We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four Seasons - Koh Samui” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   219 Moo 5, Ang Thong, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Fourth Night!
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ang Thong
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Four Seasons - Koh Samui”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2008

The setting of the resort is beautiful. About 30 minutes from the airport to a remote part of the island. The property is VERY hilly. Be prepared with comfortable shoes and the rooms are not easy to get too. While the rooms are incredible and relaxing, there is a screaming whistle for a good part of the day for detracting the mosquitos. The pool is tiny and if you forget something in your room when you are at the pool, it is at least a 30 minute walk back to your room.

The management presence is minimal. The GM is very picky about who he talks too and fake with most of the guests. If he thinks he can sell you a property, he will talk to you. The service is slow. While there is really no place to rush off too, it is a good thing. The first morning I waited 1 hour for eggs at breakfast. Everyday after was at least 30 minutes.

For me, I would not recommend this property at all. There are too many downsides. I have stayed a many Four Seasons and this was my least favorite!

  • Liked — Environment of room
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    78
    25
    13
    5
See reviews for
149
382
16
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2008

First the good stuff. The resort looks fabulous, largely due to its absolutely stunning landscaping and isolated location. There is nothing else around. It has a private beach accessible only by Four Season guests. The view from the arrivals lounge where you check in is breathtaking. Have you camera ready before you arrive.

The traditionally styled villas are located on a hillside and are really quite good, with all the facilities you are likely to want. There are nice touches like an Ipod Dock, good sound system, capsule type coffee maker and plenty of free drinking water. A wide range of TV channels are available to view on a large LCD TV in the room.

Transport around the resort is by electric buggy which means that despite being on a hillside getting around is easy. Most times a buggy arrived quickly within a few minutes of being requested.

The sandy beach is beautiful. There were plenty of beach staff around offering cold towels, water, fruit, etc during the day (however if you ordered something like a cocktail on the beach, the service was, surprisingly, a little slow). The resort has its own spa, smallish gym, a comfortable beach bar and two restaurants. One restaurant serves Thai and Italian food, and the second, mainly fish dishes. Overall the food quality was good.

The not so good stuff. The standard of service was good but let down by too many little mistakes or delays that caused unnecessary irritation. This comment should not put you off going to this resort, but hopefully this point will be picked up by management.

Families with children should be aware that due to the resort being on a hillside that most of the villa’s we saw had decking and private pools that are raised a long way off the ground. Most of the pools have infinity edges that can be 5 to 10 meters off the ground. Parents will need to carefully supervise children using these pools. Our pool had steps leading into the water right next to the edge – with a good 4 – 5 meter drop – and no railing! It is a little amazing that Four Seasons is happy with this level of risk.

Expect to pay a hefty premium for everything you do, eat or drink (other than water) once you are there. However a resort like this cannot be cheap to run – so in overall terms I would say that you do get fair value for your money.

  • Liked — stunning location
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2008

As part of our trip to Hong Kong and Thailand, we stayed at the FS Koh Samui for 6 days in February 2008. After spending some days at the Mandarin Oriental Hong Kong, the Peninsula Bangkok and Mandarin Oriental Chiang Mai, a few relaxing days at the beach where supposed to be the highlight of the trip, instead it turned out to be the low point. I was concerned about bad reviews but dismissed them due to previous experience with other Four Seasons hotels and resorts. To be fair, there were no big problems with the resort, but just many little things that are below Four Seasons quality promises. So unfortunately, we left the resort with very mixed experiences:

The good
Overall design and layout of the resort
Generally friendly and polite staff
iPod dock in Villa
Quality and taste of food
Clean beach and ocean

