We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First impressions are deceptive.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Duke of Edinburgh Inn

The Duke of Edinburgh Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newgale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Duke of Edinburgh Inn
Save
You added The Duke of Edinburgh Inn to your Saves list
Newgale Hill, A487, Newgale SA62 6AS, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Newgale B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“First impressions are deceptive.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My family and I were on our way back from a trip to St David’s when we decided to stop at this PH for lunch. Our first impressions were deceptive. From the outside it looked as though this establishment could do with some TLC but inside it was clean and welcoming. Our superb host Chloe was very understating and helpful when we explained about our sons dietary problems. All our food was superb in both quality and quantity. It was also very reasonably priced. My son had a superb enormous jacket potato with a great helping of beans and chees. My wife had an excellent Scampi and my daughter and I had a great curry. Another positive factor was the cleanliness of its rest rooms, a standard that is sadly slipping these days.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    17
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Turned up just after 3pm hoping for food but not really expecting any given the time. Nobody at the bar but found menu on a table. When landlady arrived just asked "Are we too late for a snack?" response was " where did you get that from?" no "sorry we stopped serving at 3" or anything else.
Obviously just walked out and found food somewhere else. Won't be visiting there again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Have been many times to eat and drink in this pub. Always get great service and good value meals. Four of us ate and had curry, salmon, pints of prawns and scampi. All dishes loved. Will always return whenever in Newgale.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed in the campsite next door so the pub was very handy and we were looking forward to spending an evening there. However, we were disappointed to find that the interior of the pub was not very inviting ... More like a cafe, brightly lit with big Formica style round tables and no atmosphere, and functional rather than sociable staff. Having said that the food was quite nice and the portions were generous and reasonably priced. Ideally we would have stayed for a few drinks after our meal but the lack of ambiance was off putting. It's a shame because this is the only pub in Newgale and is right on the sea front.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
363 reviews 363 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 153 cities Reviews in 153 cities
358 helpful votes 358 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We were travelling from St Davids to Havorfordwest one evening and found the pub by accident.
it was a cold, and very wet December evening and when we dropped down over the steep hill into Newgale bay we were immediately attracted by the lights from the pub. We were hungry and thirsty so our party of 7 decided to stop and take a chance. What a welcome, the staff were very friendly and there was a lovely open fire, also we were only a short walk from the huge beach that must have been at least two miles long. We all had something to eat and the choice was good with Scampi, Curry, and steak sandwiches and also a variety of specials. Its a really inviting place and should not be missed if you are passing that way.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Having got dressed up and failing to get into any of the restaurants in Solva, we made for Haverfordwest in search of decent grub and on the way passed the Duke of Edinburgh, an oasis of light on the very dark Newgale beach road. First impressions were of a pub that had seen better days and was not geared up for a party of 11 decending on them. The staff though went out of their way to accomodate us and make us feel welcome. It's not being disingenuous to say that the surroundings were pretty stark and there was some gallows humour on how the evening had not turned out quite how we imagined. We were pleasantly surprised! The sincerity of the service and the efforts to please made us want the food to be good and it was fantastic when the quality of the food, the size of the portions and the cheerfulness of the girl that served it up exceeded expectations. Traditional dishes like Welsh Cawl, standard pub grub like Lasagne, Cod & Chips and Gammon plus a good vegetarian option were well presented, were in large portions and were very tasty. The F*ggots Mash and Mushy Peas were lovely. It was all very reasonably priced and well worth the money and everybody left the pub in an entirely different frame of mind from when we entered. The Duke saved the day; yes the staff were very young but they did a superb job and made what was looking like being a disaster into a memorable evening.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My friend and I were booked in to surf at Newgale and had originally booked to stay at a pub B&B in nearby Solva, but out was grotty, the service wad rude at best, and there was no parking, so a quick phone call was made to Gabrielle at the Duke, and within 15 mins e were checked in to a surprisingly lovely twin room! Really nicely decorated, and he's the best shower I have ever been in in my life. Which is good considering the average temperature of the sea in Newgale...
Will definitely stay here next time.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Duke of Edinburgh Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke of Edinburgh Inn

Address: Newgale Hill, A487, Newgale SA62 6AS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Newgale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Newgale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Duke of Edinburgh Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.