We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   219 Moo 5, Ang Thong, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Room Rate Offer
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ang Thong
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Unforgettable!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

There's a story behind how we ended up staying at this dream-like place, I'll make it as short as possible. We stayed in a different hotel on the island and in our first night after dinner we decided to pass by and see what the 4 seasons's like. As they say, the rest is history.

The next day I contacted Mr. Lubosh the GM, who found the perfect room/villa and did the best he could for it to fit our budget, as we were staying for a longer period. But Mr. Lubosh's magic didn't end here. The morning after a car was sent to pick us up from our first hotel, and upon arrival we had the most memorable reception ever. It must have been like 10 employees, including Mr. Lubosh, that welcomed us to the hotel. We couldn't take our smiles off our faces for like 15 minutes, it was really something.

We stayed for 6 or 7 nights and we were always talking about maybe staying a day or 2 longer. Room, Spa, Gym, Beach, Service - all are World Class!! But this hotel has this something extra, it's aura and the fact that you have all this nature surrounding you make it an experience like no other. You move around the hotel with buggies and every employee you come across greets you with a smile and a slight bow. It's just so special that it's hard to describe in words.

Still there are a few things to improve. As the hotel is quite isolated and it take a 20 minute drive to get the centre (where we visited almost every evening), I would recommend offering a shuttle service. To have a fixed schedule for a mini-bus that drives to the city centre and back for example.

Then there is the mosquitos, which I'm sure almost every guest suffered from. As the hotel is located in a forest there are a lot of mosquitos and it's very hard to avoid them. But the point I wanted to concentrate on is the Mosquitos in the room as these are the ones we suffered the most from. I'm sure the hotel management is aware of this, but solving this problem would make staying there so much better.

Finally, I just would like to recommend all viewers to visit this hotel during high season when it is fully booked and fully operative. Like a good production plant, this hotel works best when it is highly occupied! We felt the difference during our stay, as in the first 2 days it was pretty full but later there were not so many guests as it was getting close to off season. There were many maintenance operations going on and we had a feeling that there was a light drop in the service by the staff.

Instead of writing in detail about the few negatives I could have written about the endless positives. But I feel that the positives were mentioned by so many before me and I hoped that by perhaps taking my negatives into consideration this place would become even better than what it already is.

So make no mistake, this is a hotel you must visit, especially if you make it as far as Koh-Samui. It is without a doubt the best hotel on the island. We already recommended it to all our friends and hopefully we will get a chance to visit again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSKohSamui, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guy3103:

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback on your experience and highlight to our attention the areas we can be better. At Four Seasons, we are always looking for ways to improve the service and product we offer, and with your constructive comments shared here on TripAdvisor, I am certain that, as you put it, our Resort "would become even better than what it already is".

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to this "Coconut Island" soon again.

Best regards,

Lubosh Barta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    100
    34
    13
    6
See reviews for
195
471
23
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Yet another one of its own resort by Four Seasons - absolutely fabulous, yet unique and incomparable to any other hotel on the island. Lovely finger licking food at KOH Thai Kitchen & Bar and really tasty cocktails by the beach / pool side. My wife and I visited this resort on the 17th July for 2 nights and the most friendly staff out there ensured our stay was just fantastic!!! A highly recommended Four Seasons resort for sure :)

Room Tip: You might want to consider the Beachfront or Beach Villa in case you are travelling as a couple or t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSKohSamui, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear lilanianand:

Thank you for your kind words about our food and particularly our staff. I am pleased to know that we were able to provide you with a "fabulous and unique" experience and hope to see you back soon.

Best regards,

Lubosh Barta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I was recently in Samui and stayed 5 nights and loved all aspects of my villa 701, close enough to walk to the beach. The options at Thai restaurant were excellent and big congrats to the beach staff called James. He is 10!

Also on my way to airport realised I have forgotten my passport...FS staff was kind enough to send someone as fast as possible to give me the passport. Thanks so much for this and hope to return some time soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSKohSamui, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Marcos P:

It is wonderful to read that you experienced the service and genuine hospitality our dedicated team are known for, and particularly James at the Beach. It will be my pleasure to share your great feedback with them.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review here on TripAdvisor. The team and I look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Lubosh Barta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed for a long weekend in mid July and were very impressed . The service is exceptionally good and very charming , even by outstanding Asian standards . The restaurants are also excellent and the food compares favourably with some of the best we've eaten in Thailand
( where we are current based ) , which is high praise. The beach and the overall setting are wonderful but the very steep pathways making walking around the resort quite difficult and we noticed that virtually everyone takes the buggies ( which are readily available ) and this could be off putting for some .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSKohSamui, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear GXWLondon:

It is great to know that you had a wonderful stay with us and to receive such a positive feedback on our dedicated team.

Thank you for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor. We look forward to your return.