The bad
Language issues – I don't expect perfect English, but it is annoying when beach boys and housekeeping staff don't understand a word you're saying
Beach – not enough sun beds, which is unacceptable. This is also due to the fact that guests occupy beds for the whole day without using them. So other guests coming to the beach in the afternoon had trouble finding a free sun bed. The main pool is much too small for such a big resort.
Beach sun beds – they have got to be the most uncomfortable ever used in a 5-star resort. No padding at all, just a metal frame with a plastic lining and an oversized towel on top
Service – while very nice and trying hard, the service is nowhere near the level I expect from Four Seasons. My expectation of FS service is anticipating requests before guests actually have to ask. At the FS Samui, you have to ask for everything, and even then you might not get it. Like asking to have turndown service after 8pm, only to have them still do it at 5pm every day before we had even returned from the beach. Also, it lacked the warmth and little touches that were absolutely perfect at the Mandarin Oriental Chiang Mai and other Asian luxury properties (like beach service: no cold towels, water not bottled but poured from a carafe). It still seems like the resort has just been opened which is not the case.
Worn look of the resort – even tough the resort only opened a year ago, some areas (particularly in the Villas) show a lot of wear and tear, like stains on walls, chipping wood on deck planks, etc.
Shower – the villas lack outside showers, so after swimming in the pool you have to go inside. Not a big deal, but standard feature at most all-villa resorts with private swimming pools. Moreover, the inside shower sets the whole bathroom under water every time it's used.

Beware
Villa privacy – some villas don't have any privacy at all, others are duplexes where you are wall to wall with neighbours.
Clientele – during our stay, I estimate that more than 60% of the guests were Russian families (with very spoilt children) who clearly did not know how to behave in a luxury resort: Occupying the best sun beds on the beach at 7am (two beds per person), only to use them for 1 hour in the afternoon, playing their own radio on the beach, loud talking on the cell phone while walking up and down the beach…
Setting – the resort is set on a very steep hill, which makes it impossible to get around without using the buggy service, especially in the evening. The wait for the buggy during peak times (5-8pm) can be long – up to 22(!) minutes at one time.

  • Liked — nothing really outstanding
  • Disliked — that it did not meet expectations
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2008

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in January 2008. Only one complaint needed to stay in this heaven for longer. It matched up to all expectations and the faboulous views from being built on a steep hillside were stunning.

No problem with the buggies they were very efficient.
The staff were all helpful,attentive and gracious.
Food was excellent and beautifully presented all within acceptable wait times even though the hotel was full.

The managers also took the time to introduce himself during our stay and again spoke to us when we checked out.

If any of the bad experiences posted put you off then think again.
All noise and teething troubles now sorted.
It can only improve and it deserves to be an SLH member and is also worthy of its prestigeous Four Seasons standard.

Would visit again but other places to experience.

Just book it and go.

  • Liked — fantastic rooms
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2008

My wife and I visited Four Seasons Samui during the first two weeks of January. Reading a few of the previous comments, we were sceptical... but knowing the quality of other Four Seasons Hotels, we just didn't want to believe that this one could be of lesser appeal. To put the record straight... this is probably the best Resort we've ever stayed at. Yes, the villas are beautiful and the views are just absolutely incredible. The weather was nice... but since the Resort faces North West, we only had a few hours of sun every day on our private terrace. Given the beautiful beach, however, we would spend most of our time down by the sea. And there, we had sun all day.
The hotel is currently run by a German Manager who does a fantastic job: Fabulous service from beach boys and servers from the bar and the restaurant!! Very friendly staff. All in all through the resort, the service was (nearly) perfect.... just what we have got used to from other Four Seasons Hotels... or better. The friendliness of the staff one kind of expects in Thailand but the professionalism and efficiency often surprised us. The warmth and care of the people... we wish we could have taken some of them with us. We thought the food tasted great, particularly the Italian dishes and some of the Thai dishes at the restaurant on the hillside.
One day we rented a boat to go diving in Koh Tao... a must while on Koh Samui. And the Four Seasons staff provided us with a picnic basket which was pure heaven!
We will be back.... and, if you have a chance to travel to Thailand, we can't recommend another place but this!

