We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort but lacking the typical 4 Seasons Wow-Effect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   219 Moo 5, Ang Thong, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Room Rate
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ang Thong
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice resort but lacking the typical 4 Seasons Wow-Effect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

We had a nice time during our 5-day stay in the 4 Seasons on Koh Samui. The villas are beautifully decorated and have amazing views. However, nothing beats the view from the top, especially from the Lan Tania restaurant-this restaurant is the only spot in the resort that deserves a “Wow”: next to the views, the food is amazing and offers a lot of variety and the service is excellent (make sure you go to the Thailand food evening they run once a week and try the self-made mango jam over breakfast). However, the rest of the resort is nice but lacks the typical 4 Seasons “Wow-Effect”. Quite annoying is that the resort is hardly walkable and transport by buggy is not always readily and takes a lot of the atmosphere away. Also, staff is friendly but misses to provide the typical exceptional 4 Seasons service. Partially, the resort appeared under-staffed. Overall we had a nice time there but think the price we paid was too ambitious for it.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    87
    30
    13
    6
See reviews for
169
419
16
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2010

It's been a while since we stayed there, and I've been meaning to post a review. Nothing went right on this trip. We should have known from some of the negative reviews on this site. In fact, we called ahead to put them on notice about what we were reading. We were silly to think this would help. It was probably a language issue. The staff’s English was very poor, but they certainly knew how to say “certainly.”

The resort showed promise when we arrived. Despite an awkward greeting, they threw one of the best hotel parties we’ve ever been to for New Year’s. It was like a wedding with the hotel guests assigned to random tables. They had a great spread, a fantastic band, and an impressive fire works display. We had a ball.

The biggest problem with the property is that the entire resort faces North. This means your villa has water views but gets no sun. Your private villa pool is unheated and therefore frigid (again, no sun), forcing you to the general beach area, which also faces North. The beach gets some sun, but you have to turn your chair away from the water to get any. The pool is too small for the number of guests, and there were not enough chairs. The beach was also covered with seaweed day and night. And I mean covered. There were armies of women raking the seaweed away all day. This took away from the overall feel, and certainly the available lounging space.

The food was our biggest issue. Foolishly, I had beef carpaccio one night and got terribly sick. I should have known better, but the Four Seasons brand lulled me into a false sense of security. The hotel was extremely unsympathetic. First they accused me of not actually being sick, but I later left enough evidence for the cleaning staff to prove otherwise. Then the manager suggested I ate something outside the hotel since no one else who ate the beef got sick. What a jerk. I think his name was Alex. Even before getting sick, the food was mediocre at best and way over priced.

We were also unlucky with the weather. We stayed a week and only got 2 days of sunshine. The resort was totally unprepared for rain. There was literally nothing to do. No board games, no organized activities. Nothing. Wait, that’s not entirely true. They did put on a concert one day, where someone played bowls. He squeezed music out of all types of bowls: glass, ceramic, you name it. It was one of those situations where everyone wanted to leave, but no one wanted to be rude. To be fair, they did have a decent movie collection and a good TV system in the room.

It looks like the reviews are more positive than when the resort first opened. So hopefully they fixed some of these issues. Even still, I doubt the resort now faces South.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

HOTEL: Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui (Thailand)
DATES STAYED: 27 DEC 09-05 JAN 10
ROOM CATEGORY: Deluxe Villa (b&b plan)
PRICE PAID: Average 975 euros nett / night (mandatory pre-pay) + 250 euros nett per person for mandatory New Year's Dinner

This was our third, though maybe final, stay at this resort and, as usual, it was very pleasant. The rooms, views and grounds are beautiful, the staff (except for the concierge staff, strangely enough) are very nice, the restaurants are very good and the hotel facilities are generally quite good.

It is not worth the price paid, however. There are just too many little things that need improvement and don't look as if they ever will be. At 975 euros per night, you expect nothing short of perfection. The villas need some serious maintenance (I had to call maintenance 3 times for various things -light bulbs needed changing, the closet and sliding glass doors fell off, I actually fixed a couple of things myself- though in all fairness, they came very quickly each time). The room wasn't made up until 2:00 p.m., at the earliest, unless I called to have it done earlier. Turn-down service usually took place 3 or 4 hours later and didn't happen at all on 2 occasions. The resort is hardly walkable so there is a resort buggy service. This was quite random. You could have one immediately or sometimes wait up to 20 minutes or sometimes they just didn't show up at all. The spa is beautiful, though a bit of a trek to the treatment rooms from the spa reception (wear sneakers because the many stairs and paths can be very slippery). I had 4 treatments and 3 of them were somehow screwed up (wrong treatment booked, wrong time, buggy late so ended up late for treatment, wrong price charged). The therapists I had were all very good and professional, though. Restaurant bookings were a bit sketchy, especially for the mandatory 250-euro per person New Year's dinner, which we had booked on the beach several weeks before arrival, as per the hotel's request. The New Year's dinner was fantastic, though. The fitness center is large, airy and well-equipped but there are no changing facilities (odd, especially for a newish hotel) and it wasn't serviced regularly (no clean towels or water, dirty towels on the floor etc). The arrival pick-up was a bit disorganized and we had to look for our driver. Leaving the hotel was also disorganized. We had booked a hotel 4x4 for 2:30 p.m. and finally got checked out at 3:00 (had to call twice for a luggage person, bill wasn't prepared etc).

All of this to say that, without sounding like a spoiled child, I often had the impression that the Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui felt as if it was us a favor by allowing us to stay. It is a lovely, if isolated, place, though. I would recommend it if you could get an average B&B rate of no more than 700 euros nett / night (Deluxe Villa Category). Koh Samui is full of luxury resorts so do shop around. The island itself is of little interest, though, unless all you want to do is go to the beach.