Best regards,

Lubosh Barta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed here for our honeymoon and we couldn't have asked for a better hotel. They made us feel SO welcomed and special. Our villa was gorgeous and the service was impeccable. We would totally come back and stay here again. A truly world class hotel...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSKohSamui, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear LenaRoche:

It was an honor to have you with us for such a special occasion like your honeymoon. I am so pleased to hear that your stay with us was a memorable experience and hope to see you both again.

Best regards,

Lubosh Barta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This was a third stay at the resort. I first stayed in 2008 shortly after it opened and then again with my now wife in 2011. This time we stayed for our honeymoon.

From the moment you enter the welcome sala and are greeting with that amazing view it is like being in paradise. We were allocated an amazing Villa in a very secluded location with the most stunning views. The villas are very simple and stylish with lovely Thai details and very relaxing colours. With a large outdoor area and a pool running the length of the property they do become a home from home.

Everyone is very friendly and whilst on a few occasions there can be a wait for a buggy (the resort is very hilly but that just makes it even better in my opinion) to get you to or from restaurants etc. if you don't want to walk, the service everywhere was exceptional.

All the staff are very friendly and call you by name and engage in conversation every time you meet them.

Whilst we were there the main restaurant at the top of the resort was being refurbished and it was temporarily situated in the meeting rooms and deck area immediately below. Not as picturesque, but food and service were still very good. We managed to eat there on the last two nights and what was a lovely restaurant is now truly spectacular.

We loved the beach restaurant Pla Pla and the adjacent bar - which is where breakfast was also served whilst we were there. Breakfast is fabulous with a great buffet and eggs cooked to order, tighter with other hot dishes cooked to order.

The beach is beautiful and we always found a sheltered spot on the "quiet beach" at the far end. Although the resort was at near 100%, it never really felt busy apart from a couple of times at breakfast - but we were always given a table straight away.

The beach bar is wonderfully romantic at night and the cocktails are amazing - though quite expensive. The food at both restaurants and for in room dining was always of a really good standard.

The beach barbecue is good fun and we would recommend this. They also do film nights and this was the only slightly disappointing part. Whilst I can understand why they showed Robinson Crusoe - it was a very old and not especially great version - and once the film started there was no-one around. Now it was not very far to the bar- but a regular check for drinks etc would have been what I would have expected from the Four Seasons.

The spa is wonderful and definitely worth trying - especially at dusk.

There was also some refurbishment work going in an adjacent villa and building materials were getting left on the walkway to the villa. Once this had been brought to the management's attention it was all cleared away promptly.

Apart from those two isolated incidents it was a perfect stay.

So thanks again to everyone at Four Season's Koh Samui for making out honeymoon perfect.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSKohSamui, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Mike K:

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback on your visit to our Resort last December. We were all delighted to look after you once again and hear you had a memorable honeymoon celebration with us.

I have also taken note of your comment on our Movie Night which was certainly a valid one, and would like to apologize for having dropped the ball in that instance. I have shared your feedback with the team respectively in order for us to improve as we move forward.

Mike K, we truly appreciate your continued patronage of our Resort on Koh Samui and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon again.

Best regards,

Lubosh Barta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We spent our wedding Anniversary last week in Four Season and love every minute of our time there. The staffs at four seasons are fabulous they call us by name in every section we went. I made this stay as surprise for my wife and every staff helps me with the plan accordingly. Room facilities are top class, very comfortable bed. Our pool in the villa was like a little haven, so peaceful and relaxing.
Pla Pla restaurant was nice, good atmosphere and attentive service. Food was good but my risotto was a bit too salty. It’s just my personal taste but overall we love our experience in the restaurant.
The breakfast was excellent with such a variety of food, fresh orange juice serve on the table. Panorama sea view, the service was so friendly and attention to details.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSKohSamui, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear surachet_pr:

The team and I are proud to have been part of such a special occasion and appreciative of your feedback. Thank you for sharing your review here on TripAdvisor and for choosing Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui for your wedding anniversary. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Lubosh Barta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ang Thong
12.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#1 of 51 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 887 reviews
11.1 mi away
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa
4.1 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 172 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 stars 1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
W Retreat Koh Samui
W Retreat Koh Samui
#7 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.5 of 5 stars 664 reviews
10.5 mi away
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui
11.3 mi away
Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand

Address: 219 Moo 5, Ang Thong, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Ang Thong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ang Thong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An away-from-it-all hillside resort on the mystical Gulf of Siam. Spacious Thai villas are wrapped in tropical gardens, conserved coconut groves and the amphitheatre of sky, sea and islands. Enjoy the forest spa. Dine at hillcrest or beachside. Splash in the private bay. And explore a pristine world of beaches, reefs, rainforest and sunshine. Revel in the many faces of Thailand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand Hotel Koh Samui
4 Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
Four Seasons Koh Samui
Koh Samui Four Seasons
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand Ko Samui - Ang Thong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.