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2008

This resort is in an absolutely picturesque location and the villas are designed to be private and secluded. It is a perfect destination for couples or honeymooners desiring a quiet romantic getaway. My new husband and I had such a wonderful time being delightfully lazy, laying by our private pool, having room service on our private terrace, enjoying the spa treatments at the tranquil spa pavilion, and generally doing nothing. If such an itinerary sounds like your slice of heaven, it will be.

However, this is NOT a family-friendly destination. We noticed that there were quite a few families with small children staying at the time we were there, mostly from Australia and Europe. We assumed this was probably due to the favorable exhange rate (priced in USD) and introductory specials, but if I may emphasize: this is not a place I would EVER take small or school-aged children. The villas are quite literally tree houses and it is a long, long way down from the edge of the infinity pools. There are no rails on the walkways to the rooms, and it would be quite a fall if a child stumbled off the edge. The buggies run on precarious trails with steep cliffs and dropoffs. Also, we noticed no childrens activities to speak of.

Also, if you're looking for a party scene or lots of activity, this location will be likely to disappoint. The only thing buzzing about this place are the mosquitoes and tree frogs!

But again, for a quiet, romantic getaway in a secluded location, the Four Seasons Koh Samui was quite impressive!

A car was waiting for us at the airport, and though we were initially hesitant when we pulled inside the gate (looked a bit like a service entrance), our fears were gone when we stepped inside the welcome pavilion. The view of the island and resort was incredible! I was welcomed with a drink and a bride's bouquet of red roses, which was a really special touch.

The room accommodations were beautiful, and actually better than the website pictures.

My one true complaint is about the insects. I know this just a part of staying in the tropics, but the mosquitoes really were terrible after dark, and especially unbearable in the early morning (which was unfortunate as I kept waking up early due to jet lag). The 'natural' spray they provide in the room smells nice but does nothing to keep them away, so we sprung for the full-strength OFF in the mini-bar (at some obscene price, I'm sure). Bring bug spray! Also, it take a little while to get used to the tree frogs (which we mistook for construction noise).

The buggy transport system was well organized and we never had to wait more than a few minutes. Walking about the resort is definitely not an option (at least without hiking boots!).

Beach is small, but adequate for the small size of the resort. Who needs a bigger beach... it's just a longer walk to the beach bar ;)

Food was good - some items were great, some just so-so. We did most of our dining on the property, but I must say that our better meals were had in town.

All in all, a lovely time!

  • Liked — Beautiful views, secluded location, private accommodations
  • Disliked — Bugs!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2008

I don't want to appear spoiled, so I gave this property 4 stars! The scenery is magnificent and the rooms are truly beautiful . I wasn't impressed by the manager, Alex. We wanted to change rooms due to the location being very far from beach and off to the side. Although we received a warm welcome from him as soon as we had a problem, he avoided us and didn't even say hello on the beach! The showers have no water pressure. The reception and concierge staff don't speak English well and are not very helpful. However, the staff at the beach and at Pla upon arrival and assured that he'd be there to help with anything--Pla are fabulous! Gigi is a lovely lady always willing to help and has loads of useful information. Dodo is a wonderful tennis coach and my husband and son enjoyed learning from him. The beach is tiny but beautiful, clean and private. I would recommend this as a 3 night stay for honeymooners or a romantic break.

  • Liked — the plunge pool and beds on deck.
  • Disliked — the location
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand

Address: 219 Moo 5, Ang Thong, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Ang Thong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ang Thong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An away-from-it-all hillside resort on the mystical Gulf of Siam. Spacious Thai villas are wrapped in tropical gardens, conserved coconut groves and the amphitheatre of sky, sea and islands. Enjoy the forest spa. Dine at hillcrest or beachside. Splash in the private bay. And explore a pristine world of beaches, reefs, rainforest and sunshine. Revel in the many faces of Thailand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand Hotel Koh Samui
4 Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
Four Seasons Koh Samui
Koh Samui Four Seasons
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand Ko Samui - Ang Thong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.