keo was pretty good. Very slow waiter service and we found most of our drinks had to be ordered at the bar.

Animation/Entertainment – 2 girls, Nadine and Olympia – really keen and social. However the programme was lacking in imagination – same things on at the same time every day. Zumba, aqua aerobics, yoga, bowls, darts. I do aqua aerobics at home and I can tell you these girls are not instructors. It’s basically just jumping around and splashing to music. The evening entertainment was very basic. The magician was actually brutal… so bad people were walking out in the middle of tricks – just awful.

Pool area and Loungers – One beech towel per guest and only changed once a week. So basically you need to take your soaking wet towel back to your room to try and dry it off before you can go for another swim. (you are not allowed to hang it on your balcony) Out side pool is very very cold. (think titanic iceberg cold) and isn’t heated at all. I imagine this is a lot better into the mid/high season. Lots of loungers and very comfortable. Plenty of space on grass and beech if the pool area is busy. Bar is handy and has a swim up side.

Indoor pool and spa – the indoor pool is small, but very nice. It has low lights and gentle music giving it a very “spa” feeling. Also access to a Jacuzzi (not the one in the pictures) steam room and sauna. An hydro therapy suite is available at additional cost.. it looked FAB. The spa had special offers on and I opted for an Indian head massage on for only e25.00. It was NOT an Indian head massage. I doubt very much that the girl was a trained masseuse and she certainly wasn’t trained in that treatment – that for me is a massive no no. Massage by amateurs is not only disappointing for a guest – it can be dangerous!

Hotel Over All – Public areas are lovely – the hotel certainly is very nice. Lots of comfortable seating and a very nice outlook. The foyer and lounge areas are all open plan and very art deco with lots of chrome and glass - very nice. Out side terraces are very comfortable with seating in both the shade and the sun. I think the dress code of “no short trousers” is very pretentious for this hotel as they allow flip flops and strappy sun dress. Jeans and tee shirts are totally normal… I think the no short trousers rule is more about what the hotel wants to be rather than what it actually is!

Summary – For people who normally enjoy a week 3 star in the med – this hotel is definitely a step up. For people who travel outside Europe or have cruise – this hotel is a big step down! I can only rate this hotel exactly as I find it – No more or no less than expected!!

Hope you find it helpfulll

Room Tip: Not all "sea view" are on the front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGeorgeHotelPafos, General Manager at Hotel St. George, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about our resort.
I am very sorry to hear that we have not met your expectations 100%. We do apologize for the inconvenience caused though your comments are highly appreciated and will definitely have a positive impact to our resort’s facilities and services because they encourage us to try our upmost at all times.

Once again thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in Cyprus.

Kind regards,

Marios Vassiliou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We had a great late deal at St George for 1 week commencing 27 April 2013. Room was lovely, staff very efficient throughout the Hotel. The food was excellent and the surrounding areas spotless. we will definitely be returning as this was our first visit to Cyprus.

Room Tip: We had a land facing room as it was a late booking but the sea view would be worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGeorgeHotelPafos, General Manager at Hotel St. George, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for being our guests and for giving us the opportunity to extend our hospitality to you. We are very happy that we have fulfilled your expectations and desires. Your comments are highly appreciated and will definitely have a positive impact because they encourage us to try our upmost at all times. We look forward to welcoming you once again at our Hotel resort.

Kindest Regards,

Marios Vassiliou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barton under Needwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This hotel never disappoints, after our 11th visit we have decided yet again to return next year!

ROOM: the hotel are always accommodating if you wish to request a specific room. As for the room itself, it is spacious, bright and clean. The maids make a brilliant job every day, always willing to refill any necessities.

FOOD: there is a good choice of food for breakfast and evening meal (we were half board). Bar snacks are available during the day if you have enough room to fit them in, the waffles at the pool bar are to die for and easily put 3 inches on your hips. There is always the al a carte menu if you fancy a change from the buffet, Andreas cooks a mean steak!

STAFF: the staff are always welcoming and friendly. Long standing staff remember you from one stay to the next. Kyriakos was extremely helpful when our daughter decided to gatecrash our holiday halfway through. Savvas, Costas and Lefteris always make a trip to the bar entertaining.

SHOP: Andreas is the souvenir shop always have a greeting smile for all. He keeps a well stocked shop and will accommodate any special requests when he can. He has a range of products from snacks to drinks and souvenirs to clothing and of course the English newspapers.

As always we have come away having made friends with other guests, exchanged contact details and will be keeping in touch. See you next year!

Room Tip: See view or over looking the pool have the nicest views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGeorgeHotelPafos, General Manager at Hotel St. George, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking time to write such a lovely review about our establishment here in Pafos.
We are very pleased to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and would agin like to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Our best personal wishes and regards for all our staff and Management and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely yours,

Marios Vassiliou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Booked at the last minute and spent a wonderful week at this super hotel. They really excelled themselves. Food good and plentiful. It's the first time I have had real lean bacon instead of over cooked streaky bacon for breakfast abroad. The service is excellent, cleaners everyday. Beds are comfortable. I always take magnifying mirrors with me but they have a really good fitted one in the bathroom. I took a plug adaptor but the plug points are English so wasn't needed. Staff are all friendly. The animation staff found time to get to know you. Thanks to Nadia and Olympia the animation team. There are plenty of sun beds so no need to rush and put a towel on one. On arriving peter the porter was very helpful, took our cases to the room and explained things to us ie how to use the safe etc. there was a plate of fruit and a bottle of complimentary wine in our room. Adequate tea/coffee facilities topped up every day. Needless to say I couldn't find any fault with this hotel and can definitely recommend it. Only recommendation to give would be go all inclusive if you like a drink as it can work out expensive buying them at the hotel. You can upgrade when you get there but cheaper to upgrade before you go. It was also wonderful that we were able to get wifi throughout the hotel and outside by the pool.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGeorgeHotelPafos, General Manager at Hotel St. George, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are truly happy to see that we have fulfilled your every need and we would therefore like to express our great gratitude for choosing to stay with us on your recent holiday to Cyprus.
We look very much forward to welcoming you again and once more thank you for your kind support.

Many kind regards,

Marios Vassiliou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel St. George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. George

Address: PO Box 62372, Chlorakas 8063, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Chlorakas
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Chlorakas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. George 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St George Hotel Golf & Spa Resort. Enjoy a sun-filled holiday in Cyprus by booking your stay at the comfortable and attractive 4 Star St George Hotel Spa & Golf Resort. The St George Hotel Spa & Golf Beach Resort is superbly situated on 7 acres of land, one third of which are landscaped gardens, bordered by rolling hills on the one side and the Mediterranean Sea on the other. Directly on the beach of Chlorakas, and only 5 minutes from the picturesque harbour of Pafos, this is a great hotel for couples and families with modern facilities and 255 comfortable guestrooms and suites. Guests of the St George Hotel Spa & Golf Beach Resort can discover delightful beaches and explore charming little villages with a variety of restaurants and bars and relax in front of the most beautiful sunsets nature has to offer. For an affordable holiday in Cyprus this hotel makes the grade! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel St. George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St. George Cyprus/Chlorakas
St George Paphos
St George Hotel Paphos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.