We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here if you get the chance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mai Samui Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Mai Samui Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Mai Samui Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2/6 Moo 5, Laem Yai Beach, Ang Thong, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Ang Thong
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Stay here if you get the chance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Absolutely beautiful hotel with friendly helpful staff and good food. We arrived here after staying at a horrible hotel (P&P Resort) for one terrible night after we had missed the ferry to Ko Tao. Although we arrived at 8 am (check in is at about two) they understood that we had had a bad night and they invited us to have a nice breakfast and then hang out by the pool for the morning while out room was being prepared. The staff was friendly and really seemed to want to help us. They had a place to shower if your flight on your check out day was later in the day, so we could relax by the pool instead of at the airport. The food was great and not terribly high priced. There are a couple of massage huts down the beach from the hotel where you can get a Thai massage for 400 baht. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone, although it would be best for a couple who wanted a romantic get away.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yalyong O, General Manager at Mai Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear DIverMD,

Greeting from Mai Samui Beach Resort & Spa.

Thank you for staying with us recently and for sharing your comments with us.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed our resort and memorable.

We hope that we will have a chance to welcome you back again for your next trip to Koh Samui.

With warmest regards,

Yalyong Ongsanam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    157
    43
    13
    8
See reviews for
127
498
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lake Louise
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

My husband and I stayed in a pool access room for 5 nights and had the most wonderful summer holiday experience. Lazy days in and out of the massive swimming pool that can be accessed from your room. Lilo's on the beach. Beautiful rooms with giant bath tubs. Delicious theme dinners most nights on the beach watching the spectacular sunset with our toes in the sand. Swim up bars with great cocktails. The spa onsite was also first class, with a 5 days spa package to be pampered everyday. The resort has it all, no need to ever leave.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yalyong O, General Manager at Mai Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Jessica T,

Sa-Was-Dee from Mai Samui Beach Resort & Spa.

Thank you very much for your time to share your comments which is based on your experience with us at Mai Samui Beach Resort & Spa.

I am delighted to read that you have really great time with us and also enjoyed the service of my staff which I always noticed that they always be attentive to make sure our guests are ok.

We are looking forward to serve you for your next vacation and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

With warmest regards,

Yalyong Ongsanam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Our group of five girlfriends have stayed at this resort two years running and cannot fault it. We have travelled all of over the world and can honestly rate the service and staff at Mai Samui as second to none! The staff are the epitome of warm Thai hospitality and offer outstanding and friendly service that goes above and beyond even the 6-star hotels I have stayed at, so much so that our subsequent stays at other 5-star resorts in Thailand proved nothing less than disappointing after experiencing Mai Samui. Hats off to the staff here- we will be returning!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yalyong O, General Manager at Mai Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Prue T,

Greeting from Mai Samui Beach Resort & Spa.

Thank you very much to spending your time sharing your valuable comments about us and I am really delighted that you and your friend have a great time during your stay period and also enjoyed the service of my staff which I always noticed that they always be attentive to make sure our guests are ok.

Looking forward to welcome you back here again soon.

With warmest regards,

Yalyong Ongsanam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 7 nights and this place is beyond amazing. Staff very friendly and always more than willing to help. We will definately come back and stay here again.
The food is world class and the beach bar makes the best cocktails under the sun. Perfect venue for a relaxing holiday away from all the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yalyong O, General Manager at Mai Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Daneel C,

Warm Greeting from Mai Samui Beach Resort & Spa.

It is great to read that you had a relaxing holiday with us.

Looking forward to welcome you back here again soon.

With warmest regards,

Yalyong Ongsanam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Mai Samui Resort & Spa exceeded all of our expectations! The friendly staff go out of their way to assist; we had a problem not related to the resort and the staff got onto sorting it out for us with the manager even driving us to town to make a report. A very special thanks to Susie for making our stay so wonderful from her very funny water aerobics to her lovely warm personality. The food and drinks were fantastic in all of their restaurants, with very reasonable pricing. Cocktail hour at the beach/ pool bar 1pm to 6pm every day. Fireworks most nights add a nice touch. The resort is beautiful, with lovely well maintained gardens and very clean throughout. The beach is not the best but the pool makes up for that. My wife loved all her spa treatments at the resort spa. The fitness centre is a good size based on the size of the resort and all of the machines work and it is well equipped overall.
The resort is fairly isolated (which is what we were looking for) with a few other eatery options close by, though the trip into Chaweng is only around 30 mins and the resort offers a shuttle service 3 times each day.
I guess our endorsement can best be made by stating that we have already booked another visit for the same time next year!! We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yalyong O, General Manager at Mai Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Anthony K,

Greeting from Mai Samui Beach Resort & Spa, Sunny of Thailand !!

Thank you very much to spending your time writing us some review which I do really appreciated to learnt that you have a wonderful holiday with us.

Thank you once again for choosing Mai Samui Beach Resort & Spa for your holiday destination.

Me and my team at Mai Samui would be delighted to welcome and serve you again in the future.

With warmest regards,

Yalyong Ongsanam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Whilst we are only on day 2 of 7 this is a lovely place to stay with a very well appointed room and amenities. As we are on our honeymoon they have taken care of us by adding a special touch. Room is spacious; and the direct pool access is a must!!! The pool bar is great and they offer a number of free activities which is also a big bonus. Will definitely come back here again, to which I don't say about a lot of hotels.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yalyong O, General Manager at Mai Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear iV2011,

Greeting from Mai Samui Beach Resort & Spa.

Thank you for staying with us recently and for sharing your lovely comments with us.

Looking forward to welcome you back here again soon.

With warmest regards,

Yalyong Ongsanam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Wow lots of 5 out of 5s already...Well it deserves it! Everything is so well balanced between aesthetics and functionality. The only bad thing I will say is we didn't have the best experience at first with our Airport transfer; just for staff purposes and to be sure you pick the right people up make sure you have a sign with names of the people you're picking up.
This hotel is absoloutely stunning and the services are the best I've ever experienced. Its away from everything so it makes it tranquil and peaceful, perfect for any couple trying to get away from their busy lives. Look there is so much more I could say about this hotel and how amazing it is but go experience for yourself it is an absoloute gem of Koh Samui.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yalyong O, General Manager at Mai Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear David C,

Greeting from Mai Samui Beach Resort & Spa.

Thank you for staying with us recently and for sharing your valued comments with us. We will improve the service.

Looking forward to welcome you back here again soon.

With warmest regards,

Yalyong Ongsanam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mai Samui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai Samui Resort & Spa

Address: 2/6 Moo 5, Laem Yai Beach, Ang Thong, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Ang Thong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Ang Thong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mai Samui Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Splendia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mai Samui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mai Samui Resort And Spa
Mai Samui Hotel Koh Samui
Mai Samui Resort & Spa Ko Samui, Thailand - Ang Thong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mai Samui Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.