Bon Voyage!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

the resort is spread out on a very steep slope so the daily buggy rides between the villas to the beach and the restaurants were part of the excitement for my grandchildren. The villas are very comfortable, although the bedroom section is not very spacious. The water in the plunge pool was freezing, maybe it would be nice to cool off after sun bathing on the deck. otherwise I wouldn't know what the plunge pool is for, so small you can't swim in it. The beach is very small, and the water is incredibly shallow and murky. The staff was very pleasant, every single one had this incredible smile when they greeted us. But I wonder whether the kitchen is understaffed, so food took a long time to arrive (in villa dining took 45 minutes) and over half an hour at the restaurants, and we ordered simple dishes like fried noodles. The quality of the food was quite good, maybe because I'm comparing with that in Four Seasons and One and Only in Maldives. But the effort the entire staff put into preparing the New Year's Eve party was quite fantastic to see. The seafood barbeque was not good, but food was in abundance. The atmosphere was lovely. When the staff helped the guests to set off these 99 huge white lanterns on the beach, it was so beautiful, definitely one of my unforgetttable experiences.
I wouldn't recommend this resort for family with teenagers who are looking for action.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

Yes I said it this resort is amazing and trumps what I always thought was the best one (Hualalai).

Right off the bat you know that this hotel is something special from when you arrive and see the view from the reception area at the top of the hill overlooking the resort. From this point on the resort is nothing but magic. The hospitality by the staff reminds me of what Hualalai was about 5 years ago before that location seems to have gotten snootier than the guest that go there.

The manager Alex and Brent go above and beyond to make sure that you feel like the only person staying at the resort even when the hotel was at capacity during the Holidays. Within 2 days everyone at the hotel knew our name and always had that wonderful Thai smile when they greeted us.

The spa is great and the walk to the rooms will blow you away while walking through the jungle.

The beach was as clean as could be. Honestly people were sweeping the sand. I have never seen that in my life but I guess that is what you get when you stay at this hotel.

The rooms I could live in one of them for the rest of my life and I would be more than happy.

Now the downsides. I must say that really the only thing that was a negative was the plunge pool which I am sure when you look at any photos is the clincher for staying at this hotel. Every room has there own infinity pool that overlooks the gulf. Although the pool and deck are great the downside is there are no heaters for these pools. So if the sun does not heat it up they are very very cold. We actually swam maybe one lap then got out and never went back in it again.

Also we could not find a jacuzzi anywhere on the property which I thought was sort of odd but such is life.

All and all if you are going to Thailand you must stay at this hotel. I would take the 18 hour flight any day of the week to go back.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

Set amongst a coconut plantation on a steep hill - overlooking a stunning beach - this resort is unbelievable! Golf carts transport you around the steep paths - restaurants at the top and one at the bottom at the beach - individual villas in between. Our and all villas have their own infinatey deck pool - with views to die for.

The resort is set on its own private beach around 20 drive to the main shopping/resort areas. A smaller but adequate shopping area is around 5-10 drive. Gym facilities at top of resort with an amazing view, top machines and equipment..
Service at both restaurants was immaculate - one of the girls remembering what our favorite wine we had had two nights previous! The food generous, fresh, innovative and faultless. Cant find fault with this resort. Highly recommend - a stay of a lifetime.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KENT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

This was our honeymoon destination and we were not disappointed!

We decided to book the hotel limo (Range Rover) from the airport and much to our amusement the driver was announcing our precise arrival to the welcoming party at the hotel - a traditional Thai welcoming was laid on and we were lead to a stunning cliff-top reception and given delicious fresh coconut juice before being driven down the steep winding concrete track to our villa. The generous accommodation, plunge pool and views of the sea were truly stunning. There is clearly no expense spared in furnishing the villa - to quote the lonely planet...'a cleptomaniac's dream'.

If there is any breath left , the breakfast location will render you unconscious - superb views over the entire resort and a decent buffet provided the perfect start to the day.

The hotel arranges an array of activities throughout the week(tennis/thai boxing/coconut petanque.....etc) or you can utilize the spa which although expensive is the best my wife has experienced or you could roast yourself senseless the private beach, explore the coral 200 metres offshore / canoeing (all provided free by the hotel). Whilst lounging around at the beach the friendly staff would provide surprise treats every 30 minutes or so and the beach side restaurant provided a very acceptable dinning experience.

To summarise

- The staff are superb - friendly, polite and willing to recommend other activities whilst in Koh Samui.

- The plunge pool is too cold - we only used it twice!
- The food and particularly drink is very expensive - more than double of a decent restaurant outside of the resort but given this is probably the best resort in the island this is something one has to stomach.
- The spa is amazing and was voted top spa in Asia in 2008.
- the resort is built on the side of a very steep hill - there are 15 buggies on call to transport the guests around - waiting time is less than 5 minutes.

We plan on coming back within the next couple of years!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand

Address: 219 Moo 5, Ang Thong, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Ang Thong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ang Thong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An away-from-it-all hillside resort on the mystical Gulf of Siam. Spacious Thai villas are wrapped in tropical gardens, conserved coconut groves and the amphitheatre of sky, sea and islands. Enjoy the forest spa. Dine at hillcrest or beachside. Splash in the private bay. And explore a pristine world of beaches, reefs, rainforest and sunshine. Revel in the many faces of Thailand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand Hotel Koh Samui
4 Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
Four Seasons Koh Samui
Koh Samui Four Seasons
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand Ko Samui - Ang Thong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.